We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
50
27
5
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
27
5
4
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 89 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile

It was very good experience to stayed in savosta youth hostel. We had two room accommodation for 2 adult and 3 children, had more than enough beds include our own bathroom and separate toilet. It is very good location not very ver from lugano city centre. When book, you will receive train and bus ticket for free send to you. Train ticket is very valuable, if you wish to travel around specially bellinzona CASTLE and near to the ALPS and it's beautiful view. We did not had enough time to explore more. Hostel itself in a beautiful location, good size pool, things to do for children and relaxing places. We will try to visit again.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Chy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016

Had a wonderful stay in the hostel with my family.
Best breakfast with a lot of variety of food including fresh fruits.
Wonderful location with private swimming pool with well kept garden.
Nice staff and lovely weather.

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in July. We have stayed in a few youth hostel so we knew only to expect the basics however what we did not expect to get was bed bugs. You have to pay five Swiss franks per night to use the kitchen. So even if you just wanted to make a cup of tea you still had to pay. The female dorm only had four lockers for eight people with only two working. Also the dorms are all separate they are no mixed dorms which is not stated on the website. The female showers had no lock on the doors it's just the sliding shower door. They are also for everyone on that floor so there's no where to change privately. The pool was nice but that's about it.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Laylittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland M, Direttore at Youth Hostel Lugano Savosa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2016

Dear Ms. Little,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to read our hostel might not have lived up to your expectations.
However, we would have prefer if you would have come to the reception to point out all these important issues. Our receptionists are always happy to assist guests with anything as long as it is brought to their attention.
Regarding bedbugs, we check our mattresses frequently and never had such a problem. I am afraid you might have gotten some bad mosquito bites. Mosquitoes are a small disadvantage from our beautiful gardens, but we are glad that you enjoyed the pool!
Usually we only offer female and male dormitory rooms. However, we provide mixed dormitory rooms when asked by guests in advance. Since you booked on the page of youthhostel.ch , that information was not specified,. That is why we directly contacted you via email to clarify that you were going to be separated.
Dormitory guests can use the kitchen in the main building free of charge. We only ask 5 CHF for the kitchen use for private room guests. This was a small misunderstanding,
Our female dormitory room is on a separate building from the male dorm room and a female only shower use to guaranty extra privacy. We are sorry if you did not realize this important detail.
We apologized if these issues had such an impact on your stay, but we hope you still enjoyed your time in Lugano.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile

As a youth hostel, expect to find basic rooms, furniture and breakfast. Everything is very clean and the hosts are very kind and accommodating. Travel to Lugano center is easy by bus and relatively cheap. However, it is the garden that is truly wonderful. Expect to find a nice pool, lots of different corners to sit, lay down, play or eat (incl. nice communal bow). Truly a wonderful find for families with kids with nice weather.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank regmgoossens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2016

Rude staff. Made us leave a 200 Swiss Frank deposit in case something got broken or our group was too loud. The only people who were loud was the staff pounding on room doors with flashlights and entering rooms without warning until 2 am! We had no choice but to stay out until the last bus went that direction the following night. The next morning they wanted to keep the whole deposit because it was a little better the second night. Only got 100 back when I pointed out we weren't even on the premises the second night until late! NEVER EVER been treated so poorly. Third world hostels are better!

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jkochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland M, Direttore at Youth Hostel Lugano Savosa, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2016

Dear Mrs. Kocher, the Youthhostel staff only intervene if absolutely necessary, for example, in this case, when the teacher is unable to prevent their students from letting the other Guests sleep. Regards Majek Roland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews