We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good stay in Lugano” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Lugano Paradiso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    223
    47
    18
    11
See reviews for
186
133
12
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beringen, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

The infrastructure is very accommodating and modern. New building, beautiful bathroom, etc
When we booked we requested a child bed for our 5 month old daughter. When we arrived in the room a sofa bed was made up for her. So I requested the reception for baby bed as this is safer and customary. So far no problem....
When the gentlemen from the reception delivered the baby bed to the room, he was very unhelpful. Basically trying to dump the baby bed in the doorway and leave as quickly as possible.
Due to the fact that the sofa bed was opened there was no not enough space in the room to accommodate the baby bed. So I asked if it was possible to remove the bedding and fold close the sofa bed. The one minute task took more moaning and sighs than imaginable, as if I was on the set of Fawlty Towers... We felt very unwelcome after a long day of traveling and personally insulted. We very politely and humbly requested a very simple service....

We fully appreciate Lugano is an expensive city. Nevertheless when the total bill for a room and two breakfasts totals 250 euro, breakfast can not be disappointing! The breakfast room is designed for swift in and out service and not cosy enough for that extra cup of coffee in the morning. The quality of the food was below average. We could not undue ourselves of the impression that the products were of very low quality: cold cuts, warm sausages etc. Even the pancakes were tasteless and moreover were only baked on one side. How disappointing can it be?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 223Bert_1981_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Manager at Novotel Lugano Paradiso, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Lugano Paradiso. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We are glad that the infrastructures; the rooms and the building meet your expectation and be insure that our main goal is to provide the best service for all our guest day by day.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Looking forward to welcome you soon again we remain with
Kind regards
Christian Schreiner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stay 2 weeks in this hotel, I have 4 days to go and I am counting down the days.
Reception staff have not been helpful, there was overall an attitude of distrust, and there were constantly annoying small problems, eg. the parking ticket got cancelled, the access to my room was barred because the travel agency of my company had not yet confirmed the extension of my stay, i had to check out for one night because of a work travel and even though I had been promised I could leave my things in the room I was told the night before at midnight that I had to pack anyway even though the hotel is far from being full, etc. on top of that the evening food was so bad that I stopped having dinner at the hotel. Breakfast is fine though.
Staff are very stiff and not genuinely friendly.
I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henridevos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Manager at Novotel Lugano Paradiso, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Mr. Henridevo
we thank you for taking the time to post this comment. We are sorry to read that your stay in our hotel was not as satisfying as you expect. We never relent in our quest to excellence and we shall review the issues you depicted so to better ourselves even more. rooms. We hope nevertheless to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon.
Kind regards
Christian Schreiner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uster, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I organized a business conference at Novotel Lugano Paradiso. While the facilities are great, the personnell is very friendly and professional, service is very good, location is good, and basically everything was a success, after the conference, all our customers started receiving unsolicited commercial email from Accor group (which owns Novotel). Apparently, Novotel or their headquarters has added all the participants to a bonus programme and newsletters without opt-in (which is required according to Swiss law, specifically UWG Art. 3 Abs. 1 lit o). In fact, neither the customers themselves upon checkin, nor the conference organizers, had handed the hotel any email addresses; they seem to have actually googled all the addresses (which is easy for academic sector customers). We asked the hotel to revert these actions and remove all our customers again, which they confirmed that they did, however, weeks after the event, we still have customers complaining about Accor mailings and that the opt-out offered in the emails doesn't work. Apparently, Accor does not care at all about customer data protection - one reason for me not to choose Accor hotels (Novotel, Sofitel, ibis etc) as event location ever again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Manager at Novotel Lugano Paradiso, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest Droethli,

thank you for taking time to give us your feed-back about your stay with us.
We appreciate very much your positive comments about the Hotel facilities and the personal and be assured that we will share it with our Team. As you know positive feedback from satisfied guests are our greatest reward for that thank you very much. Regarding to the newsletter we apologies this issue and be sure that we have done all to take out your email adresse of our system. Do not hesitate to contact us directly if there are still problems with it. We hope nevertheless to have again, soon, the pleasure of welcoming you.
Kind regards
Christian Schreiner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

My family stayed at this property approximately 2 weeks ago when we toured with Globus. It was one of our favorite places on the trip. It was clean, modern, air conditioning worked fairly well in one of the worst heat spells in a long time. (upper 90's), pool was clean and warm, and breakfast buffet was plentiful and nicely arranged.

It is also about 2 blocks to Lake Lugano and there are tons of restaurants around there. We found a little pizza place and my teenaged son watched all of the Ferraris and Lamborghini's drive by. This cute little town has some serious money. Too bad it is so expensive. A small bottled water from the front desk was 7 swiss francs. Seriously.

Room Tip: Any room is fine. Since you cannot see Lake Lugano from the windows, all are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaystosagirl1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRoland, Manager at Novotel Lugano Paradiso, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear "alwaystosagirl1983"

thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay in our Novotel Lugano.
We are very glad that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Regarding your comment of the bottled water we have to inform you, that in every guest room we provide complimentary 2 bottles of mineral water every day. In our Hotelbar we sell bottled Mineralwater for CHF 4.50.

Christian ROLAND
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Traveling a two week group tour with two grand daughters meant this hotel with pool was extremely welcome! They were able to burn up some of their energy. Not to mention they were entertained by the disappearing and reappearing bathroom walls....... We loved the modern terrace around the pool. The hotel was in easy walking distance of the lake and restaurants so found the location to be very good.
Breakfast was the usual buffet breakfast so was enjoyable but not outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debracake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRoland, Manager at Novotel Lugano Paradiso, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear "debracake",

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
We appreciate you enjoyed your stay with us and felt so comfortable.

Looking forward to welcome you again in our Novotel Lugano-Paradiso.

Christian ROLAND
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#8 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
1.5 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.8 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Lugano Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lugano Paradiso

Property: Novotel Lugano Paradiso
Address: via San Salvatore 11, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lugano Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Lugano Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing