We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice and tidy hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lugano
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice and tidy hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Very nice staff in the hostel, they were friendly and helpful. The hostel itself is nicely situated above the city, so nice views and first of all it's close to the main Lugano train station. There's plenty of trees and plants around the hostel building, so you feel like in a jungle actually ;) The bathrooms were very clean. Very positive experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomasz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    80
    40
    5
    12
See reviews for
28
64
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LANGLEY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is steps from the train station but is quiet and secluded. The grounds and the pool are beautiful. Our room had a stunning view. Well priced but don't get the breakfast included. It's way overpriced. There are plenty of places to eat in Lugano. Our room was comfortable but there is no elevator and there are three floors.
We saw lots of young people in the hostel. There were lots of bunk beds in each room but the rooms were large and clean.
Good hotel for the money and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LORRAINE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Good location - but walking up to the property with lot of luggage will be a sweaty hike. Beautiful property. Since there are lot of plants, trees etc you run the risk of mosquitoes entering your room if you leave the windows open. Only comfort rooms are with attached bath, albeit small. Fully equipped common kitchen. A nice swimming pool. A nice breakfast area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed in Montarina Hostel for many times over the years and this place has the best value for money for young backpackers.
You can use the kitchen to save money since the restaurants in Lugano are quite expensive. There's a wonderful terrasse where you can sit and relax. There's a table tennis table, a big swimming pool you can use and nice sunbeds. It's situated next to the train station which is not quite in the town but you can reach it within 10min. For the cheap accomondation, there's a dorm but they also provide nicer rooms for a bit more. Switzerland's hotel prices are enormous, especially in Lugano, therefore this place has by far the best value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne_782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The old villa areal is a very nice place. We booked a comfort room. The room is small but nice. If you look for a quite hotel the near train station and nightly trains might not be for you. But overall we slept better than expected.

It can be difficult to park your car. But you can be very creative and the hotel people are relaxed and very friendly.

Having breakfast outside is very nice (in our case one guy with a leaves blower was active during breakfast time). The breakfast is OK but nothing special.

There is a very nice pool, that seems to be shared with an other hotel. There is not much space but it's a good refresh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert_m_muench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a good hostel at a good price for Lugano. Being a hostel one doesn't expect hotel privacy or ammenities but you'll be okay. The rooms are large- upto 20 or so in a room in bunk beds. The showers and toilets are clean and suitable. The grounds are beautiful and include an incredible swimming pool. Security Lockers on sight for your stuff. You must bring or use a sleeping bag with means a sheet sewn into a bag. they rent these for a small fee if you need one. The breakfast buffet was great. Lots of meats, cheeses, breads, yogurt, juice, coffee. The location is right behind the train station. While that is certainly convenient to many shops and restaurants, it is noisy. We heard train whistles through the night.

Room Tip: Just remember this is a hostel and you'll share a large room with others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobB3664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here (3 adults) in the hotel portion of the property. Great location, near train station & funicular but not a lot of noise. Gorgeous property, lush vegetation, nice pool and breakfast area, efficient if not overly friendly staff. Rooms are small, but clean and with sufficient closet space. Our TV/remote did not work, but we weren't there to watch TV so that was not a huge bother. Our balcony door/window did not latch completely. By US standards this is overpriced for what you get--around $200 a night plus another $18 or so apiece for continental breakfast. But for a European resort town, it's to be expected, and was the average "budget" hotel price everywhere we went in Switzerland.

Room Tip: If you are worried about train noise, ask for a room on the side opposite the station. (We faced th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NebraskaLobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
0.2 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#16 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Stella Hotel
Albergo Stella Hotel
#17 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#13 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel

Property: Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel
Address: via Montarina 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Lugano
Hotel Montarina And Backpackers Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing