We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in a central location with friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Walter au Lac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Walter au Lac
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little hotel in a central location with friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Great central position on the lake which made it easy to explore Lugano. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again and will definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkitc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear guest. Thank you for your visit in our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house. It is our wish that our guests feel as part of a big family. We hope to see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    111
    49
    11
    6
See reviews for
44
102
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We were delighted by this place. A short walk from the little funicular at the train station. The location is just perfect. Across the street from the lake, with a great view. This is a stylish place, with great help staff. Unlike some hotel staff, the folk at Hotel Walter au Lac obviously liked working there, and it showed in their attitude towards their guests. Breakfasts were excellent in every regard, with comfortable seating on leather furniture with tables providing a good view of the lake. It is a grand old-style hotel that has been updated to be pretty classy. The central staircase walks you around an inset stainless steel and glass elevator. Stylish place! You could not ask for a more convenient location to the boats, the restaurants, etc. We recommend this place!

Incidentally, go on August 1 and see the fireworks right on the lake. Spectacular!

Room Tip: Go for the balcony. We had room 58 which was on the top floor (four floors) total.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank professor-type
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Directeur général at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear guest. Thank you for your visit to our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house. It is our wish that our guests feel as part of a big family. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Staying on the lake is a must for Lugano, also puts you in the prime downtown shopping area. The Hotel has its roots in the hey day of Lugano's tourist era from 100 years ago. The Hotel hold much of this era's charm and old photographs show it as it really was. Staff made this 3 night stay relaxing and enjoyable. Breakfast was taken in the old dining room overlooking the lake and the fare while not lavish was adaquate for our needs.
The room and ensuit clean and bright and double glazing meant the street noise was non existant. The A/c was very quiet and efficirnt. I would definetly stay again.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a lake view with some also having a balcony although it was not very wide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Directeur général at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house. We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goondiwindi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel Walter au Lac is situated on the lake and central to everything. The rooms are very clean and well kept. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Sylvia on the front desk and breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the lake. Some rooms in the hotel have a small balcony, ours did not. We would always stay when visiting Lugano.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot55Goondiwindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Directeur général at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your praise. Please ask for a room with balcony on your next visit.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The rooms were clean and the location is excellent. Breakfast was good enough. You get what you paid for. We stayed in A room with balcony with the lake view. We enjoyed the excellent lake view from our room's balcony.

Room Tip: Room with balcony is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ITIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear guest. Thank you for your visit in our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house. It is our wish that our guests feel as part of a big family. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for several days in July. Overall, this was a very pleasant hotel to stay in, and I would definitely go back.

The hotel staff were very friendly, welcoming, and accommodating. The hotel itself is very clean and well-kept. My room (and I think every other room in the hotel) had a small balcony overlooking the lake. The bed was comfortable, and the room was a reasonable size for a European hotel. The hotel was reasonably quiet, and I slept well here. The location is also great---the hotel is right next to the lake, in the middle of the downtown area, with lots of shops and restaurants right nearby.

There were a few small negatives that preclude a five star rating. First, the breakfast is only just okay. It's got the typical European selections, but the quality of everything is just average, e.g., so-so bread and croissants, mediocre meats and cheeses, etc. So, it's fine, but it could be far better, especially given the care put into other aspects of the hotel.

Second, the bathtub in my room was extremely narrow, very curved (U shaped with almost no flat area on the tub bottom), and slippery. On my first day there I managed to slip in the tub (I'll blame the jet lag)------ouch. I was more careful the remaining days, but overall bathing in this hotel required too much dexterity.

Third, the curtains on the windows were not opaque, so there was a fair amount of light coming in the room essentially all the time. Fortunately I had a sleep mask, which solved that problem. Definitely bring one if you stay in this hotel in the summer.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank a_traveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Directeur général at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for your kind review. It’s a pleasure to read that you would like us to be ranked as a 5 star hotel. We wish to remind you, however, that we are a 3 star hotel.
We serve Continental breakfast with cold buffet at will, with cold meats and cheese, 10 different types of bread, jam-tart, homemade jam, honey, fruit, fresh fruit salad, prunes, cereals, yoghurt, hard-boiled and soft-boiled eggs.

As drinks we offer: coffee (espresso, american coffee, cappuccino), hot and cold milk, hot and cold chocolate, hot and cold ovaltine, black tea, green tea, different herbal teas, 4 different types of juice.

To avoid any problems with the bath-tub, when requested we provide non-slip mats. If you’d prefer a shower for your next visit, let us know.

Every window has got rolling shutters on top of the curtains. Using them both will ensure the room is dark enough, even for people who travel without sleeping mask.

We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelong
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Checked in to Hotel Walter following a train ride from Milan, a quick funicular & walk. Checkin was smooth & the staff very helpful. Our room was fantastic with great views of the lake. We had the penthouse with 2 bedrooms & 2 modern bathrooms. Unfortunately the weather didn't allow us to make full use of the very large balcony. Definitely worth a return visit..... Especially for a visit to the nearby shops!!
If you are travelling by train be prepared for a spectacular train trip if travelling to Lucerne... Just stunning!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house. We are waiting for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nassa Garni
Hotel Nassa Garni
#37 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Hotel San Carlo Garni
#36 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walter au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walter au Lac

Property: Hotel Walter au Lac
Address: piazza Riziero Rezzonico 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walter au Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Walter au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walter Au Lac Lugano
Walter Au Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing