We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra 5 CHF for internet is not 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Delfino Lugano
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2012

It's like having to pay extra for having an telephone or tv in my room. Another way to collect money from the guests.

Room is quite ok, but it smells in there. I guess it's because of the old carpeting on the floor which has seen it's better days.

Mr. Payne's Mattress-check is again ruthless and unforgiven: THE MATTRESSES are too hard!
After a week I spend in Delfino I had to visit my chiropractic to get my back in shape again. I can only recommend for someone very heavy, or to the one who sleeps on the stomach.

Another ridiculous thing: In the hotel-book is written that keeping own foodstuff in the hotel fridge/minibar is forbidden, and that the guests could be charged extra for that. Hey; what am I paying for? What is good in minibar is that one drink (costs 4 chf) is offered you free of charge.

Breakfast is ok, nothing extra but basic swiss brekfast. Mr. Payne was though missing his eggs and bacon. Also tea served was just "black tea" without possibility to choose from different varieties.

There's nothing in Delfino what would lift it above the other 3-stars in Lugano.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrPayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 251 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2012

..but lousy restaurant. Add-on charges. Poor Internet (extra 5,00) connection.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VidaLocaRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay. Lovely walk to the city center and lake. Our room had a gorgeous view of the lake and mountains, was quiet enough that even at night we could leave the door to our patio open for the wonderful air.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and get a room on an upper floor with a view of the lake. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve41130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Overall, we really enjoyed the Delfino. Very helpful staff. Good breakfast included, however, it is the same every day. The dining room was surprisingly good and reasonably priced by Swiss standards and was very quiet, only one other table served the night we were there. Rooms are small but comfortable and efficiently cleaned. We got a 3 nights for the price of 2 by staying over a Sunday night (i.e. 360 CHF for 3 nights). Great restaurants a very short drive away on the way up San Salvatore. Try the Grotto Morchino, or the Oesteria Calprino for Polenta (no English spoken, and like walking into an Italian Mama's kitchen) each about 200 CHF for 4.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The hotel is comfortable, but the decor - like so many places in this lovely country - looks like something from the 1970s. The room was small but comfortable. The hotel is located about fifteen minutes walk from the main part of town. At the moment, eating out in Switzerland is breathtakingly expensive. We had nice pizzas in the town, and they cost at least double what you'd pay in London.
The room was slightly stuffy during the night, but had a huge window out to a small balcony so we could fiddle around with that to get a breeze.
There is a small train line behind the hotel, but you can't hear it inside the building.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garreth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights back in May of 2012 and this hotel was absolutely perfect! The rooms were anything super fancy/flashy but that's not something I desired. The bed was comfortable, rooms were clean and well taken care of, and the bathrooms were quite spacious. The best part of the room though was the balcony. Wake up and seeing the view from the room every day was a great way to start off the day! The staff was very polite and willing to help at any time and the food was superb all 3 days of my stay. If you looking for a hotel with 5 star service but only a 3 star price, Hotel Delfino is the obvious choice when staying in Lugano!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srcargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We quite enjoyed staying here for one night & while the hotel is not particularly fancy, it was affordable by Swiss standards (many of the other hotels we looked at were much more expensive!) The hotel is not particularly large or new but has small, neat, clean rooms (nothing fancy) & I think some of the rooms must have a nice view, although ours didn't but that was fine.

We really enjoyed the pool & pool area and were pleased to be served by a waiter by the pool for drinks. I wished we had of eaten at the restaurant there for dinner, as although it wasn't cheap, I think it had to be better than the crappy, also expensive touristy restaurants in the centre which i was very disappointed with. The hotel is located about 10 mins walking distance from the centre in a quiet area.

The staff were fine, fairly quiet but the reception was open 24 hours I think, which was good when you came home late and they were also helpful with directions. The hotel is also walking distance to Monte San Salvatore (a cable car?) which goes up the nearby mountain & is well worth a visit. We also appreciated the underground parking at the hotel.

Room Tip: As for a room on a high floor facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRSyd51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#16 of 45 in Lugano
493 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.4 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#13 of 45 in Lugano
530 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#5 of 45 in Lugano
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Delfino Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delfino Lugano

Address: via Cassarinetta 6, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range: $114 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Delfino Lugano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delfino is close to lakeshore and next to the center. The owner family is managing the hotel since almost 30 years with their individual style. All rooms dispose of balcony and all comforts, like AC, Flat Screen-TV and W-Lan. During the summer season, make the most of the heated outdoor swimming pool and its relaxing, fully furnished, surroundings.Our Restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine with fresh products an typical regional dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Delfino Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfino Hotel Lugano
Hotel Delfino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing