We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“It only takes one narky Maitre d to spoil your stay...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Splendide Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It only takes one narky Maitre d to spoil your stay...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for five nights. There was a lot about this hotel that was excellent. The hotel is situated in a good location in Lugarno and is close to everything. Our room was a reasonable size with excellent views and was reasonably well appointed and clean. The hotel staff on the main were very friendly and quick to service.

On one night we ate at the hotel restaurant. We had booked the day before. The restaurant is in a large room extending out to a glassed portico separated from the room by large columns. Seating is arranged through out the room and into the portico area. Some seating takes advantage of the views, some are more private and intimate. Only one or two are awkward and badly placed.

We didn't realise when we arrived that we were required to wait outside the room to be seated having missed the small sign requesting us to do so. The Maitre d seemed to instantly take a dislike to us and gruffly led us back outside the restaurant door and into the corridor to wait. When he finally seated us he chose the worst table in the room when other tables where clearly empty. His manner and attitude were gruff and unpleasant whenever he served us and he seemed condescending and rude. We did not complain at the time because we felt so angry and didn't want to be reactive. So instead we left our mains and asked that our desert and wine be sent to our room and had to call down forty minutes later when they had still not arrived.

It only takes one person to ruin someone's stay and although the Maitre d really only ruined one evening, he diminished our view of the hotel generally.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    109
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
72
210
18
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This classic style hotel, on the shores of Lake Lugano, has friendly staff, good service and a beautiful ground floor layout, with high ceilings and large windows overlooking the lake. I stayed for 3 nights in the "new" part of the hotel (on the left as you enter the reception) which is not a very nice looking concrete addition to the original building, but the room and balcony were good. The breakfast is good - the waiter (Fabricio?) is hilarious and his cheeky conversation a great way to start the day. The only drawback is the gym which has one elliptical and one treadmill, at the end of a corridor on the 1st floor.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripCase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed here a couple of years ago, so this is a late review. However I must say it has fantastic concierge service, beautiful views from the lake and very close to great party places. The hotel has a nice feeling of ancient grandeur. Decoration is simple but elegant. Room service is fab. Definitely a must when in Lugano.

Room Tip: Make sure to choose a room with lake view. It is breathtaking to see the alps in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I spent only one night at the Splendide Royal for business and I really enjoyed my short stay there.
First, the hotel is very well located, with a superb view over the lake.
Staff is really helpful, knowledgeable and very welcoming.
Finally, I highly recommend the breakfast there which offers a lot of choices, fresh orange juices, excellent pastries, etc.
In fact, I would not look into booking another hotel next time I am going to Lugano !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

the location was super.

the front desk staff was very warm and even upgraded us to a lake view room.

the concierge was very helpful and guided us to the best places.

had one of the better elaborated b'fast spread.

Room Tip: please ask for lake view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardikgudhka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to make a spontaneous trip for my birhtday! So we drove to Lugano and saw the beautiful hotel Splendide and were in awe! We did not have a reservation and just entered and asked if there were any rooms, the receptionist was very friendly and even gave us a beautiful room with view on the lake with a balcony for a lower rate as usual!
The rooms are just beyond beautiful! Cleaniness seems to be an imparative! They have the best welcome chocolates and pralines I ever had from Läderach! And don't let me get started from the marble bathroom with amazing shower gels, shampoos and conditioners from Etro!
The restaurant serves amazing food! I had duck! Amd again I must say it was probably the best duck I have ever tasted! Even the breakfast was heavenly!
The hotel's location is also perfect, as I said with a beautiful view on the lake and there are boutiques and shops in near proximity aswell!!

I highly recommend this hotel for couples who want to have a special romantic experience!

Room Tip: I recommend to ask for a room with balcony and view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

The hotel is wonderfully located, right on the lake side. I had a room in the 'old' building without a lake view, which was a shame, but the room was large, well-furnished and very comfortable. Staff were without exception friendly and helpful. Breakfast was an excellent buffet, but as in so many places, the staff appear not to know that boiling water is required to make a proper cup of tea - bringing a pot of no longer boiling water and then going off to get a tea bag just wastes good quality tea. Bar prices were also very high.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy1w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.7 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.3 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#10 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
1.2 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Property: Hotel Splendide Royal
Address: riva Antonio Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lugano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#2 Family Hotel in Lugano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#4 Green Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed inside an iconic Belle Epoque palace, the Splendide Royal is a refined hotel with a familiar atmosphere where 19th Century's grace blends with international contemporary flair. A state-of-the-art personilized service is provided by well trained and skilled staff, who quietly ensures the guests a pampering of local experience, through courtesy, dedication and attention to detail. Its tradition of hospitality, attentions and fine dining is valued by royal families, celebrities and famous artists since its opening in 1887. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel
Splendide Royal Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing