We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel and Delicious Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to make a spontaneous trip for my birhtday! So we drove to Lugano and saw the beautiful hotel Splendide and were in awe! We did not have a reservation and just entered and asked if there were any rooms, the receptionist was very friendly and even gave us a beautiful room with view on the lake with a balcony for a lower rate as usual!
The rooms are just beyond beautiful! Cleaniness seems to be an imparative! They have the best welcome chocolates and pralines I ever had from Läderach! And don't let me get started from the marble bathroom with amazing shower gels, shampoos and conditioners from Etro!
The restaurant serves amazing food! I had duck! Amd again I must say it was probably the best duck I have ever tasted! Even the breakfast was heavenly!
The hotel's location is also perfect, as I said with a beautiful view on the lake and there are boutiques and shops in near proximity aswell!!

I highly recommend this hotel for couples who want to have a special romantic experience!

Room Tip: I recommend to ask for a room with balcony and view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 607 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

The hotel is wonderfully located, right on the lake side. I had a room in the 'old' building without a lake view, which was a shame, but the room was large, well-furnished and very comfortable. Staff were without exception friendly and helpful. Breakfast was an excellent buffet, but as in so many places, the staff appear not to know that boiling water is required to make a proper cup of tea - bringing a pot of no longer boiling water and then going off to get a tea bag just wastes good quality tea. Bar prices were also very high.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy1w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is one of the best I've ever been to, Perfect location and view for rooms overlooking the lake.
Excellent breakfast, staff are perfect and so nice.
Parking is great and the valet guys are really helpful.
Clean big rooms , bathroom so comfy.
Balcony is a must in such location and view.
except for the internet everything was perfect, in the room internet wasn't good at all.
Room service charges are really high, Tea is for SFC 8 .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzi50179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel enjoys an enviable lakefront location with stunning views of the Como lake and area.
The website is a bit misleading as it only shows the original building and my expectations were to be staying in a restored turn of the twentieth century building and was booked into an annex build in 1977.
The room was comfortable and well appointed and the public areas - mostly in the old building were well maintained and preserved.
The service was prompt and efficient and everything worked including wifi. The breakfast buffet was extensive but it bugs me to pay top rates with breakfast included, when you have to pay 12 Euros for two boiled eggs.
All in all good quality......

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer section are probably more up to date - but the old section seems to be a cla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewaldbiemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Hi,
I stayed for 3 nights with my 3 years old, we had a traditional room , absolutely gorgeous 412, big, spacious with old world furniture and very clean!
The beds are a bit to hard to my taste but manageable .
Personnel it's very very friendly and helpful.
Location it's central we could walk and take the touristic train .
Turn down service it's like a swis clock -:)! Happens at the same time every day, and it really happens every day.
If back to Lugano I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmen274887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is at an amazing location overlooking the lake and very centrally located. The newly restored rooms and very well appointed. The problem was with air conditioning. The heating was on when temperature outside was 18*c - had to keep the windows open , Mosquitos had a feast on us. Breakfast restaurant staff is worst ever seen. Absolutely non professional with a 3* training. Had not courtesy to remove stuff when 6 tables were having their meal. Be careful they charge for parking which they don't mention when booking/ check in. No concierge or any person at help desk post 10pm for any info. Doesn't deserve to be a part of LHW. Toilets are very comfortable and well appointed.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank PradipSKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Not only a lovely and comfortable hotel, the staff goes above and beyond. Rafael, the concierge, was instrumental in getting my lost watch back to me in an effortless and timely manner. It's not often you find that kind of service. I would recommend this property to anyone who wanted to have a beautiful view of the lake and a wonderful staff to depend on.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Sjaenrdryy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.7 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 45 in Lugano
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.6 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#5 of 45 in Lugano
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: riva Antonio Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lugano
#2 Family Hotel in Lugano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#4 Green Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: $329 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed inside an iconic Belle Epoque palace, the Splendide Royal is a refined hotel with a familiar atmosphere where 19th Century's grace blends with international contemporary flair. A state-of-the-art personilized service is provided by well trained and skilled staff, who quietly ensures the guests a pampering of local experience, through courtesy, dedication and attention to detail. Its tradition of hospitality, attentions and fine dining is valued by royal families, celebrities and famous artists since its opening in 1887. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel
Splendide Royal Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing