We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Walter au Lac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Walter au Lac
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
perth
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Feels like home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

great location- close to city and shops. Right next to the river.

Staff- very helpful, offer a good rate for Euro- franc converison

felt like I was at home, bed comfortable, amazing view

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    110
    48
    11
    6
See reviews for
43
100
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Plaistow, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Great location in Lugano. Our room had a great view of the beautiful lake. Hotel is across the street from the lake and easy walking distance to beautiful gardens, boat rides, restaurants and shops. Don't know where you would park a car if you had one, but an easty walk from the tram that takes you from the train station to the center of town. Room furnishings weren't high-end, but the view, location and price more than made up for them.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthews72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Walter Au Lac in November for 3 nights. The hotel is a hostorical property, has been operated as an hotel for more than 100 years. Rooms are updated, all are with direct lake view. We had a room on the top floor with a good size of balcony. A small table and 2 chairs are provided in the balcony, so you can sit outside and drink, watch the sunrise and sunset. The view from the room is beautiful.

The location of the hotel is very central, surrounded by shops, supermarkets, open air market and restaurant. Buses stop outside the hotel, you can go to Mt Bre by bus. The hotel has a nice sitting room on the first floor. Guests can use the 2 computers there to check emails, or read a book or play a game..... Breakfast is abundant, served in a nice restaurant. Wi Fi is free.

Staff are very friendly and helpful. We felt very comfortable there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BirdPinoTrollFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graton, CA
Level Contributor
244 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We came to Lugano on Easter Week to visit an old family friend who retired there, and had written to her asking for her a lodging recommendation. She went down to the Hotel Walter to personally inspect it first, and wrote to us that it was "splendid", a word I wouldn't hesitate to use myself. Old fashioned without being over-elegant, comfy, and right on the lake with magnificent views, it was also better priced than other hotels we looked at. They served a fine breakfast. The Hotel is an easy (downhill!) walk from the Lugano train station, and though rather a climb to get back, it's certainly do-able even dragging a heavy case; use the little funicular train, which goes up the steepest part and drops you right at the station.

Room Tip: We had three different rooms, and they each had a fantastic view so maybe all the rooms do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MojoLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

You will not find a better place to stay.
It is just perfect. you can appreciate the breath-taking view from your balcony. Life can"t get any better. the people are friendly and just make you feel welcome. And if you love eating as much as I do. Well the cafe is alsome not just the food but the people watching is like a dream saids Walter Arzon of Ardynn Media

Room Tip: make sure you get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darren c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

As a mature couple we found the Hotel to be perfect for our needs. The lift was very much appreciated .We had a room on the 4th floor with postcard views of Lake Lugano. Much spare time was spent on the balcony with a glass or two of wine whilst taking in the breath-taking views. Yes there is a busy road out the front - but our room had double glazing and so we found the room very quiet and comfortable. As can be seen from the location maps, the hotel is in a comfortable walking distance to all that you need or want to see. We arrived by train and the cost of a taxi to the hotel was 18 Swiss Francs. The breakfast is delicious and more than adequate and having freshly cut fruit salad was a wonderful bonus. Natalie - the receptionist that we dealt, with was charming, very helpful and most professional. Nothing was too much trouble - as it was any other staff member from whom we requested assistance.

Phil Daymond
Western Australia

Room Tip: Definately the 4th floor for top views and minimal noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank osh0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

After staying in a total pit in Venice it was a dream to get to Lugano, get into the lovely room with lake view and have a shower in a bathroom with water pressure. YAY!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthli_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nassa Garni
Hotel Nassa Garni
#38 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Hotel San Carlo Garni
#36 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#13 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walter au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walter au Lac

Property: Hotel Walter au Lac
Address: Piazza Rezzonico 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walter au Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Walter au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walter Au Lac Lugano
Walter Au Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing