We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Views and Amenities are world class!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Views and Amenities are world class!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I went with a close friend to celebrate her 30th and relax. The suite was 100 times better than the over priced dungeon I paid for in Nice (South of France - review coming) 8 months prior. This one had two bedrooms, a huge marble tiled foyer, large bathroom with tub and seperate shower (although the shower had an awkward curtain and was tiny), huge living room and dining space and best of all, a large terrace with the most spectacular views ever! From our living room we had direct views on an infinity pool, mountains and lake. my only issue was that the place is so massive and poorly labeled that we got lost several times getting back to our room

Room Tip: i don't know about all the rooms but definitely get one facing the pool and on the left side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 312Liberiasown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice feedback.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa and it is a pleasure to read that you felt very well during your holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

Best regards from Lugano,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    127
    43
    10
    7
See reviews for
59
137
25
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I have stayed here twice in 2013, with one stay 1 week and the other 3 weeks. It is a friendly, comfortable place, with good facilities. The spa is good (I had a massage that was great but a bit on the pricey side) and the gym is excellent. It has a small but nice pool inside (I used this) and other outside (which I didn't use). The breakfast room has excellent views over the city, lake and mountains and the breakfast is good. From a location point of view it is a long walk down to restaurants and the city (and an even longer walk back up the hill). There are few restaurants nearby too. The outside car park is very busy in the evenings, but the staff will park your car if you have trouble. Overall very recommendable for a comfortable place to stay, but for an extended visit or if you want to see more of the city and surrounding area, having a car is a must.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripCase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice and appreciated feedback.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa and it is a pleasure to read that you felt very well during your holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again at the Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

Best regards from Lugano,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed here for a week with the family over the New Years period. I was positively surprised.

We had a large flat with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchenette and a large living and dining area. It was spacious and comfortable.

Free parking outside in the private car park was great!

The food was excellent, and so was the service overall.

The highlight was the pool. It was very quiet at all times and really nice. The kids loved it.

Wireless internet unfortunately was a bit patchy as we could only get a connection in one corner of the living room. But it was free and fast enough.

The only source of frustration was that although there was a full kitchen, it was completely empty. Not even a knife, fork, spoon, plate or kitchen towel in it. Nothing at all. Maybe if we had asked they would have brought some stuff, but we just ended up not using it. And the room service was excellent so we were happy with that.

The flat was a bit too warm at night though, sleeping comfort wasn't excellent. But I'm being picky,

Overall, a great stay and a highly recommended place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Therooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind feedback and for having taken the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you spent a great time with us.

It is very important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our services and product constantly. Your remarks will be taken into consideration.

We hope you had a good trip back home and we look forward to welcoming you soon back at the Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

Best regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This hotel is situated in the city and within walking distance to the lake. The staff is very helpful and gives you the feeling of being somebody very special. I had an apartment with 1 bedrooms and a kitchen. The wellness area is absolutely a must RELAX place. The breakfast buffet is gorgeous and Jessica is one of the best waitresses I've ever had. Breakfast with her make every day a special day! I will be back soon!
The price is more than fair!
Raffaele

Room Tip: Do not take e room next to the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralf F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your great feedback on Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction. We will inform our staff about your review.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back to Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.
Best regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This place is Lugano's gem, with a great view of the lake and the mountains. Our villa was spacious and clean. The staffs were very friendly and very helpful. The breakfast place was the best with a great view oh and also the pool area and the garden. I can stay there the whole day. I wish i live there. They have a really nice restaurant with a great view too. We tried it and it was lovely.

If you come to Lugano you must try this place. You wouldnt want to leave. We will come back again with our whole family next time.

Thank you Villa Sasa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frauessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to post your lovely feedback. It is a great pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is situated in the city and within walking distance to the lake.
The staff is very helpfull and gives you all explanation needed.
We had an appartment with 2 bedrooms and a kitchen.
Would definately go again when in Lugano.

Room Tip: We stayed in appartment and this is very nice if you are with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to post your lovely feedback. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we have been able to satisfy your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Lugano.

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Excellent location and breathtaking views within an elegant setting, luxe but not intimidating. The rooms are very spacious, there is even the choice of cushions, all areas are clean, luminous and well equipped. Very good and attentive service from the arrival till departure. Fantastic Spa, with all the facilities and activities included in the price, pristine condition! Lots of space indoor outdoor. Breakfast on the terrace, good choice. Best food at the casual restaurant with good ambience and choice of food, serving excellent Japanese cuisine. You don't wish to leave! It is heavenly!

Room Tip: Would be nice to have free coffee tea making facilities in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judit88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind feedback and for having taken the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. It is important to receive feedbacks from our guests, in order for us to improve the quality of our offer.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

Kind regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.6 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
1.4 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
1.7 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
0.8 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa

Property: Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Address: via Tesserete 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#6 Business Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the hills overlooking Lugano, in a marvellous setting, yet just a few minutes walk from the centre of town, Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa****S is a an oasis of well-being. The hotel enjoays a breathtaking view of Lake Lugano, the city and the surrounding mountains and offers 49 rooms and suites and 71 serviced apartments, a Mediterranean restaurant and lounge bar, conference and banqueting facilities, and a 3,000 sqm Wellness Club and Spa. The very special light shining over Lugano and love of nature are unforgettable at Villa Sassa, the ideal resort to spend a day, a weekend or an entire week or more of pure relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sassa And Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing