We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2009

My family and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Our room was fantastic and very roomy. We did have a junior suite with a large living room and bedroom. We were on the main level and had a large patio overlooking the lake. This was the nicest hotel we staying in during our trip to Switzerland and Italy.

We also enjoyed the spa but, it was a little pricey.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 536 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2009

We were sold on this gorgeous property because of the website, but be warned that the "Residence" is not shown in photos, only the actual "Hotel," which is across the street. Even so, the Residence was beautiful, and our room was incredibly large with a stunning picture window looking out at the pool.

The pool was great and a major plus for us as the weather was hot and humid.

Our major concern though was the location. The hotel is located on a gorgeous hillside, and was not physically far from downtown. However it is inaccessible on foot or bicycle because of the steep and very narrow road. The only way to get up and down from the hotel is by car, so if you miss the times of the complimentary shuttle, you will pay the price of an expensive, though short taxi ride. The shuttle was convenient, but stopped running in the early evening, so be prepared to pay for a cab if you have dinner in town. For example, our cab ride was no more than three minutes, but cost us the equivalent of $20.

Although the fitness center was closed while we were there, it was temporarily relocated into a sunroom, and served it's purpose for our short trip.

Breakfast was varied, with quite a few options for an included continental-style meal. Eating our first meal every day by the pool was also a great way to start our mornings.

The lakeview from the Hotel (not the Residence( is amazing, and the restaurant has fabulous 180 views. Although the food was good, you are clearly paying for the view.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Broadcastgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AbdullahKuwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaPrincipe, Public Relations Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGCUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank GCEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank practical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2007

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JPatek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
1.4 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#3 of 45 in Lugano
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.7 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#5 of 45 in Lugano
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Principe Leopoldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Principe Leopoldo

Address: via Montalbano 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lugano
#4 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#5 Business Hotel in Lugano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: $309 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Principe Leopoldo 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated high above the Bay of Lugano this exceptional boutique hotel offers first-class suites and rooms. The tastefully arranged spacious rooms, the terraces with breathtaking views, two heated outdoor pools, tennis courts and a wide range of facilities leave nothing to be desired. Neither does the exquisite Mediterranean cuisine of Dario Ranza, served in the light-flooded restaurants. Jewel of the hotel is Kiso: a heavenly, exclusive Spa offering unadulterated luxury, privacy and exclusive treatments. Nothing else to be desired - a truly royal feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Principe Leopoldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Principe Leopoldo Hotel And Spa
Hotel Principe Leopoldo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing