We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in all ways.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Delfino Lugano
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent in all ways.”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay. Lovely walk to the city center and lake. Our room had a gorgeous view of the lake and mountains, was quiet enough that even at night we could leave the door to our patio open for the wonderful air.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and get a room on an upper floor with a view of the lake. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve41130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    108
    32
    5
    1
See reviews for
38
98
11
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nyon, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Overall, we really enjoyed the Delfino. Very helpful staff. Good breakfast included, however, it is the same every day. The dining room was surprisingly good and reasonably priced by Swiss standards and was very quiet, only one other table served the night we were there. Rooms are small but comfortable and efficiently cleaned. We got a 3 nights for the price of 2 by staying over a Sunday night (i.e. 360 CHF for 3 nights). Great restaurants a very short drive away on the way up San Salvatore. Try the Grotto Morchino, or the Oesteria Calprino for Polenta (no English spoken, and like walking into an Italian Mama's kitchen) each about 200 CHF for 4.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The hotel is comfortable, but the decor - like so many places in this lovely country - looks like something from the 1970s. The room was small but comfortable. The hotel is located about fifteen minutes walk from the main part of town. At the moment, eating out in Switzerland is breathtakingly expensive. We had nice pizzas in the town, and they cost at least double what you'd pay in London.
The room was slightly stuffy during the night, but had a huge window out to a small balcony so we could fiddle around with that to get a breeze.
There is a small train line behind the hotel, but you can't hear it inside the building.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garreth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights back in May of 2012 and this hotel was absolutely perfect! The rooms were anything super fancy/flashy but that's not something I desired. The bed was comfortable, rooms were clean and well taken care of, and the bathrooms were quite spacious. The best part of the room though was the balcony. Wake up and seeing the view from the room every day was a great way to start off the day! The staff was very polite and willing to help at any time and the food was superb all 3 days of my stay. If you looking for a hotel with 5 star service but only a 3 star price, Hotel Delfino is the obvious choice when staying in Lugano!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srcargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We quite enjoyed staying here for one night & while the hotel is not particularly fancy, it was affordable by Swiss standards (many of the other hotels we looked at were much more expensive!) The hotel is not particularly large or new but has small, neat, clean rooms (nothing fancy) & I think some of the rooms must have a nice view, although ours didn't but that was fine.

We really enjoyed the pool & pool area and were pleased to be served by a waiter by the pool for drinks. I wished we had of eaten at the restaurant there for dinner, as although it wasn't cheap, I think it had to be better than the crappy, also expensive touristy restaurants in the centre which i was very disappointed with. The hotel is located about 10 mins walking distance from the centre in a quiet area.

The staff were fine, fairly quiet but the reception was open 24 hours I think, which was good when you came home late and they were also helpful with directions. The hotel is also walking distance to Monte San Salvatore (a cable car?) which goes up the nearby mountain & is well worth a visit. We also appreciated the underground parking at the hotel.

Room Tip: As for a room on a high floor facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRSyd51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We are just back from a long week end in Lugano and we enjoyed the Delfino very much. Not only the hotel is very clean, well located and has a fantastic swimming pool but the food is great and the staff extremely attentive and helpful.
Everything works as it should and the personnel just does the extra mile to please you.
It is 10mn by foot from the lake.
The only down side is the noise as the railway is just behind the hotel.
We will go back to Lugano and the Delfino as we really enjoyed our stay there

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The hotel is located in a quite area of Lugano, walking duistance from the centre. the staff is very friendly and helpful. Bedrooms are confortable and functional without being too fancy. Great opportunity to enjoy the swimmingpool if you do not wish to walk till the lake :-)

Room Tip: Ask for room on with view on the lake !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REGR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.3 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.8 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#13 of 45 in Lugano
351 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Delfino Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delfino Lugano

Property: Hotel Delfino Lugano
Address: via Cassarinetta 6, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Delfino Lugano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delfino is close to lakeshore and next to the center. The owner family is managing the hotel since almost 30 years with their individual style. All rooms dispose of balcony and all comforts, like AC, Flat Screen-TV and W-Lan. During the summer season, make the most of the heated outdoor swimming pool and its relaxing, fully furnished, surroundings.Our Restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine with fresh products an typical regional dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Delfino Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfino Hotel Lugano
Hotel Delfino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing