We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Nearby Hotels
$209
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$435
$404
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$305
$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$462
$428
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$300
$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$219
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$301
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Delfino Lugano(Lugano)(Great Value!)
$174
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveler rating
352
107
62
38
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
107
62
38
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitemain buildinglake luganorelais chateauxshuttle servicepiano barstay nightsbig balconyimpeccable servicethe hotel offersbeautiful hotelhigh levellake viewsitting areafresh fruitcroissantsresidence
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 572 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Staff was very friendly and the hotel is beautiful. Was only there one night but would like to come back soon. Stayed in the residence portion and the room was very big even by US standards. For Europe it was huge with a step down from the bedroom area into a sunken living room and nice deck.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sjacobson2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that we have satisfied your expectations.

We hope to welcome you again at Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Kind regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were invited to the wedding of a family friend so off we went with my wife and our two boys, one of them almost 3 and the other just 1 year old. We got a large room at the "Residence" which is an appendix built in the 80s (when the villa became a hotel) across the street from the actual "Villa". The room was very spacious and the staff was great in providing us with travel beds for our boys. We had a view of the large swimming pool which the boys were very happy to use and abuse. The breakfast was also a highlight with plenty of options to chose from. As a side note, I forgot a piece of clothing and the hotel sent it back home by post at no cost. What a service!

Room Tip: By all means try to stay at the Villa since you will be in the "real" Villa Leopoldo and most likely will have a view to the Lugano lake.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niushork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate very much your positive thoughts about your stay with us at the Villa Principe Leopoldo and Lugano. With pleasure we will share your lines with our staff.

In the hope we may welcome you and your family back soon, we remain,

With best regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA*****
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed. The rooms were great, and the terrazza in front f the room was marvelous to sit and relax. The restaurant had sme great food and service, and the live piano bar was just aazing. We booked the rooms at discount price, getting advantage of some sale offers, so the service and the quality we got was just superfine for that price. Definitely recommended for people with car, as the hotel was located a bit out of public transportat zones.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review! With pleasure we will forward your comments to the various departments.
We’re looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

From the first moment we walked in there it was fantastic.
After checking in (one night only), we were given a tour of the hotel (not time consuming) because its quite small.

Our room was cosy and spacious (Junior Suite) with a breathtaking view.

The Spa was close by but closed because they were occupied with clients (only down side) so we couldn't get an appointment when we wanted.

The Hotel offers a shuttle service to-from center but that day we had a Taxi service instead, who was so rude and one would think he is not getting paid for it! (Still he couldn't ruin our getaway and my birthday).

The restaurant in the hotel at first looked boring but it was worth every moment of the 3 hours we spent there!
The staff especially the maitre d' were professional and very pleasant!
Now to my favorite part, THE FOOD, Oh My God, kudos kudos kudos to the chef and all the kitchen staff! I have enjoyed with great pleasure every plate! It was a pure culinary pleasure.
They even got me a birthday cake, which was so sweet.
Worth every penny !!!
I recommend the hotel and the restaurant for all the Romantics out there!

Special thanks to Philip Schaerer!

Hope this helps : )

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luluzinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a comment on “tripadvisor” for your positive feedback. We appreciate that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you arrived safely at home full of great memories of Lugano and the Villa Principe Leopoldo Hotel & Spa. With pleasure we will forward your great comments to our kitchen and service staff.

Thank you for having point out the lack of friendliness of the taxi driver, we will do the necessary follow up with the company.

Wishing you all the best, and looking forward welcoming you and your husband back soon.

Kind regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Upon entering the stunning property, we had high hopes for a lovely stay. The front desk manager was accommodating and explained the hotel amenities (we had booked through Amex Platinum, however don't expect an upgrade here), and the room was well appointed and large. We were in a junior suite - I must have read the room categories wrong but was hoping for a view or balcony, and there was neither. The room was also a disabled room and found ourselves not being able to use the shower and bumped into the bars often.

What made us certain to never return was the horrible attitude of the staff. There ia a general pretentious feeling that we felt, an it was only a matter of time before it materialized. Two examples of our experiences: We had breakfast in the room and passed the breakfast room on the way out, and wanted to look at the buffet offerings out of curiosity - I was stopped by a waiter who rudely said you can't have breakfast - it's too late. Walking through the breakfast room should not get you followed by a staffer and then try to block you. Strange and entirely not necessary. Secondly, we went to dinner in town and came back to have a drink at the bar where we were immediately blocked by the concierge? Or bar manager? And said you can't come in- the bar is full. There was a small bar had 3 stools available - we simply wanted one night cap to go. He made us wait in the empty lobby for 10 minutes with no service and then somehow made space. Seriously ridiculous to treat your guests like children. The bar staff (with the exception of one or two) was also horrendously rude. Perhaps the Russian majority clientele was preferred. And the lounge was like a bad 70s Love Boat episode- pea green chairs and lounge singers.
It's a shame to spend $600+ a night to feel like unwelcome guests.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steenie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay at the Villa Principe Leopoldo Hotel & Spa.

We appreciate your comments very much, and would like to thank you for the time spent in giving us your valued feedback. It goes without saying, that the service given to you is by far not what our standards request and guests should expect from our property. Your comments have been noted and discussed in our daily briefing with the respective department heads. As immediate action we will implement trainings.

If you wish to give us further details or would like clarifications, please feel free to contact us at your convenience under info@leopoldohotel.com. The management will be more than happy to assist.

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews