We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feel Italian” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Splendide Royal

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Feel Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a negresco style brand new decorated hotel, the rooms have quite high ceilings and is very fresh. The lake view in each room will stun you. The room service is excellent and the staff is very friendly, the hotel is located just at the corner of the main street of Lugano where all the shops restaurants are situated, it is in the center yet holds a perfectly quite location.

Room Tip: Take a Junior Suite for utmost comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourist-LHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    115
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
79
224
21
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is probably the best place to stay while in Lugano, we took a classic deluxe room in the original building which is much nicer than the new building
Our room was huge with high ceiling and very chic antique furniture, every thing was perfect but the best thing was our massive balcony which had the best view in Lugano and it is a pleasure to just stay and may be have breakfast too.
They have free Wifi, and lots of perks available in the room
The staff treated us like royalty from the time they picked us up from the airport till they transported us to the railway station all complimentary
The only comment is that it takes a 15 min walk to get to the shopping streets but it is a very nice walk along the promenade.

Room Tip: Take a room in the old section, best a classic deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smshol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens, ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

What a totally lovely hotel. From being picked up at the train station until we left 3 days later everything could not have been more perfect. We were celebrating a big anniversary and were greeted in our room with a cake, bottle of champagne and fruit. We were in the older part which is more glamorous. This is a very expensive hotel with stunning views along Lake Lugano and excellent service in every way. Glorious views and Lugano is so charming.

Room Tip: I prefer the old part and make sure you haved a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luckylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
632 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Grand old hotel with perhaps a litle faded glory, but the warm gracious old world service and beautifully furnished rooms easily compensate. Probably your very best bet in Lugano, with an excellent location right across the street from Lago di Lugano. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waterloonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crans-sur-Sierre, Valais, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Simply perfect, large rooms with amazing view on the lake from the balcony, nice staff friendly, always smiling, nothing wrong to say. If i Had only one point to change in the hotel would be the gym who's so small but there is the lake side where you can run so no big deal!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We're just back from our trip to Switzerland, we stayed at Splendide Royal for 4 nights and we had a wonderful time. The rooms are super clean and beautifully appointed, with amazing view of the lake, city and mountains, the staff is helpful and extremely friendly, and the breakfast buffet has a large variety of tasty items to choose from (even our picky 3 year old was more than satisfied with the choice of food...).
It is definetly the best choice for a 5* holiday in Lugano, and the location couldn't get any better, within a 5 min walk along the beautiful lake shore you reach the most fashionable shopping street in Lugano. Just perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RZan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We enjoyed every minute of our stay at this Hotel. We were picked up at the train station by Claudio from the Hotel. Our suite was large and our view of Lake Lugano and the mountains from our room was spectacular. The staff left tasty delectables with fruit in our room daily. The hotel is spotless and the rooms are very clean with comfortable beds. The staff members were all outstanding, helpful and quite amazing which we find a makes a huge difference in a hotel stay. The staff at Breakfast were very kind and pleasant and always greeted us with a smile. The food at Breakfast was delicious and there was a wide selection of options. We enjoyed the hotel location and the great walking path across the street and the closeness of the shopping area and restaurants. In leaving the hotel we were warmly greeted a good return trip home and taken by Claudio from the hotel back to the train station.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LHW108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.7 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.3 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#5 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Property: Hotel Splendide Royal
Address: riva Antonio Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lugano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#2 Family Hotel in Lugano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#4 Green Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed inside an iconic Belle Epoque palace, the Splendide Royal is a refined hotel with a familiar atmosphere where 19th Century's grace blends with international contemporary flair. A state-of-the-art personilized service is provided by well trained and skilled staff, who quietly ensures the guests a pampering of local experience, through courtesy, dedication and attention to detail. Its tradition of hospitality, attentions and fine dining is valued by royal families, celebrities and famous artists since its opening in 1887. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel
Splendide Royal Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing