We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good hotel, a bit pricy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good hotel, a bit pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

Great location in the centre of the town, good brekky, parking available by the Casino, just metres away. Quiet room, nothing fancy but had everything we needed. A little dear for what it offered (the Swiss way...). Recommended though.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lukmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    132
    58
    9
    6
See reviews for
40
90
39
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
223 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

There is nothing wrong with the Hotel Pestalozzi--it is clean, relatively reasonably priced, and very well situated in the extremely attractive-bordering on opulent town of Lugano. But that's kind of where the disconnect is. My room ($120 per night for a double--reasonable, but certainly not cheap) was quite sparely furnished and equipped--two little packets of shower gel which weren't replaced for my second day, Thin bedding. An unremarkable if not meager breakfast... It's just all a bit austere--and I'm not sure austere is what Lugano-bound travelers are looking for. Add an alcohol-free restaurant and the picture fills in. I'm not saying to avoid the place--it's clean and professionally run--just be clear on what you are getting...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mklein818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowell, ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

We had a smallish room with a great balcony with view of lake. The bathroom was quite large and the hotel was spotlessly clean. We had an extremely confortable queen size bed.There is an excellent, modestly priced restaurant operated by the hotel. The restaurant has been alcohol free for decades and they do not permit diners to bring their own wine. The hotel staff is wonderful; they really know the town and the area and they made exellent suggestions for dining. We were there in November so that traffic at night outside our room was light. Lugano is an excellent central location for touring the western Italian lakes and the Pestalozzi is an excellent place to stay.

  • Liked — location and price and attentiveness of staff
  • Disliked — difficulty of parking
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guppies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

This is a pretty typical, Swiss hotel. The rooms are small, efficient, and exceptionally clean. I've stayed there three nights now in three different rooms. The worst was a room with only a sink. The shared bathrooms and showers were clean and I didn't have any problem with lines to use them, but I had a slight problem with the noise from the rooms on the floor above. I could hear their TV/radio until late at night. And without a TV of my own, I had nothing to drown out the noise on my own.

I will stay there again, but will be sure to reserve one of the rooms with a in-room bathroom. Not for the convenience, but for the seemingly better noise isolation.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — some noise in the rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank americanInItaly73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rethymno
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

NICE LOCATION, NICE HOTEL, BASIC ROOMS AND BREAKFAST

It is a 2 star hotel ( the top floor has a heating promblem ) with a 1 star breakfast, but the rooms are clean and confortable except the heating. The location is perfect, and if you like the casino is really next door. Parking spots are in 200m walking distance

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — breakfast presentation
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank evab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

I've stayed in this hotel several times, with my family and without. It's main attraction is its primo location and reasonable prices. The rooms are always clean and comfortable, but it can get noisy for some rooms during the warm summer months. The staff is wonderful, and the restaurant is fine for breakfast. I've never eaten any other meals there.

There are a certain number of quiet rooms with bath which are worth asking for, depending when you're there.

If you're looking for good value for you and all your children, (do they really need a bath in the room?) this is a very good choice.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank twaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

My husband & I stayed one night. The room was very clean, spacious, with a nice balcony. The breakfast was decent with some croissants, breads, yogurt, cereal, and coffee to order. The reception was good though not overly helpful.

We were worried about noise from the street and disco so we specifically requested a quiet room. Our room was in the back on the 3rd floor and overlooked a courtyard. We didn't hear a peep all night. We had a ceiling fan but no obvious way to use it so the room was a little warm but not unbearable. Our friend stayed on the top floor and had a/c which he said was excellent.

The location is close to the central piazza, waterfront, and public pool. It was a good deal and I would recommend it to others.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank kcinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.1 mi away
ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
1.1 mi away
ibis Lugano Paradiso
ibis Lugano Paradiso
#11 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.5 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#12 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano

Property: Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Address: Piazza Indipendenza 9 | 6901 Lugano, Lugano 6901, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your vacation at the Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano and forget about everyday life! In the centre - close to the Lake of Lugano - a world full of architecture, hospitality and holiday fun awaits you! Attractive rates - newly renovated rooms Enjoy the Lake and the city of Lugano first hand. The Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano is situated directly in the city centre and is open for you all year round. Over the past years the hotel was completely renovated with love for detail and architectural highlights. Choose your ideal accommodation among the categories Flair or Economy- for your vacation in Ticino or for a business trip to Lugano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestalozzi Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing