We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean and Sparse Lodging in Lugano” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Clean and Sparse Lodging in Lugano”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

We recently spent a weekend at the Hotel Pestalozzi. Though listed as a three-star hotel in various on-line forums, the sign on the door says it is only a two-star establishment. The sign looked as though it was recently updated, so it's possible this is a newer development

The pros:
- The room was fairly affordable, but Swiss standards
- The room was clean
- The breakfast was a nice amenity, though nothing fancy (cereal, coffee, cheese, and some cold cuts)
- The location is great. We had a view of the lake right from our room and we bordered Parco Civico. We were also a short walk from the city center.

The cons:
- The hotel may have been recently renovated, but I debate the definition of recent. The common areas were pleasant enough, but the room needed a coat of paint as there were numerous areas that had chipped or peeling paint.
- The walls in our room had a huge crack that ran from a corner about a foot down
- The furniture was dorm like and very basic linens (though they did provide ample blankets)
- The windows are thin and you can hear everything if you have a room that borders a main street
- The whole idea of leaving your keys when you leave the hotel just seems weird to me

Overall, the hotel served a purpose - a last minute, affordable room in a town in a country known for being expensive. Would I stay again? Possibly, but only if I couldn't find another room that was near enough (i.e. within 75 CHF) the same price.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OutofRange331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    139
    60
    9
    6
See reviews for
42
93
41
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

This hotel is fine - but ask for a room that does not face the street!! Noise from the street and a nearby disco kept us up until after midnight. That said, our room was very clean and comfortable. Staff were helpful, but not very friendly in comparison to others on our trip throughout Switzerland. Breakfast OK, nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALDodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

I travelled here for a conference with another colleague and we decided to stay here as it was cheap, close to the convention centre and seemed better than other options.

Although it is the budget option, I would recommend this place as it is a no frills option. The rooms are small and basic but are clean and serviceable. We had a good balcony view towards the lake and the weather was lovely. They do provide a basic continental breakfast and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Our trip coincided with the annual jazz festival (estivaljazz) which was loads of fun.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 18ladyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

Great location in the centre of the town, good brekky, parking available by the Casino, just metres away. Quiet room, nothing fancy but had everything we needed. A little dear for what it offered (the Swiss way...). Recommended though.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lukmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
229 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

There is nothing wrong with the Hotel Pestalozzi--it is clean, relatively reasonably priced, and very well situated in the extremely attractive-bordering on opulent town of Lugano. But that's kind of where the disconnect is. My room ($120 per night for a double--reasonable, but certainly not cheap) was quite sparely furnished and equipped--two little packets of shower gel which weren't replaced for my second day, Thin bedding. An unremarkable if not meager breakfast... It's just all a bit austere--and I'm not sure austere is what Lugano-bound travelers are looking for. Add an alcohol-free restaurant and the picture fills in. I'm not saying to avoid the place--it's clean and professionally run--just be clear on what you are getting...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mklein818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowell, ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

We had a smallish room with a great balcony with view of lake. The bathroom was quite large and the hotel was spotlessly clean. We had an extremely confortable queen size bed.There is an excellent, modestly priced restaurant operated by the hotel. The restaurant has been alcohol free for decades and they do not permit diners to bring their own wine. The hotel staff is wonderful; they really know the town and the area and they made exellent suggestions for dining. We were there in November so that traffic at night outside our room was light. Lugano is an excellent central location for touring the western Italian lakes and the Pestalozzi is an excellent place to stay.

  • Liked — location and price and attentiveness of staff
  • Disliked — difficulty of parking
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guppies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

This is a pretty typical, Swiss hotel. The rooms are small, efficient, and exceptionally clean. I've stayed there three nights now in three different rooms. The worst was a room with only a sink. The shared bathrooms and showers were clean and I didn't have any problem with lines to use them, but I had a slight problem with the noise from the rooms on the floor above. I could hear their TV/radio until late at night. And without a TV of my own, I had nothing to drown out the noise on my own.

I will stay there again, but will be sure to reserve one of the rooms with a in-room bathroom. Not for the convenience, but for the seemingly better noise isolation.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — some noise in the rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank americanInItaly73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
1.1 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#13 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.3 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#14 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano

Property: Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Address: Piazza Indipendenza 9 | 6901 Lugano, Lugano 6901, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your vacation at the Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano and forget about everyday life! In the centre - close to the Lake of Lugano - a world full of architecture, hospitality and holiday fun awaits you! Attractive rates - newly renovated rooms Enjoy the Lake and the city of Lugano first hand. The Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano is situated directly in the city centre and is open for you all year round. Over the past years the hotel was completely renovated with love for detail and architectural highlights. Choose your ideal accommodation among the categories Flair or Economy- for your vacation in Ticino or for a business trip to Lugano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestalozzi Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing