We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel next to the center of Lugano with Wellness and more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This hotel is situated in the city and within walking distance to the lake. The staff is very helpful and gives you the feeling of being somebody very special. I had an apartment with 1 bedrooms and a kitchen. The wellness area is absolutely a must RELAX place. The breakfast buffet is gorgeous and Jessica is one of the best waitresses I've ever had. Breakfast with her make every day a special day! I will be back soon!
The price is more than fair!
Raffaele

Room Tip: Do not take e room next to the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralf F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your great feedback on Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction. We will inform our staff about your review.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back to Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.
Best regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 535 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

This place is Lugano's gem, with a great view of the lake and the mountains. Our villa was spacious and clean. The staffs were very friendly and very helpful. The breakfast place was the best with a great view oh and also the pool area and the garden. I can stay there the whole day. I wish i live there. They have a really nice restaurant with a great view too. We tried it and it was lovely.

If you come to Lugano you must try this place. You wouldnt want to leave. We will come back again with our whole family next time.

Thank you Villa Sasa.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frauessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to post your lovely feedback. It is a great pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is situated in the city and within walking distance to the lake.
The staff is very helpfull and gives you all explanation needed.
We had an appartment with 2 bedrooms and a kitchen.
Would definately go again when in Lugano.

Room Tip: We stayed in appartment and this is very nice if you are with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to post your lovely feedback. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we have been able to satisfy your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Lugano.

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Excellent location and breathtaking views within an elegant setting, luxe but not intimidating. The rooms are very spacious, there is even the choice of cushions, all areas are clean, luminous and well equipped. Very good and attentive service from the arrival till departure. Fantastic Spa, with all the facilities and activities included in the price, pristine condition! Lots of space indoor outdoor. Breakfast on the terrace, good choice. Best food at the casual restaurant with good ambience and choice of food, serving excellent Japanese cuisine. You don't wish to leave! It is heavenly!

Room Tip: Would be nice to have free coffee tea making facilities in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judit88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind feedback and for having taken the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. It is important to receive feedbacks from our guests, in order for us to improve the quality of our offer.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

Kind regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were extremely disappointed in the Villa Salla. We booked a suite, called a Royal Suite. It was large, but that's all I can say about it. I had a kitchen, which I find useless in a resort (especially one with no stores whatsoever nearby) but it did not have a TV in the bedroom. No A/C got to the bedroom so it was really hot. The bathroom would have been OK but the shower is the size of a cruise cabin shower and the curtain stuck to us.

All of that would have been palatable had service been good, but it was not. There was no turn-down service, which I find very surprising in a supposedly luxury hotel. I even inquired and was told "No, management does't want to do that". Every morning at breakfast, we had to stop a waiter to ask them to bring more food out- eggs, water, juice - it was always empty. Even after asking, we'd have to ask a second time and then wait 10 minutes for it to arrive.

Lugano is very expensive, and the Villa Sassa reflects that. We need sunscreen, which the hotel sells in the spa - for CHF 55.00, which converts to US$63.00. Really???

The setting is lovely but for over $700.00 per night, it was a huge disappointment and I could not recommend it at all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PinkyTuscadero56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed in one 'room' and a friend of ours stayed in another 'room'. I put room in quotes because in both cases, we got suites -- ours had 2 bedrooms and a living room (about 150 square meters total with white marble floors), his had 1 bedroom and a living room, and both had kitchens with dishwashers, ovens and large refrigerators (but no in-room coffee/tea making facilities!) -- leading me to believe this is not what you would normally understand as a 'hotel'. Rather, I think it is the kind of development where the rooms are individually owned and sometimes occupied by investors while the operator provides hotel booking/hotel management services. There are not so many staff (1-2 on the front desk during the day and a night manager only at night) and the airport pickup service/porterage seems to be provided by a single person so we had to have the front desk book a cab to the airport when we left (6:00 am) because he wasn't on duty at that time of day. In spite of this, the staff were all very pleasant and helpful with restaurant bookings in town, etc. The breakfast buffet (served in the hotel's only restaurant -- although the bar has a fairly large menu of grilled meats, etc) was not the most extensive I have ever seen but the quality of the food was completely satisfactory. In the evenings, the restaurant becomes quite an upscale eatery with many locals (rather wealthy judging from the Ferraris/Maseratis/Bentleys parked outside) dining here. The restaurant terrace offers stunning views over the town to the lake. The fitness center seems to be run as a separate operation but hotel guests have full access, although establishing your right to use it with the staff on the fitness reception desk can take a bit of doing. There is a good level of training equipment and there are two pools, one indoor and one outdoor. The location is not central (this is either good or bad depending on what you like: if you're like me you'll value the space, green lawns and the quiet), it's about a 10-15 minute walk into town and since Lugano is partly built on a mountainside it's a steep uphill walk back. However the station is only about 5 minutes' away so you can always take the funicular railway into town for about 1 Franc and save yourself most of the walk. It also puts Switzerland's amazing but expensive (it's Switzerland so don't ever expect cheap) rail service at your disposal: you can get to Lake Como in about 40 minutes from the hotel on a local train. Overall, it was an excellent stay and I think I got extraordinary value for what I paid. I'm thinking of going back there again and negotiating for a month-long stay (I seriously like Lugano and have friends living there). As the hotel's name says, it's a hotel residence, and I could very happily reside there long term.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for the time taken to write a review of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you had a very pleasant stay in our hotel and that we have been able to satisfy your expectations

We look forward to welcoming you again in Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa in the future.

Kind regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is on the expensive side but we enjoyed our weekend stay here. The highlight was our balcony and the heated outdoor pool overseeing Lake Lugano. The hotel itself is about a 15 walk to the centre and it isn't the most scenic route into town but we purposely chose to be just outside of the centre. The rooms are large and we had more than enough space for the 2 of us. The bathroom had a separate shower and bath. We also had a small kitchen but we didnt use it. Breakfast unfortunately wasn't anything amazing but it did have a wide range of food on offer and you could eat your breakfast outside which was a nice touch. All the staff I encountered were lovely and friendly. They helped us out with some restaurant choices and always greeted us in the corridor. There is also a indoor swimming pool and spa, but it wasn't made clear if we could use it or whether we had to pay extra (though I hope it is included in the rate, as per night isn't cheap!). As it was so nice outside we used the outdoor pool anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kymmbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your lovely feedback and for the time taken to write us. We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us.

For your next visit, we kindly inform you that you have free access to heated indoor swimming pool, outdoor swimming pool (from Mai to September), whirlpool bath, sauna, Turkish bath and relaxation area.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

Kind regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lugano
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
1.4 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 45 in Lugano
543 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
2.9 mi away
Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
International au Lac Historic Lakeside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa

Address: via Tesserete 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#6 Business Hotel in Lugano
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: $212 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the hills overlooking Lugano, in a marvellous setting, yet just a few minutes walk from the centre of town, Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa****S is a an oasis of well-being. The hotel enjoays a breathtaking view of Lake Lugano, the city and the surrounding mountains and offers 49 rooms and suites and 71 serviced apartments, a Mediterranean restaurant and lounge bar, conference and banqueting facilities, and a 3,000 sqm Wellness Club and Spa. The very special light shining over Lugano and love of nature are unforgettable at Villa Sassa, the ideal resort to spend a day, a weekend or an entire week or more of pure relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sassa And Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing