We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A majestic view of Lake Lugano” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Walter au Lac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Walter au Lac
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Belo Horizonte, Brazil
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A majestic view of Lake Lugano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

A very good friendly staff. We have been given a 5th floor spacious room with a balcony and a splendid view of Lake Lugano. The room was quiet, with a good double bed. The bathroom had its shower over the bathtub and this was not large enough; a person can experience some difficulties to stand up because the bathtub's botton was narrow and you may have to put your feet one in front of the other to achieve equilibrium. The breakfast was great. Our car was parked in another hotel about 5 min walking. We certainly would come again to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corrosio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    114
    49
    12
    6
See reviews for
44
106
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

This is our second stay at the Hotel and we were not disappointed. We requested a box shower since during our first stay we found it difficult to get into a very high and narrow tub/shower combination. The shower was very good and large enough. Since our last stay the hotel has added flat screen televisions which are very nice. The programming is somewhat limited to those of us who are English speaking, but we did not travel to Lugano to watch TV. The hotel is located on the lake whith a spectacular view from every room. Although it is on a busy street noise is not a problem with the windows closed. Breakfast is more than adequate with many selections. I would also recommend a restaurant nearby, La Tinera which has very good food and is reasonable priced. You do need to get directions from the hotel however since it is on a side alley and is not easy to find.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vigevano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

we stayed 2 nites and stayed in a room with balcony facing lake. very noisy road but the view was worth waking up too. the best part of the stay was the breakfast room. old world european charm. elegant room and it was magical the way the morning light spilled in. the little lounge next door with 2 computers was also another piece of old world charm. rooms are very clean. a little tired looking but still great.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NANCYERWIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

I have to say I am deeply conflicted writing this review, because this is such a gem of a hotel I do not want it ruined by many tripadvisor travellers crowding me out in the future! But I like the hotel so much and I feel so grateful to tripadvisor for helping me find it I must pass the favor on.

My wife and I booked the Walter au Lac based on tripadvisor reviews, using the hotel website's online booking service. We were reminded of our reservation by email as the time drew near and had a polite follow-up afterwards. Everything was perfectly in order on arrival.

The hotel is in central Lugano right on the lake, with the small embankment road and narrow beach between it and the lake. It is next to a small and beautiful plaza where if you are lucky you can find car parking (we were lucky). It is an almost impossibly charming setting with truly spectacular views of the lake.

I usually stay in five star international hotels, so when I first entered the hotel it seemed a bit scruffy, but I was still very deeply charmed by the setting and by the warmth of the reception (love those Swiss hoteliers). Entering the room, a second floor lake view room with two large windows and a French door style balcony, for a moment the room also seemed a bit shopworn, until our eyes went to the view outside. Yes, the furniture is not new but the charm of the place is outstanding, far better than what I now think would be an out-of-place international sterility. Everything though not new was very clean, with clean, comfortable bedding as the Swiss do so well.

For dinner that evening the reception clerk recommended what ended up to be a perfect restaurant, the Antica Osteria del Porto (pricey but very good and casual), to which one can easily walk via the lake shore promenade and park. She recommended a drink at a local plaza nearby, also a wonderful idea. We slept very well at night, with shutters closed.

The next morning we had coffee in the room, and when that ran out I stepped down one floor to the breakfast room to get some more coffee. The breakfast room is an outstandingly charming, light and airy room on the first floor (that's the floor above the ground floor, for my American friends) with a divine view of the lake. After breakfast my wife and I went up to the roof terrace for the views. There is a hot tub on the roof terrace as well as lounging chairs for taking the sun.

In a lifetime of travel throughout the world in many hotels this has been one of the most memorable and pleasant I have encountered. I found it a fair value with a pleasant, relaiable and competent staff. Lugano is a gem as well.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DimitriDonskoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

We chose this hotel as we were guaranteed a lake view and WOW what a view to wake up to every day. We stayed here for 5 nights and everything was good. We arrived before check-in time but were shown straight to our room. The room and bathroom were large and everything was clean. Although a main road runs in front of the hotel there was no noise from the traffic to keep us awake.
Breakfast was a good spread with a good choice of rolls, bread, cheese, ham, fruit etc.
We were in Lugano when the Tour de Swiss cycle race was on and we could watch the cyclists come past the finish line from our room window.
We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Lugano. It has a beautiful setting and we were lucky with the weather.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

What made this hotel lovely was the polite and courteous hotel staff. We were greeted by Natalie with her beautiful smile and welcoming personality. She was helpful in giving us information about Lugano. The rooms were clean and we were fortunate in having a balcony to enjoy the view of Lake Lugano. The breakfast was plentiful. The noise from the street was not an issue as we stayed on a Saturday night in which the main street was closed to traffic. The residents of Lugano enjoyed walking and socializing with friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debsthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuzla, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

Location: great. Everything else: average, starting with cleanliness, quality of the breakfast etc. The rooms are very small. The staff at the receprion are very nice and friendly. THe price is definitely too high (like everything else in Lugano), but this can only be justified (partially) by the hotel's location. In general, the hotel service in Switzerland is too expensive in contrast to the average service they offer. THey probably think that being in Switzerland is a reward itself, but they should make an effort to make the customers feel satisfied and comfortable (like in Turkey, for example). So, if you are in Lugano, and looking for a good hotel location (and you don't feel bad about the amount of money you'll spend on it), choose Walter au lac. HOwever, if you are willing to walk just a few hundreds of meters, you could find a cheaper accomodation, with also average service.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasko C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nassa Garni
Hotel Nassa Garni
#35 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#14 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Hotel San Carlo Garni
#37 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#16 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walter au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walter au Lac

Property: Hotel Walter au Lac
Address: piazza Riziero Rezzonico 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walter au Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Walter au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walter Au Lac Lugano
Walter Au Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing