We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic Views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Walter au Lac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Walter au Lac
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We were in room 47 which was right in the centre above the main entrance to the hotel and has the most amazing view of the lake and surrounds. Our room was clean and tidy. The bathroom was new, lovely hot shower and amenities provided. Breakfast was on the first floor, with plenty of choices. Location was perfect. Would stay again!

Room Tip: Try for a lake view with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lioness64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your recension. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house.
We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    114
    49
    12
    6
See reviews for
44
106
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
149 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel needs to renovate their rooms badly.....
Old furniture that has seen better days......
Weak hot water.......
Noisy.......
Was woken up at 5 am
The breakfast is not fulfilling nor rich with choices.
I'm disappointed and I won't go back

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

this winter we renewed all the rooms on the second floor: now they are very modern!
This time you stayed in a classic room, for the next occasion you can ask us the executive rooms-they are a little bite more expensive- but surely they will meet your needs.
Our hotel is situated in the city centre, near the pedestrian area and the shopping centre, just facing the lake: sometimes it could be noisy, but it is enough to close the window (anti noisy) and you can sleep really well.
We serve Continental breakfast with cold buffet at will, with cold meats and cheese, 10 different types of bread, homemade jam, fruit, fresh fruit salad, cereals, yoghurt, hard-boiled and soft-boiled eggs.
As drinks we offer: coffee (espresso, american coffee, cappuccino), hot and cold milk, hot and cold chocolate, hot and cold ovomaltine, black tea, green tea, different herbal teas, 4 different types of juice.
We don’t consider this a poor breakfast. Please let us know, what else is missing, we will try to serve it at your next visit, thank you.
Hope seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Cosy hotel, with great view on the lake. Pleasant service, clean rooms. Extremely good location, close to the city center. Reccomended.
Only little problem is the noise from the street at night. But you can bear with it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luigi_alberto_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Manager at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear guest. Thank you for your praise. We are happy that you fully enjoyed your stay in our Walter au Lac in Lugano. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

The Hotel Walter a Lac is very pleasant. This hotel is refurbished turn of the century resort hotel and that history is tastefully on display. This hotel has a sense of place, it is not another faceless chain hotel. We were with a group of friends and had three rooms in total. All of the rooms were slightly different but of similar quality. The rooms are a bit tight but tolerable. The staff at the hotel were exceptional. All of the staff went out of their way to be helpful. The breakfast was included and of good quality.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhh2ogeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure for us to read your review. We are always happy to know that people enjoy their stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

stayed here for a one day business trip. Perfect location right next to the lake, very pleasant service, room was OK, overall extremely good value! can highly recommend it. Would definitely come back on my next trip to Lugano.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stegro123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. It’s important for us to know how our guests feel in our hotel.
We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed in 2012. The hotel overlooks Lake Lugano, and is situated on the 'promenade' which runs around the Lugano side of the lake. There is traffic along this road but the noise is not intrusive, and overnight the street is very quiet. Our room had beautiful views of the lake and was very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious. I would class this hotel as ageing gracefully with friendly, service driven staff, who make you feel very special. A satisfying breakfast was included and served in the lovely dining room, also with stunning views. There is seating and a spa on the roof for the use of hotel patrons.

Across the road from the hotel are hire boats, ferry service, tour operators and of course the beautiful lake. Behind the hotel is the traffic free shopping area and large cobblestone plaza. This quaint part of town has many reasonably priced cafes and restaurants. There is also a supermarket and post office.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of beautiful churches, city sights and the lovely botanical gardens. There is a tourist office very close to the hotel which runs free walking tours of the town. The gentleman who guided our walk was very informative and we found the tour an excellent way to find out about the history of Lugano. The tourist office also has a number of paid tour options and brochures with ideas for self guided walks along one of the many trails in Lugano. We also downloaded a number of suggested local walks from the internet.

We loved our stay at Hotel Walter au Lac and hope very much to return.

Room Tip: Try to book a room advertised with views - they are well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faye766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted that , after all this time, you still keep good memories of Lugano and Hotel Walter au lac.
Kindly note that use of the upper-floor terrace and the jacuzzi tub are available to all guests of our hotel.

We look forward to welcome you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

After spending three days in Vernazza, Italy, one of the five villages of the Cinque Terre, we took the train to Lugano, Switzerland. And the contrast between the two places seemed glaring.

Vernazza is small, intimate, friendly and flirtatious. Fun loving and fun seeking, the locals seemed to live an unpretentious good life. Our flat was right on the piazza above the cafe and had no air conditioning. So our shuttered windows were always open. The smells of grilled fish and the sounds of lively Italian banter would waft into our apartment. And since the locals enjoyed eating and drinking till the wee hours of the morning, we may not fall asleep 3:30 a.m., lying in bed, feeling both amused and abused by the situation.

Lugano, in contrast, seemed ritzy and glitzy in an understated, Swiss way. The city and the lake are jaw-droppingly beautiful. There’s not a speck of trash to be found. The ferries, the trains, and the buses all run on time. It’s a very beautiful and a very rich city. So I shouldn’t have been surprised that our bill for pizza and beer was over 82 francs.

Since eating out is expensive here, we stayed at the Hotel Walter au Lac. It includes a breakfast buffet. I couldn’t have been more pleased with the hotel or with the breakfast.

The Hotel Walter is a gracious, old hotel. To economize, we had the family room. Actually, the family room was two bedrooms and a bath, plenty of room for the four of us.

We had bought the Swiss travel pass so we spent a day touring the lake by boat and taking the funicular up to Mount Bre. You can catch the ferry directly across from the Hotel Walter. It was an affordable, laid back day.

Room Tip: For families: The family room. Actually, the family room consists of two bedrooms and a bath, plent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trampinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your visit in our city and our hotel. We are proud that our country and our city is pleasant and the public transportations are working perfectly.

For us is very important that the services in the city and at the hotel must be guest oriented.

Thank you that you choosed our hotel for your stay in Lugano and we would be happy to welcome your family again at the Hotel Walter au lac.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nassa Garni
Hotel Nassa Garni
#35 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#14 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Hotel San Carlo Garni
#36 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#16 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walter au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walter au Lac

Property: Hotel Walter au Lac
Address: piazza Riziero Rezzonico 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walter au Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Walter au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walter Au Lac Lugano
Walter Au Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing