We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly hotel in a quiet location.”
Review of Dischma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dischma Hotel
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The first point to note is that this hotel is in Lugano-Paradiso - which is a fair drag from Lugano itself (you'll see a large fountain across the corner of the lake as you stand in the main town - that is near the hotel.

After failing to get an acceptable rate in Lugano itself, I chose the Dischma in the nearby area of Lugano-Paradiso. Although it was thus away from the centre of town, there was a good bus connection, and a local train option too. It’s only a short walk to the lake from the hotel, in close proximity to the big fountain.

There was a friendly welcome, with excellent English spoken, and the room was functional with a comfortable bed – although the pricing in the hotel bar was eye-watering.

The in-room wi-fi worked well, and the room temperature was easy to regulate with a dual-action window complete with shutter blind – and there was a small balcony area too. The lack of in room power points was a slight issue, which meant sacrificing one of the main room lights in order to use a computer with a power adaptor.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhiteAnt2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Dischma Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 116 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

Stayed here early Sept 2011 for 2 nights, we had the top floor in a fairly compact room with a balcony nearly as big as the room. Ok location, some shops, atms and eating places close, but a fair walk to the main shopping areas. Staff quite friendly and generally helpfull. Room was pretty hot at night so needed a/c on most of the time. Facilities were average and the room needs a facelift, but was servicable. Breakfast was fair but a good selection. For what we paid it was all you could ask for.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barossabazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The only two positive things about this hotel is that the room is clean and the breakfast is good.
However there were load of small negative things that were extremely disappointing.
The hotel has a very bad sound isolation, you hear clearly all the water/shower flushing from neighboring rooms. Cleaning ladies start to clean at 8 am and are very loud, so no chance to sleep after 8.00.
The shower room lacks basic things like a hook for a shower, you have to hold it with one hand while taking a shower. The floor in the bathroom is very slippery and there is no floor mat. For a double room you only get 2 tiny bags of shower gel, which are honestly not even enough for one person.
Apart from this, it took us 20 minutes to find a pathway to the hotel building. It is clearly visible, however accessible only from a tiny side street, which is easy to miss. A sign would be nice.

All these small things were very disappointing and we would never stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

An amiable owner, decent breakfast, good value and close to the water and cable cars up the hill for a view.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirckfando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We were comfortable in a plain but adequate room with its own little balcony, and having a lift to the fifth floor was wonderful. The breakfast was lovely and the staff helpful and friendly. Free wi-fi was terrific, and the location was away from the noisy center but still close to the train station and very walkable to town. The bus stop is right around the corner. The bathroom had a musty smell, and neighboring cigarette smoke floating into the room was disagreeable, but overall it was a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraN443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel is in the Paradiso area of Lugano, 300 mts ftom the lake shore, and about 15 min. walking from the town center.
The arrival was warm and we were efficiently checked in, and shown to a very modern lift ( the hotel showpiece, it seems) and to our room on the second floor.
The room was surprisingly large by normal Swiss standards, with a nice balcony overlooking a pretty small garden, with a little outdated furniture, but in a very good state of maintenance and very clean. The bathroom was instead very tiny, but sufficient for a shower.
Parking was at a nearby multi-storey public establishment, 5 minutes walk from the hotel
at the reasonable price of CHF Francs 10.00 per day.
We just had to stay in Lugano for a night, and our experience was very good, as I will stay there again at the end of September. The breakfast in the morning was served in their small garden and had the usual choice of pastries, bread, cheeses, cold cuts and fruits.
The price charged was very reasonable given the hotel position and the standard of service, even though for a 3 star establishment, and far better then my previous stay last year at the nearby Holiday Inn, where I had a shabby service, poor breakfast , very old and worn out furniture at a very expensive price!
All together, a little gem, friendly family run hotel in the nicest part of Lugano.

Room Tip: Try to get a front facing room
Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sevalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Very close to the funicular up Monte San Salvatore and also very close to the boat dock where we took a cruise around the lake. Short bus ride from the train station and close to the bus stop. Delicious breakfast with a wide variety and outdoor seating available. The room was nice and clean and included a table and chairs. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor was quiet and comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutdoorMom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#16 of 45 in Lugano
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
1.0 mi away
Hotel Besso Lugano
Hotel Besso Lugano
#39 of 45 in Lugano
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#13 of 45 in Lugano
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Colorado Lugano
Hotel Colorado Lugano
#27 of 45 in Lugano
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
#10 of 45 in Lugano
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dischma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dischma Hotel

Address: Vicolo Geretta 6 | Paradiso, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range: $135 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dischma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dischma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dischma Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing