We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A classic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A classic place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were invited to the wedding of a family friend so off we went with my wife and our two boys, one of them almost 3 and the other just 1 year old. We got a large room at the "Residence" which is an appendix built in the 80s (when the villa became a hotel) across the street from the actual "Villa". The room was very spacious and the staff was great in providing us with travel beds for our boys. We had a view of the large swimming pool which the boys were very happy to use and abuse. The breakfast was also a highlight with plenty of options to chose from. As a side note, I forgot a piece of clothing and the hotel sent it back home by post at no cost. What a service!

Room Tip: By all means try to stay at the Villa since you will be in the "real" Villa Leopoldo and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niushork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate very much your positive thoughts about your stay with us at the Villa Principe Leopoldo and Lugano. With pleasure we will share your lines with our staff.

In the hope we may welcome you and your family back soon, we remain,

With best regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA*****
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    97
    62
    33
    10
See reviews for
91
243
15
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed. The rooms were great, and the terrazza in front f the room was marvelous to sit and relax. The restaurant had sme great food and service, and the live piano bar was just aazing. We booked the rooms at discount price, getting advantage of some sale offers, so the service and the quality we got was just superfine for that price. Definitely recommended for people with car, as the hotel was located a bit out of public transportat zones.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review! With pleasure we will forward your comments to the various departments.
We’re looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

From the first moment we walked in there it was fantastic.
After checking in (one night only), we were given a tour of the hotel (not time consuming) because its quite small.

Our room was cosy and spacious (Junior Suite) with a breathtaking view.

The Spa was close by but closed because they were occupied with clients (only down side) so we couldn't get an appointment when we wanted.

The Hotel offers a shuttle service to-from center but that day we had a Taxi service instead, who was so rude and one would think he is not getting paid for it! (Still he couldn't ruin our getaway and my birthday).

The restaurant in the hotel at first looked boring but it was worth every moment of the 3 hours we spent there!
The staff especially the maitre d' were professional and very pleasant!
Now to my favorite part, THE FOOD, Oh My God, kudos kudos kudos to the chef and all the kitchen staff! I have enjoyed with great pleasure every plate! It was a pure culinary pleasure.
They even got me a birthday cake, which was so sweet.
Worth every penny !!!
I recommend the hotel and the restaurant for all the Romantics out there!

Special thanks to Philip Schaerer!

Hope this helps : )

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luluzinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a comment on “tripadvisor” for your positive feedback. We appreciate that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you arrived safely at home full of great memories of Lugano and the Villa Principe Leopoldo Hotel & Spa. With pleasure we will forward your great comments to our kitchen and service staff.

Thank you for having point out the lack of friendliness of the taxi driver, we will do the necessary follow up with the company.

Wishing you all the best, and looking forward welcoming you and your husband back soon.

Kind regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Upon entering the stunning property, we had high hopes for a lovely stay. The front desk manager was accommodating and explained the hotel amenities (we had booked through Amex Platinum, however don't expect an upgrade here), and the room was well appointed and large. We were in a junior suite - I must have read the room categories wrong but was hoping for a view or balcony, and there was neither. The room was also a disabled room and found ourselves not being able to use the shower and bumped into the bars often.

What made us certain to never return was the horrible attitude of the staff. There ia a general pretentious feeling that we felt, an it was only a matter of time before it materialized. Two examples of our experiences: We had breakfast in the room and passed the breakfast room on the way out, and wanted to look at the buffet offerings out of curiosity - I was stopped by a waiter who rudely said you can't have breakfast - it's too late. Walking through the breakfast room should not get you followed by a staffer and then try to block you. Strange and entirely not necessary. Secondly, we went to dinner in town and came back to have a drink at the bar where we were immediately blocked by the concierge? Or bar manager? And said you can't come in- the bar is full. There was a small bar had 3 stools available - we simply wanted one night cap to go. He made us wait in the empty lobby for 10 minutes with no service and then somehow made space. Seriously ridiculous to treat your guests like children. The bar staff (with the exception of one or two) was also horrendously rude. Perhaps the Russian majority clientele was preferred. And the lounge was like a bad 70s Love Boat episode- pea green chairs and lounge singers.
It's a shame to spend $600+ a night to feel like unwelcome guests.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steenie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay at the Villa Principe Leopoldo Hotel & Spa.

We appreciate your comments very much, and would like to thank you for the time spent in giving us your valued feedback. It goes without saying, that the service given to you is by far not what our standards request and guests should expect from our property. Your comments have been noted and discussed in our daily briefing with the respective department heads. As immediate action we will implement trainings.

If you wish to give us further details or would like clarifications, please feel free to contact us at your convenience under info@leopoldohotel.com. The management will be more than happy to assist.

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Villa Principe Leopoldo is impressively located above Lugano with a panoramic view of the lake, the mountains and the town. The rooms are big, well equipped and spotlessly clean. The food is of very high quality indeed. The friendliness, professionalism and helpfulness of the staff is among the best I have come across on my numerous travels.
Villa Principe Leopoldo is a very good choice if you want excellent service and top overall quality for your money spent.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onkeljonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and positive review here on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we have been able to fulfill your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you another time at the Villa Principe Leopoldo Hotel & Spa.

Kind regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel is definitely one of those hotels everyone should stay at atleast once in a lifetime. Beautiful, majestic, I could go on and on. Extremely large rooms, very helpful staff, fantastic swimming pools, and the breakfast is amazing! All of these made for a wonderful week. Thoroughly enjoyed having drinks outside overlooking the lake and city. Plan to visit again. Also, have to say that the others staying at the hotel were extremely friendly and it also added to our experience.
Would never stay anywhere else in (or near) Lugano.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest, Dear Scott,

Thank you very much for your kind and positive feedback about your experience. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Villa Principe Leopoldo Hotel & Spa.

We hope to have the honor to welcome you again in the nearest future on the Golden Hill.

Kind regards

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

A very expensive hotel but worth it. It is situated above the town of Lugano, in a residential area. Sweeping views of the mountains and lake, from all around the property. We were upgraded to a "villa" which turned out to be a room in the main building. It was more like a junior suite. Extremely large bedroom area plus a large living area and a private little terrace. Our fruit basket was replenished daily with the ripest summer fruits. Also a sparkling wine bottle and chocolates were in our room on arrival. The breakfast area was an outdoor terrace with views of the pool and the surrounding lake and mountains. Splendid breakfast buffet! (Not included in room rate). The only caveat is that it is sort of out of the way. You need a car to get here. But they offer rides to the town in their mini-bus or Mercedes sedan at no extra cost. Extravagant place for a splurge celebration!

Room Tip: The main building has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corina58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our Property for your stay in Lugano.
We are honoured to read that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Principe Leopoldo Hotel and Spa.
Further we appreciate taking the time for this positive feedback and hope, that you will be our Ambassador also in the future.

Looking forward welcoming you here again.

Best regards

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#5 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.5 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Principe Leopoldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Principe Leopoldo

Property: Villa Principe Leopoldo
Address: via Montalbano 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lugano
#4 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#5 Business Hotel in Lugano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Principe Leopoldo 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated high above the Bay of Lugano this exceptional boutique hotel offers first-class suites and rooms. The tastefully arranged spacious rooms, the terraces with breathtaking views, two heated outdoor pools, tennis courts and a wide range of facilities leave nothing to be desired. Neither does the exquisite Mediterranean cuisine of Dario Ranza, served in the light-flooded restaurants. Jewel of the hotel is Kiso: a heavenly, exclusive Spa offering unadulterated luxury, privacy and exclusive treatments. Nothing else to be desired - a truly royal feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Principe Leopoldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Principe Leopoldo Hotel And Spa
Hotel Principe Leopoldo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing