We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hippy heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lugano
Canton of Aargau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hippy heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Hotel Montarina was such a find! Cheap by Swiss standards but you get so much for your money it is well worth a visit. The hotel is full of old charm. A converted villa with many original features. It is charming, quirky and a very likeable place to stay. My room had a wonderful view of the lake to wake up to.
A friend stayed over one night, which was no hassle. For 40 CHF we got a camp bed, towels and bedding provided.
After a hot walk up the hill (you can take the funiculare if you don't like the challenge) from the city centre, you can reward yourself with the use of the outdoor pool, shared with the hotel next door. This was a very attractive part of the hotel. It was well maintained and very clean.
The kitchen, toilets and showers were shared by everyone. So you have to be prepared to queue at busy times to use them, they are kept in a reasonably clean state.

These positive statements said, it should come with a warning... Anyone thinking of going there who does not like to share amenities or who cannot tolerate a lot of people around them or is easily disturbed by noise should take note: this is not the place for you.
Situated close by the train station, the freight train noise will be heard rolling by from about 5:30am. Even with the windows closed this noise can be heard. Also sharing with a hostel full of backpacking teenage kids from a local Swiss school one could only expect some excitable screeching and running around for a few hours.
Anyone who enjoys sharing a glass of wine with some guys you have just cooked a meal with in the kitchen but never met before, this is definitely the place to go!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tievie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    76
    38
    5
    12
See reviews for
27
62
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zeland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Fantastic if you have travelled in by coach or by train -from the station it is a stone's throw to reach the Montarina.

We had a map printed out, but it was so close, that if you glance to the right you can see the hostel from the station!
The main hotel is lovely, the pastel pinks and the shutters on the windows very picturesque, plus the pool is secluded, and very clean, we all had a swim.
Our room was on the top floor of the hostel, the adjoining bathrooms and showers just across the hallway. They are hotel standard, beautifully maintained. The kitchen and dining rooms are well equipped and the dining room had a nice atmosphere, plus the staff were very friendly.
This is a great place to be based in Lugano as it is close to the Manor Supermarket, easy and fast access t restaurants, the shopping, the town plaza. Highly recommend for a family.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwigoingabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
195 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

spend two nites here in e comfort room in apr. Just behind train station, a five min funicular ride away fr city center. Was given a room facing the lake.. Great view at nite to chill out in e balcony aft day long sight seeings. Large, clean n comfy. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goncalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

It's 10 mins' walk from lugano main train station.
I stayed in a comfort room...newly refurbished.
It was very clean. Nice view of lake lugano.
My room has a tv with multiple channels...including some english channels like cnn.
Room does not come with breakfast.
It even has a swimming pool.
Very friendly and helpful staff at the reception.
Free internet in the room...ask for cable to connect to the internet.
Good place to stay if u are connecting to the Bernina Express and it's easy to find...can see their signboard from the train station.

Room Tip: ask for ground floor rooms if u have heavy luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STLL78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
258 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I just needed to stay in Lugano for one night before meeting family in Italy the next day, so convenience and low cost were my priorities. I was pleasantly surprised by the Montarina. It is definitely above average for a hostel. It is incredibly close to the train station in an old charming but well maintained building. The gardens are really beautiful and it is fantastic to be able to use the pool area of the adjoining sister property, The Continental. The option for the buffet breakfast at the Continental is really nice, too, in a lovely dining room. The hostel is immaculate especially the bathrooms. I was not bothered by the trains and the other guests were all very quiet and considerate when I was there but if you are worried about noise then just bring earplugs. All in all great value. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We stayed in one of the modern private rooms and it was great. Room was above average for a hostel, very clean. Very large swimming pool to enjoy a sunny day in Lugano.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucianasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Hostel was good and nearby the train-station, however around the hostel was not really much things to do. It was clean, and quite. I definitely recommend this hostel for tourist!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wveronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
0.1 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 596 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#14 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#16 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel

Property: Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel
Address: via Montarina 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HRS, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Lugano
Hotel Montarina And Backpackers Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing