We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good boutique Hotel in Lugano” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gabbani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gabbani
Ranked #1 of 23 Lugano B&B and Inns
Belgium
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good boutique Hotel in Lugano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Centrally located in a pedestrian area of Lugano, a very nice boutique hotel. Clean rooms and nothing to complain other than perhaps a night staff service would be an added value for customers. In any case, as far as I am concerned, if around in Lugano again I will return to this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    34
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
38
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nova Lima, MG
Level Contributor
181 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The Hotel Gabbani is in a quiet pedestrian street close to the funicular to the train station, just a few minutes away from the lake shore. Its room are comfortable, with a somewhat unusual design. The hotel reception is in the first floor, as well as the restaurant where breakfast is served, the ground floor is occupied by a delicatessen. The place sometimes becomes full of people, but the hotel rooms remain quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basileu X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was totally remodeled in 2012. Each room is named and is of different decor. We stayed in Whisky, room 35, facing the square. The bathroom was incredible in all marble with a large walk in shower and separate free standing modern tub. The bathroom has a separate room with a bidet and the main room is windowed to the square. The bedroom has a large closet with a safe and refrigerator stocked with gratis water and coke products. The bed had duvets and was very comfortable. The hotel is serviced by an elevator entered through the ground floor restaurant and bakery but only when the restaurant is opened. Otherwise access to the street is by stairs. Parking is a 2 minute walk in a public facility, but the hotel can provide a pass and charge for parking. The hotel is a minute walk to the funicular to the train station and in the heart of the old town walking streets. The staff is helpful with luggage. The breakfast is included in the room rate and was ok, but not exceptional.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JMG44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
160 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel Gabbani is in a grey location - very close to the train stations ( by funiculaire) and in the center of the city. The people at the hotel were excellent, however, we had a few complaints.

Our bed only had two skimpy pillows (for 2 people), and no extra pillows or blankets. The Swiss-style comforter was very short - at 5 foot 6 inches, my feet were fully exposed. The bathroom was excellent.

Breakfast is provided in the "deli" on street level. It was quit cool during our stay, and with the temperature in the 50s (f), the doors were open to the deli, and it was downright cold during breakfast. After complaining 2 days in a row, there was finally heat on the 3rd day.

All in all, it's a very nice place to stay. Lugano, and it's people, make it a wonderful place to visit. We had one of the smallest rooms (limone - #23) - maybe the larger rooms are better.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We arrived by train and were relieved that we only had to drag our suitcases steps to the funicular at the station and then, a few more steps to the hotel.

This is a renovated hotel in the heart of the walking area. The staff was helpful, the breakfasts were wonderful. The only downside to this well designed and renovated hotel is the lack of natural light in the rooms. The operable windows off the bathroom area opened onto the alley.
For a few days, it was fine. For a longer stay I'd probably like something with more light.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
162 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stepping off the funicular from the train station, we found our hotel only steps away in the center of old Lugano. The hotel is on the second floor and entered through a door on the side of the Gabbani restaurant on the bottom floor (also used for the breakfast buffet) or by using the elevator at the back of the restaurant if you have luggage to take up. We had the lime green room. All are very modernistic with clean lines and little cute touches. Looking through the window on the side, we had a view of a skylight with a lime green art-sy apple on the wall. The room had A/C, wi-fi, a spacious marble bath with a walk-in shower, a sink with plenty of space to store your toiletries, free non-alcoholic drinks in a refrigerator, and friendly, helpful people at the reception desk. The breakfast buffet had the usual cereals, yogurt, juices, breads, meats and cheeses. Surrounding the breakfast area were counters of wines, pastas, wheels of cheeses and meats for sale. it was very atmospheric. Everything we wanted to do was within walking distance. There is nothing negative to say about this hotel. It exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janiewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This little Hotel (more a Bed & Breakfast) is very modern and centrally located. The rooms are airconditioned. Also, the rooms all have different styles and features (unlike most of the other Lugano Hotels which are very old fashioned). The breakfast is served in the Café below.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.0 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#13 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Walter au Lac
Hotel Walter au Lac
#24 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabbani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabbani

Property: Hotel Gabbani
Address: Piazza Cioccaro 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gabbani 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gabbani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing