We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is going to be a good review with, in our opinion, a very big 'but...'.
We spent some time at reception on arrival while the slightly stressed receptionist tried (without success) to sort out a muddle over our restaurant bookings in the hotel. We were then given our key but only shown to our room when we asked where it was. The Residence Park room was large (bedroom, bathoroom, hall and sitting room - more like a two room appartment without kitchen) and well appointed as one might expect from a five star hotel. Our only criticism of the interior would be that the sink was cracked and the bathroom overall would benefit from renovation. We were surprised that the access to the second floor room was via an external covered corridor with high walls and a heavy door leading into the very small courtyard in front of the room. We were disappointed by the views from the windows. From the bedroom it was impossible to see anything but the courtyard wall without craning one's neck for a glimpse of the sky while the sitting room overlooked the car park and entrance drive with some trees behind. The impression, for us, was therefore not of a five star hotel but more of a small (very-well appointed) appartment in an up-market housing project - it lacked soul.
The interior of the Residence's Café Leopoldo restaurant was uninspiring - the impression was of an overlit breakfast room which indeed it was in the morning. It did however have a nice terrace which would be lovely on a summer evening. We didn't eat there (because of the muddle) but were happy not to do so.
The main advantage of the Residence is that it is less expensive (not cheap) than the Villa while allowing access to all the facilities of the excellent Villa. Even so I wouldn't choose to stay in the Residence again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbsuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay with us at the Residence Leopoldo Hotel.

We understand that the Decor and Situation of the Residence is certainly very different to the Villa even more we are glad that you tried all facilities of our Hotel.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure welcoming you again in the summer season, where you could enjoy our outdoor facilities even more. Especially the Residence has a fantastic garden and outdoor Pool.

Kind regards

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 552 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

After spending 6 weeks in Europe in 5 stars hotels we came here. I had been at the Leopoldo 9 years before and had found it to be lovely, but now in 2012 it is a tired property in need of a major overhaul.

The location is fantastic, with great views over lake Lugano, but I wish the rooms were updated and refurbished with the quality of fabrics and details one expects from a 5 star hotel. It is not. Management should look at the decor with a critical eye, and do the needful. Our room could have been stunning, instead the sofas were dirty, the fabrics worn, the rug should be given to charity, and the furniture gone to the dump. What a shame to let this gorgeous place get to dated. The food in the restaurant was mediocre, apart from the appetizer and the service indifferent. Again, with the right management this property could be amazing.
My husband and I decided last night that relais and chateaux endorsement is no longer valid or worse acknowledging for us. In this trip, we stayed in 2 of their properties and both had much in common, tired and dated.
In contrast 4 seasons chain continues to deliver on its promise of lovely properties, with stunning decor and amazing service.
We travel 5 months a year and expect the best when we spend our money.

Overall truly disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sintragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Geschäftsführer at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review and we are honored that you have chosen our Hotel as part of your extended Holiday throughout Europe .

Even more we are sad to read here, that we have not been able to reach your expectations and even more that we did not had a chance to meet personally during your stay to understand your needs and wishes so we could have replied and reacted directly in order to make the most of your stay with us.

Of course we take all comments seriously and will forward this to the relevant departments. As the rooms at the VILLA have been renovated 2 years ago we would not expect this impression about the conditions.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any additional comments you would like to make, it would be my greatest pleasure to see this personally togehter.

Yours faithfully

Reto Stöckenius
VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Villa, situated on a hill, overlooking the lake, is one of the two best places to stay in Lugano.
We have stayed there a number of times, and the rooms and service are outstanding.
Also we have stayed in the Residence which is situated close by, in its own gardens, which has the benefit of a large outdoor swimming pool for the summer. The standard rooms in the Residence are in some ways better laid out than the suites.
In both buildings, breakfast is served as a wonderful and extensive buffet.
The restaurant in the Villa has been one of the finest places to dine in Lugano.
Many years ago some of their signature dishes were unique and outstanding. However, over the past 2 years the quality and execution of these exceptional dishes has declined and is not to the standard which we had become accustomed to expect and anticipate. This is a trend which is found in many previously outstanding restaurants where the dishes seem to have been pre-prepared and frozen and then by some magic technology turned into a meal. Furthermore, the quality of the meat is not what it was previously. Also, properly cooked and presented vegetables seems to be a thing of the past. Despite this, dining there is still a pleasant and unique experience, and some of the staff are really charming and professional.
The wine list is very good with a good selection of Ticino wines, and caters for most tastes.
Apart from the above comments this is a wonderful place to stay in, summer or winter!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expatriate35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying with us again, it is always a pleasure having you as our customer and we highly appreciate that you are sharing your comments and experiences with us as well as with other customers - or potential new guests here on Tripadvisor.

We have passed your comments to our Team- and the service crew around our Maitre is looking forward sharing a glass of our new House wine 2012 with you- prepared from the grapes of the local vineyards.

Yours faithfully


VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The views from Principe Leopoldo were stunning. Overall, a great stay! Loved the location, the rooms were beautiful and the staff was very helpful as we were traveling with a small child! The value was great. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Joanne,

Thank you for your feedback here and it was our pleasure to host you and your family in our Hotel.

We have passed you comments to our employees who always appreciate a positive word and Thank you.

Hopefully we will have the honor to welcome you soon back to Lugano


VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Principe Leopoldo is a great hotel. The service was outstanding, my room was spacious, clean and with incredible views. The food at the restaurant was delicious. I loved staying here. Everyone should have the experience of staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HardToPleaseCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear Guest- Dearest Alisa,

Thank you very much for your Review here on Tripadvisor.
We are honored to read that you have enjoyed your stay here at the VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA and in Lugano so much.

We hope that the readers of your experience are following your advice and visit us as well.
In any case we are looking forward welcoming YOU again very soon!

Best regards


VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Visited the restaurant at the Villa Principe Leopoldo and tried the degustation menu CHF 140 and was speechless for the quality, execution, presentation and taste of every single dish this without head chef Ranza but lead by his young sous-chef Marco.
Service from Mr Speziale was classy, not intrusive and extremely attentive
Highly recommendable for foodies since in Lugano you can hardly find somewhere that can match that.
The view both for the aperitif and the dinner are stunning. A definite stop for a romantic dinner or for friends outing that enjoy the finer things in life. Hightly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lucabkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your evening and your dinner.

A special Thank you also from our Service crew and kitchen who highly appreciate your kind words.

We all hope to welcome you soon again!

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Huge room with separate baths for him and her was the first thing I noticed as I opened the heavy and substantial entrance door. Beige Italian marble everywhere. It was a quoted as a "superior room" but cost only euro 300 using Relais & Chateau vouchers and was the size of a junior. All in grand 1970 Swiss style . Paino bar at sunset a must! Breath taking view of lac Lugano. dinner was good but expensive as are all Swiss restaurants everywhere.

Room Tip: Call Relais and chateau to book thru them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vonriesmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review and we are glad to read that you enjoyed our upgrade to a Junior Suite in the Main and historical Villa.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed all our facilities and that your visit to Switzerland has fulfilled your expectation.

Hopefully you also had a pleasant and safe journey back home!
Sending you very best regards and a little of Swiss sunshine

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lugano
1.4 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 44 in Lugano
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.7 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#4 of 44 in Lugano
172 reviews
3 mi away
Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Principe Leopoldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Principe Leopoldo

Address: via Montalbano 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lugano
#4 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#5 Business Hotel in Lugano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: $291 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Principe Leopoldo 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated high above the Bay of Lugano this exceptional boutique hotel offers first-class suites and rooms. The tastefully arranged spacious rooms, the terraces with breathtaking views, two heated outdoor pools, tennis courts and a wide range of facilities leave nothing to be desired. Neither does the exquisite Mediterranean cuisine of Dario Ranza, served in the light-flooded restaurants. Jewel of the hotel is Kiso: a heavenly, exclusive Spa offering unadulterated luxury, privacy and exclusive treatments. Nothing else to be desired - a truly royal feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Principe Leopoldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Principe Leopoldo Hotel And Spa
Hotel Principe Leopoldo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing