We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“overpriced but great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nassa Garni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Nassa Garni
Ranked #35 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“overpriced but great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights.
Given the price, we were expecting something nicer. Although we had a nice balcony with a lake view, the place was poorely kept. Its a pitty because there is great potential. Our balcony was more like a terrasse, and rather than having some flowers or arranging it nicely, it was completely bare except for 2 plastic chairs.
The room was average but carpet was stained and we just hoped for more.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank la_traveleuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    30
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
21
22
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

we staied there 1 night - location is great, you can walk to/from the train station, great lake view, close to everything.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoraTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2008

a room with a view of paradise. a small but comfortable room, helpfull staff and nice breakfast. location is very good and prices are good. clean hotel, the only thing is they have no refregarator in the room. stayed there 10 days and it was lovely.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — needs a refregaretor in room
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank anna73Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asiago, North of Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2008

This hotel is not that special. I went there cos another hotel where I usually stay was closed in that period. Rooms are clean, but furniture is really out of date (I think it dates back to 1930, as the style is pretty simple and old-fashioned). There's a nice wide terrace in each room, but it is not that private as you can easily see what all the other guests are doing in their rooms. Breakfast is not that bad and staff is really helpful, kind and they speak several languages. Price is not that cheap compared to what you get.
There a bad point: there's a computer with internet connection, but you need a card to have access to it and it costs quite a lot (5 francs for 25 minutes).
A good point is that the hotel is centrally located, so you can easily reach any part of the town in a few minutes.

  • Liked — the location (it's centrally located)
  • Disliked — expensive internet connection
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TIME80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2007

We spent 5 nights at this great little hotel on the lake at Lugano and loved the experience.
We booked directly with the hotel by email which worked really well and upon arrival our booking was exactly as requested.
We had a large room with a balcony with stunning views across the small square to the lake.
We would particularly recommend the boat trips on the lake and a visit to the village of Gandria is a must ! Another top trip is to Morcote, a lakeside town with 17th century arcades and steep, narrow streets leading up from the lake. There are good restaurants over the water with wonderful views and flowers everywhere.
We found the hotel staff very helpful and pleasant and the included breakfast was more than adequate. We would definately stay here if we are in Lugano again.

  • Liked — The position and the view from our balcony
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terryhazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
279 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2006

What a treat! The lake view room was large w/a very comfortable bed. The best was the view from the balcony - worth MUCH more than they charge. Set just back from the loud street w/an amazing view of the lake, & 2 mountains. The balcony was large enough for a cafe table and 2 chairs, so we enjoyed breakfast out there every morning. Simple, but adequate breakfast w/great cappuccinos . Friendly, helpful staff (complete w/umbrellas to loan out to guests). Good central location in the middle of shops and not far from the train station (must take finicular tho). We would love to return there and would definately recomend this hotel. With the crazy Swiss prices, this was a jewel to find.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2006

Nassa Garni was a great hotel to stay at in Lugano. We were there during the first week of high season (April 8, 2006) but they only charged us Chf 160 per night which I believe is low season prices. Price includes a simple (not rich as they) Swiss breakfast buffet. The staff are friendly and if you ask for a room with a balcony and view, it's worth it. Good location-near the main piazza and across the street from the lake. Room was comfortable and big for Switzerland. No coffee machine or internet, but there was a TV, phone, and hairdryer. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aimdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Walter au Lac
Hotel Walter au Lac
#21 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Hotel San Carlo Garni
#36 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colorado Lugano
Hotel Colorado Lugano
#28 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#16 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#14 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nassa Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nassa Garni

Property: Hotel Nassa Garni
Address: via Nassa 60/62, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nassa Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Nassa Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nassa Garni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing