We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Value for money with a Swimming pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Delfino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Delfino
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Value for money with a Swimming pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night, and had booked 2 triple rooms. Rooms were neat and clean, as well as spacious. Swimming pool was excellent. They also provide breakfast , which is ok types.
Very near from Lugano Train Station , 3rd stop from the station. Lugano Lake is at 10 minutes walking distance from the hotel, and its beautiful. Monte Solaro is 2 minutes away from the hotel.

Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RajArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    89
    26
    5
    1
See reviews for
32
80
10
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Delfino is a little way out from the city centre, towards Paradiso, but still easily walkable. The hotel staff, from reception to bar staff and cleaners, were all friendly and helpful. I thought the furnishing overall was pretty good for the price, and there is a large bar area leading out to the pool and terrace, which is nice on a sunny day. The pool is well maintained and has shower/changing facilities. The rooms are quite small, reasonably furnished and a decent bathroom, although we did not like the sliding door arrangement. The walls seem to be quite thin as there was some noise from the adjoining room (not the occupants fault - just normal moving around). We would certainly go back to this hotel again for a 1-2 night break.

Room Tip: The hotel backs on to the main railway line so rooms ending "14", which are at the far end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aintynice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langenthal, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel Delfino is quite close to the lake of Lugano (walking distance) but has as well an own quite big pool. Ideal for vacation as well as for meeting in larger groups. Free WiFi on the room. Parking garage (with an OK price). Sat afternoon to Sunday free parking in the blue zone next to it. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fly_rainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

If you love worn, 30 year old furniture so you will find in this hotel your bliss.
Beside the not very recent furniture my room was not only very, very small but it also strongly smelled of mould / dampness. According to the reception staff all rooms smell like this ...
The only bright spot was the recently renovated bathroom (with shower nozzles which need a decalcification).
Breakfast was basic but nice and the outside pool looked nice too. I didn't experience dinner in this hotel because when I came down at 7 PM there were only two tables occupied and on all the other tables had a "reserved" sign. When I asked the waiter for a nice table he told me that there was no more place available. In my humble opinion there is something wrong in the system if a waiter in an empty restaurant refuses customers. Maybe some management presence in the restaurant could help to avoid such unpleasant experiences and increase revenue.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob65_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoiry, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I'm twice a month in Lugano for my job and always at Delfino. I must say that I never had a single reason to complain. Delfino provides a constant quality and I appreciate that very much. The room is clean and comfortable and the people there are just perfect. Ideally located, close to lake and train station.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seon, Aargau, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had three great days @ the Delfino's. Specially the meal in the evening with very attentive personnel we enjoyed much. The room was clean with enough spaces even for some working. The hotel is good situated, few steps to the lake and nearby the motorway into Lugano.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jaschek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

1.great location hop on bus number 2 from Lugano Main train station,5 minutes get off at stop Santa Brigitta,5 steps onto the steps of Delfino.
2.Hotel reception ( staff Mariame)prepares all tourist info,offer of free local transport voucher
3.restaurant &bar& swimming pool with proud & kept gardens& good breakfast & fast wireless affordable access.
4.Easy travel Lugano centre, use bus number 2 or 4 back to Lugano train station in 5 mins, hop on the funicular , in 3 mins in city centre.
5.Designer Shoppers!!!! Great train travel 20 mins to Fox town Outlet at Menderiso, All brands Great prices .DONT have to go to MILAN, tax claim straight there as well, Magnifique, loved it.City centre lots of great dining& coffee.
6.cruise lake Lugano , great way to see off lake towns.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manjula s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.8 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.7 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 596 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
0.2 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#14 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#7 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Delfino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delfino

Property: Hotel Delfino
Address: via Cassarinetta 6, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Delfino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delfino is close to lakeshore and next to the center. The owner family is managing the hotel since almost 30 years with their individual style. All rooms dispose of balcony and all comforts, like AC, Flat Screen-TV and W-Lan. During the summer season, make the most of the heated outdoor swimming pool and its relaxing, fully furnished, surroundings.Our Restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine with fresh products an typical regional dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Delfino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfino Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing