We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Parkhotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Continental Parkhotel to your Saves list
Continental Parkhotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hotel has been by far the best overall experience in a long time. The fact that is family run I am sure has its influence, and we definitely appreciated the level of service as well as the free room upgrade upon arrival.
The staff are very friendly and most speak 3 or 4 languages.
The recently renovated rooms are clean, modern and extremely comfortable. The option of TV channels and excellent wifi service made a rainy afternoon pass away almost unnoticed.
The moderately priced restaurant (compared to all other restaurants in town!) turned out to be our refuge in the evenings, and had us coming back for more because of the excellent food served.
The location is great just on top of the hill and near the town centre but with easy acccess to the roads leading out of Lugano.
In fact, our stay was so good that we are planning to go back again. Next time we hope to go during the warmer months and enjoy the pool and gardens too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dxbtraveller_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had a great experience at this hotel while visiting family staying in Lugano. The hotel was charming with beautiful views of the Alps and a very helpful, friendly staff. Our room was clean and ready for us upon arrival. The location was also wonderful for walking down to the shops, the lake and was conveniently located near the train station for easy access. We would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtnee2182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

If anyone is planning to visit Lugano, Continental Parkhotel is an excellent location. The hotel has character and the room we stayed was very well situated with a stunning view of the lake. Very friendly and polite staff. We were lucky to be upgraded. I will stay again if I go back to Lugano.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arpy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel has a great location. Parking right in the front of the hotel and at the back too. Thanks to the reception for an upgrade to superior room, lake view was stunning. Despite the fact that the train station is very close noise was not an issue thanks to new (and efficient) windows. Room was clean. Mattress needs replacement. Breakfast was a disappointment. No fruit and no vegetables whatsoever. Both times we came there were just eggs' left overs. The reception staff was very kind to lend us a socket connector (the Italian sockets are narrow). The weather and the view made up for those small things.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaStar888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Really like the hotel. Had an upgrade to superior room, lake view was stunning, spacious and clean, comfy bed! Breakfast is good. Friendly staff.
Noise from the train could be an issue if you're not a deep sleeper. But we were fine.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel is perched on the slope of the hill above the city center, so there must be a lovely view from the top floor rooms. However, the proximity of the railway tracks and the station slightly undermines the location and the atmosphere. We preferred to stay in the room #49, overlooking the garden which is really wonderful and gives you an impression of staying at a villa, rather than in a city hotel.
There is a small parking at the main entrance and a bigger parking lot further on. Next to the stairs of the main entrance there is extra entrance with flat floor and direct access to the elevator, which is very convenient for travelers with heavy luggage. The reception area is spacious, bright and charming in old-fashioned style. Although the hotel has seen more than 100 years of history, the premises are in perfect condition. Obviously, the owners carried out extensive renovation quite recently. At least our room was spotlessly clean and completely refurbished. The only negative aspect was that it got quite chilly by the evening.
The staff at the reception was amazingly helpful and friendly. They were kind enough to lend us a portable heater and a kettle. Beside that they provided us information on the local sights.
Both nights we dined at the restaurant and were quite satisfied with service and food. It was not exceptional, but better and safer than in a random venue downtown.
The total bill amounted to 658 CHF (248 CHF per room per night plus food).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elena076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Thanks to the reception for an upgrade room. Room was spacious and large bathroom with jacuzzi. Conviniently located near a train station. Beautiful lake view from our room balcony.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KL_Faiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.2 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#17 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#13 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Lugano Paradiso
ibis Lugano Paradiso
#23 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#4 of 44 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Parkhotel

Address: Via Basilea 28, Lugano 6903, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lugano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#5 Family Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Parkhotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Continental Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Parkhotel Lugano
Continental Parkhotel Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing