We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, good location but in case carrying luggage beware its a very steep climb up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Good location - but walking up to the property with lot of luggage will be a sweaty hike. Beautiful property. Since there are lot of plants, trees etc you run the risk of mosquitoes entering your room if you leave the windows open. Only comfort rooms are with attached bath, albeit small. Fully equipped common kitchen. A nice swimming pool. A nice breakfast area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 231 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed in Montarina Hostel for many times over the years and this place has the best value for money for young backpackers.
You can use the kitchen to save money since the restaurants in Lugano are quite expensive. There's a wonderful terrasse where you can sit and relax. There's a table tennis table, a big swimming pool you can use and nice sunbeds. It's situated next to the train station which is not quite in the town but you can reach it within 10min. For the cheap accomondation, there's a dorm but they also provide nicer rooms for a bit more. Switzerland's hotel prices are enormous, especially in Lugano, therefore this place has by far the best value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne_782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The old villa areal is a very nice place. We booked a comfort room. The room is small but nice. If you look for a quite hotel the near train station and nightly trains might not be for you. But overall we slept better than expected.

It can be difficult to park your car. But you can be very creative and the hotel people are relaxed and very friendly.

Having breakfast outside is very nice (in our case one guy with a leaves blower was active during breakfast time). The breakfast is OK but nothing special.

There is a very nice pool, that seems to be shared with an other hotel. There is not much space but it's a good refresh.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert_m_muench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a good hostel at a good price for Lugano. Being a hostel one doesn't expect hotel privacy or ammenities but you'll be okay. The rooms are large- upto 20 or so in a room in bunk beds. The showers and toilets are clean and suitable. The grounds are beautiful and include an incredible swimming pool. Security Lockers on sight for your stuff. You must bring or use a sleeping bag with means a sheet sewn into a bag. they rent these for a small fee if you need one. The breakfast buffet was great. Lots of meats, cheeses, breads, yogurt, juice, coffee. The location is right behind the train station. While that is certainly convenient to many shops and restaurants, it is noisy. We heard train whistles through the night.

Room Tip: Just remember this is a hostel and you'll share a large room with others.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobB3664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here (3 adults) in the hotel portion of the property. Great location, near train station & funicular but not a lot of noise. Gorgeous property, lush vegetation, nice pool and breakfast area, efficient if not overly friendly staff. Rooms are small, but clean and with sufficient closet space. Our TV/remote did not work, but we weren't there to watch TV so that was not a huge bother. Our balcony door/window did not latch completely. By US standards this is overpriced for what you get--around $200 a night plus another $18 or so apiece for continental breakfast. But for a European resort town, it's to be expected, and was the average "budget" hotel price everywhere we went in Switzerland.

Room Tip: If you are worried about train noise, ask for a room on the side opposite the station. (We faced th...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NebraskaLobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

LOCATION: Hotel & Hostel Montarina is located up on a hill overlooking Lago Maggiore, at Via Montarina 1.

Lugano furnicular and train stations are a quick 5 minutes' stroll away. When you exit the station at the back (away from the Old Town), just head towards the left, then go up a steep slope leading up to a 19th century historic building with a pink-and-white exterior.

To reach the Old Town and boat pier (whence cruises on Lago Maggiore depart), you need to take the Lugano Città–Stazione furnicular downhill. The furnicular station is conveniently located within Lugano train station and the service runs from about 5:20am till 11:50pm daily; frequency seemed pretty good with a furnicular departing every 5~10 minutes.

ROOM: We stayed in a clean and spacious Antique Room decorated in an archaic 19th century style. As befitting its name, the room had really creaky floorboards and worn-out, vintage furnishings: 2 single beds; a pair of bedside tables with reading lamps (1 of which didn't work); small desk by the hearth; 2 chairs (clearly in need of new upholstery); a huge armoire with hangers and ample storage space (door was badly jammed, had to be pried open with great difficulty...)

BEDS: both were clean and comfortable. Pillows were much too soft for my liking. To conserve energy and water, bed linen was not changed during stay.

BATHROOM: no ensuite facilities but in a corner of the room, they have installed lighting, mirror and a shelf above a wash basin. Clean towels together with 2 tiny bars of soap and 2 packets of hair-and-body-wash were provided.

Communal bathrooms and toilets are located in the hallway. These shared facilities were not always found in a clean and tidy state... Unfortunately went into a toilet where the previous user failed to flush, thus I was faced with a huge 'unpleasant surprise' in the bowl ~ totally ruined my morning!

Shower stalls were quite small, so it could be a tight fit for some people. Water pressure in the shower was adequate but took a while to adjust the water to a comfortable temperature...

F&B: room rate did not include daily breakfast, which was available at an extra CHF15 per pax. There was a self-catering kitchen on the ground floor as well as vending machines for drinks and snacks.

SERVICE: Room Reservation, Check-In & Out all proceeded smoothly. The multilingual staff are fluent in English; service was efficient enough but not exactly warm.

FACILITIES: there is no lift nor porter service so be prepared to lug your bags up the stairs. Hostel has coin-operated washer and dryer somewhere but we didn't utilize the laundry facility here. The property offers free WiFi and there's a swimming pool for guest use.

IN SHORT: For the rates charged, I wouldn't want to stay in an Antique Room again, not with its creaky floors and worn-out furnishings. The shared facilities also fell short in terms of comfort and hygiene levels...

Besides the Antique Room reviewed above, there are other room categories available at Hotel & Hostel Montarina. If you don't mind paying higher rates, you can probably enjoy a more pleasant stay in their Comfort Rooms which have ensuite facilities, air-conditioning and flatscreen TV.

A major down side to staying here is the tiresome daily trudge on that steep slope leading up to the property. On my next visit to Lugano, would probably choose a different hotel more conveniently located downhill in the Old Town.

Room Tip: Antique Rooms have shared facilities & old, worn-out furnishings. Comfort Rooms with ensuite fa...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeChat_EnVacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have a night stay in this resort like hotel in an ensuite double room at 1st floor, there are 1 single bed and 1 double bed (2 single bed put together), our room have 5 windows, 2 facing the back, 2 facing the side which we can see the reception building, and one is facing part of the lake and snow-capped mountain which offer us good view. Toilet is attached in the shower room, but comfortable in size. Hair dryer is available upon request with CHF10 deposit at the reception, same with adapter. For the mattress, my was good but my hubby one is not so comfortable, which made him didn't slept well. There are TV in the room too. But no kettle to boil water.
The self catering kitchen is very tiny, which allow only one or two persons cooking inside. But the dinning room is big, with 2 tables outside at the balcony which offer good view.
Since many good reviews about the breakfast here, we paid CHF15 p.p for it, but discovered that it's just a very simple Swiss breakfast, we were having this type of breakfast or even better every morning in other hotels in Swiss but it's included in the room rate, no extra charges. The only credit is the restaurant is in a beautiful garden.
The location is near to the train station and the Bernina Express bus station (to Tirano for Bernina express train).
While in Lugano, don't miss to visit Mt San Salvatore, which offer spectacular view especially up to the roof top of the church at the top.
Don't waste your energy by foot to the town centre, you can take the funicular just in the centre of the train station to the town in 2 minutes. It's free with Swiss pass and about CHF1.10 or 1.20.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the front, so you can see mountains and part of the lake and Lugano night view...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessB_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#14 of 45 in Lugano
357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#12 of 45 in Lugano
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel

Address: via Montarina 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lugano
Price Range: $32 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montarina And Backpackers Hostel
Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing