We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

““Great small hotel, Victorian - best place to stay in Lugano” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victoria au Lac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Victoria au Lac to your Saves list
Hotel Victoria au Lac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva Paradiso 2b ingresso da Via G.Guisan 3 | Paradiso, Lugano 6902, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
““Great small hotel, Victorian - best place to stay in Lugano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

After having heard a lot of enthousiastic comments from friends that had stayed in the Hotel Victoria au Lac, I decided to find out for myself on my present trip to Lugano. The overall experience was excellent. The staff in all areas, were fresh young friendly smiling faces that were there to attend to any need.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kostas1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    35
    56
    34
    29
See reviews for
26
71
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

A warm, comfortable, clean and tidy hotel, representing great value in an expensive town. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. One member of staff went to great lengths late in the evening to ensure we had allergy free pillows, which we forgot to specify when booking. The decor is dated, but adds an old world character to the place. Not the most highly appointed of hotels, but all creature comforts are present, representing great value for money.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anismih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We paid 145 chf as a half price discount for a double room with breakfast. The room was ok, with a bathroom but bed sheets and furniture were clearly outdated as well as the bathroom. Not worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kriszbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lugano hotels

Zaragoza
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The rooms are furnished like a grandma,s house and there is a 70,s looking disco in the hotel, but the location is unbeatable for the price, some 120-130 Swiss Francs. After having breakfast on the terrace you can take the boat to Melide, Gandria and some other villages on Lake Lugano.
Public underground car park next door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SANTIALFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have stayed 2 nights at this hotel.
I should admitt the hotel is not very modern but clean and with the specatular view over the lake
(even from the bathroom, which had enormous size).
We have enjoyed the breakfast at the terrace sharing food with the birds which have flied to our table.
The staff is very nice and helpful. I higly recommend the hotel to not spoiled clients.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Waiters very disinterested in serving you never loan being hospitable, wondering if there has been a change of management??? We were told "No Food until 6:30 " fine what about drinks??? Had to chase for a drink just not on!! The staff were more interested in catching up with colleagues ! Just such poor Hopitality!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Letters2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in May. The rooms were clean and plenty big enough. Even thought we didn't use it, we noticed there was tons of closet space for putting away clothes, etc. The bathroom is modern and almost as big as the room! We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Heads up: They are doing construction on the street just below the hotel. It didn't bother us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Lugano Paradiso
ibis Lugano Paradiso
#11 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bellevue Au Lac
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nassa Garni
Hotel Nassa Garni
#39 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Hotel San Carlo Garni
#36 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria au Lac

Property: Hotel Victoria au Lac
Address: Riva Paradiso 2b ingresso da Via G.Guisan 3 | Paradiso, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria au Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Victoria au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Au Lac Lugano
Victoria Au Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing