We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Continental Parkhotel
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

If anyone is planning to visit Lugano, Continental Parkhotel is an excellent location. The hotel has character and the room we stayed was very well situated with a stunning view of the lake. Very friendly and polite staff. We were lucky to be upgraded. I will stay again if I go back to Lugano.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arpy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 696 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel has a great location. Parking right in the front of the hotel and at the back too. Thanks to the reception for an upgrade to superior room, lake view was stunning. Despite the fact that the train station is very close noise was not an issue thanks to new (and efficient) windows. Room was clean. Mattress needs replacement. Breakfast was a disappointment. No fruit and no vegetables whatsoever. Both times we came there were just eggs' left overs. The reception staff was very kind to lend us a socket connector (the Italian sockets are narrow). The weather and the view made up for those small things.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaStar888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Really like the hotel. Had an upgrade to superior room, lake view was stunning, spacious and clean, comfy bed! Breakfast is good. Friendly staff.
Noise from the train could be an issue if you're not a deep sleeper. But we were fine.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Annie2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel is perched on the slope of the hill above the city center, so there must be a lovely view from the top floor rooms. However, the proximity of the railway tracks and the station slightly undermines the location and the atmosphere. We preferred to stay in the room #49, overlooking the garden which is really wonderful and gives you an impression of staying at a villa, rather than in a city hotel.
There is a small parking at the main entrance and a bigger parking lot further on. Next to the stairs of the main entrance there is extra entrance with flat floor and direct access to the elevator, which is very convenient for travelers with heavy luggage. The reception area is spacious, bright and charming in old-fashioned style. Although the hotel has seen more than 100 years of history, the premises are in perfect condition. Obviously, the owners carried out extensive renovation quite recently. At least our room was spotlessly clean and completely refurbished. The only negative aspect was that it got quite chilly by the evening.
The staff at the reception was amazingly helpful and friendly. They were kind enough to lend us a portable heater and a kettle. Beside that they provided us information on the local sights.
Both nights we dined at the restaurant and were quite satisfied with service and food. It was not exceptional, but better and safer than in a random venue downtown.
The total bill amounted to 658 CHF (248 CHF per room per night plus food).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elena076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Thanks to the reception for an upgrade room. Room was spacious and large bathroom with jacuzzi. Conviniently located near a train station. Beautiful lake view from our room balcony.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KL_Faiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and after reading other revies, was were rather disappointed.
Check in was friendly, I
I was given a room in the front annexe building, which, if I stayed here again, I would not accept.
Small basic, no frills rooms with a bath/shower room that was very small, the bath would not be suitable for anyone that did not have good movement, as it was difficult to get in and out of. The curtains are too thin, but the windows had external shutters that needed closing to eliminate the spotlights on the front of the hotel. This was achieved by hanging out of the windows to reach the catches.,
My room had a fault with the heating the first night, and as a result it was very cold, so much so that it was uncomfortable taking a shower in the morning. The rooms had typical marble floor tiles and did not help the situation.
This was reported, and fiixed, but no offer of a discount for the first night was offered.

The bed was reasonably comfortable but only had 1 thin pillow each side.
The bath towels are quite small and thin and need replacing, just a couple small hand towels.
The hotel offers free wifi.

Breakfast was very nice with the usual cold cuts, bread and pastries.

Parking was free.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main hotel building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldlyWiseTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We absolutely loved the service at this hotel. The food and wait staff were absolutely the best we had on our 2 week trip. The staff was helpful and friendly to Americans. Everything was clean and comfortable. A great value,and super convenient to town.

Room Tip: I would stay in the main hotel next time..I am sure it has a better view and nicer rooms. the block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.2 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.7 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#6 of 45 in Lugano
230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#15 of 45 in Lugano
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#12 of 45 in Lugano
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Parkhotel

Address: via Basilea 28, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lugano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#4 Family Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: $136 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Parkhotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Continental Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Parkhotel Lugano
Continental Parkhotel Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing