We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“You need an indulgance every once in a while” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Splendide Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You need an indulgance every once in a while”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

In August this hotel is extremely expensive. In August, when a heatwave is crushing europe, this hotel has air conditioning, a floating platform on Lake Lugano courtesty of its partner Hotel Eden, and a swimming pool protected from the blazing sun .
The floating platform has a bar, restaruant service and the most cozy deck chairs I have ever had the pleasure to read and sleep on....with a view of Monte Bre to boot!
The Spledide staff were amazing...we were often greeted by name, given helpful information and service. Our room, and the rest of the hotel, was very plushly decorated. We had fabric on the walls with batting behind it, which made for a soft an quiet room. This is probably standard in lux hotels, but we stay in lux hotels so infrequently that I thought it worth mentioning. We indulged further and got a room with balcony on the lake--- this was well worth it, we even enjoyed a dinner of bread, cheese and wine cozied up next to that romantic view. Not far from the hotel is the trailhead to San Salvatore...the hotel staff thought me a bit wacky to want to hike it instead of taking the rail...but it was great excercise (I took the rail down.)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaSummer2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, September 23, 2009
Thank you much for writing such a nice comment on our hotels in Lugano.
We appreciate that you noted that all our rooms offer air conditioning, and we are glad to read that you could enjoy our some of our home made bread during the dinner on the balcony of your hotel room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    110
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
72
211
18
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2009

While the room was nothing special, it had everything we needed plus a wonderful balcony overlooking the lake (new section).

Staff are phenominal and couldn't do enought, especially those in the Restaurant.

Expensive internet access.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 713BizTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2009

Probably the sixth time I have stayed at this hotel and each stay is as impressive as the last. Doorman, front desk, bar and restaurant staff are great in every area, generally speak at least 4 languages and can not fault them. Location superb on the lake and picture perfect 10 minutes walk into the town centre. Rooms in the new part of the hotel are the perfect size and the shutters make for a blissful Saturday morning sleep in.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaribbeanDakman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

Beautifully situated along the promenade across from the lake, you have a choice between the late 19th Cent original hotel or the new wing but both are decorated in a formal, 19th Century style and share a sumptuous lobby and elegant restaurants and breakfast room with outdoor terrace; within easy walking distance of "town"......about ten to fifteen minutes to the shops and restaurants in the center; about five seconds to the boat dock on the Lake for lake tours; hotel has free internet service in the lobby, free breakfast buffet (a very good one); staff is very thoughtful and helpful.....one of the first times a concierge has taken us up to our room to "approve" it on check in.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol L. W.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
705 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 636 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2008

Having hesitated between staying here and Villa Castagnola, I settled for the Splendide Royal (mainly because Villa Castagnola costs about twice the price).

Make sure you book a room in the old wing, as those in the new wing will lack much of the character. Low and shoulder season prices average around USD 300 per night, which is acceptable for Europe.

The rooms are massive and very tastefully decorated as a grand hotel should be. The bathroom was almost as big as the room itself. Service was faultless and we thought this was the perfect setting for a romantic getaway.

As mentioned by another reviewer, the pay parking arrangement is a rip-off, but there's a couple of cheaper parking options a short walk away. The hotel is also a short stroll to the restaurant and shopping area.

  • Liked — Opulent rooms.
  • Disliked — Parking.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rafkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
174 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2008

The Splendide Royal is located lakefront, and a short drive from downtown. The traffic in front of the hotel can get hectic during rush hours, but calms down quickly after dark. The room I stayed in was located on the first floor, with a large terrace overlooking the lake. The room is huge by European or American standard, and the murals and chandeliers were impressive. The hotel does charge for parking (although Lugano is not big enough in my opinion to warrant pay-parking). The restaurant was rather empty on the night that I dined, and the prices were rather on the high side, but the service was faultless. For those who love looking at lakes and mountains, this hotel is recommendable. Also, the Foxtown shopping outlet is only a mere 15 minute drive

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enjoys_Relaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

We are frequent travelers to top hotels. So if you are looking for a great hotel in or near Lugano, where the service is great and where you will be treated like a guest, well this is it. Their
concierge "Guiuseppe" so very helpful and he helped us to enjoy our time there. He even got our car washed. Get a room overlooking the lake where you can just sit in the evening and enjoy the view or go to their first class restaurant for some great food. This hotel has a terrifc location too, near both the shopping district and the old town where you can enjoy a nice lunch at one of the cafes. And this hotel is not so large that you get lost or small that you feel hemmed in. It is filled with a nice European decor that makes you feel special.

  • Liked — The service and hospitality, and the view.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank eaglealan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.7 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.3 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#10 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.2 mi away
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Property: Hotel Splendide Royal
Address: riva Antonio Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lugano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#2 Business Hotel in Lugano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#4 Green Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed inside an iconic Belle Epoque palace, the Splendide Royal is a refined hotel with a familiar atmosphere where 19th Century's grace blends with international contemporary flair. A state-of-the-art personilized service is provided by well trained and skilled staff, who quietly ensures the guests a pampering of local experience, through courtesy, dedication and attention to detail. Its tradition of hospitality, attentions and fine dining is valued by royal families, celebrities and famous artists since its opening in 1887. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel
Splendide Royal Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing