We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old and overpriced hotel”
Review of Dischma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dischma Hotel
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“old and overpriced hotel”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The only two positive things about this hotel is that the room is clean and the breakfast is good.
However there were load of small negative things that were extremely disappointing.
The hotel has a very bad sound isolation, you hear clearly all the water/shower flushing from neighboring rooms. Cleaning ladies start to clean at 8 am and are very loud, so no chance to sleep after 8.00.
The shower room lacks basic things like a hook for a shower, you have to hold it with one hand while taking a shower. The floor in the bathroom is very slippery and there is no floor mat. For a double room you only get 2 tiny bags of shower gel, which are honestly not even enough for one person.
Apart from this, it took us 20 minutes to find a pathway to the hotel building. It is clearly visible, however accessible only from a tiny side street, which is easy to miss. A sign would be nice.

All these small things were very disappointing and we would never stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    60
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
34
39
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

An amiable owner, decent breakfast, good value and close to the water and cable cars up the hill for a view.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirckfando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We were comfortable in a plain but adequate room with its own little balcony, and having a lift to the fifth floor was wonderful. The breakfast was lovely and the staff helpful and friendly. Free wi-fi was terrific, and the location was away from the noisy center but still close to the train station and very walkable to town. The bus stop is right around the corner. The bathroom had a musty smell, and neighboring cigarette smoke floating into the room was disagreeable, but overall it was a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraN443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel is in the Paradiso area of Lugano, 300 mts ftom the lake shore, and about 15 min. walking from the town center.
The arrival was warm and we were efficiently checked in, and shown to a very modern lift ( the hotel showpiece, it seems) and to our room on the second floor.
The room was surprisingly large by normal Swiss standards, with a nice balcony overlooking a pretty small garden, with a little outdated furniture, but in a very good state of maintenance and very clean. The bathroom was instead very tiny, but sufficient for a shower.
Parking was at a nearby multi-storey public establishment, 5 minutes walk from the hotel
at the reasonable price of CHF Francs 10.00 per day.
We just had to stay in Lugano for a night, and our experience was very good, as I will stay there again at the end of September. The breakfast in the morning was served in their small garden and had the usual choice of pastries, bread, cheeses, cold cuts and fruits.
The price charged was very reasonable given the hotel position and the standard of service, even though for a 3 star establishment, and far better then my previous stay last year at the nearby Holiday Inn, where I had a shabby service, poor breakfast , very old and worn out furniture at a very expensive price!
All together, a little gem, friendly family run hotel in the nicest part of Lugano.

Room Tip: Try to get a front facing room
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sevalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, UT
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Very close to the funicular up Monte San Salvatore and also very close to the boat dock where we took a cruise around the lake. Short bus ride from the train station and close to the bus stop. Delicious breakfast with a wide variety and outdoor seating available. The room was nice and clean and included a table and chairs. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor was quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorMom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Our family room at this hotel (2 single beds next to each other and a bunk bed) was compact but clean and reasonably equipped (including air conditioning which was useful in Lugano in May). I would have preferred a double bed - but that's a minor issue. The staff at this hotel are great - really helpful and family friendly.

Most things in Lugano are eye-wateringly expensive but the Dischma is definitely good value.

The hotel is in the Paradiso district which is a 15-20 walk from central Lugano. But there are plenty of restaurants and shops around and most of the boat trips on the lake can be caught from the Paradiso pier. If you are going to be getting boats or funiculars it is worth getting 3- or 5-day passes which cover all transport in Lugano.

Free wi-fi on every floor was an unexpected bonus.

Room Tip: Rooms higher in the hotel will have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lbarry99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Nice hotel, close to lake for major sightseeing and stone's throw from San Salvatore funicular. Clean, medium sized room, good breakfast (with champagne!). Staff friendly and helpful. Free wi-fi in room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takayaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#16 of 45 in Lugano
395 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#14 of 45 in Lugano
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria au Lac
Hotel Victoria au Lac
#41 of 45 in Lugano
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Hotel San Carlo Garni
#33 of 45 in Lugano
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#13 of 45 in Lugano
491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Colorado Lugano
Hotel Colorado Lugano
#25 of 45 in Lugano
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dischma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dischma Hotel

Property: Dischma Hotel
Address: Vicolo Geretta 6 | Paradiso, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dischma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Dischma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dischma Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing