We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent hotel; a 3* with a 5* service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Delfino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Delfino
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel; a 3* with a 5* service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

We are just back from a long week end in Lugano and we enjoyed the Delfino very much. Not only the hotel is very clean, well located and has a fantastic swimming pool but the food is great and the staff extremely attentive and helpful.
Everything works as it should and the personnel just does the extra mile to please you.
It is 10mn by foot from the lake.
The only down side is the noise as the railway is just behind the hotel.
We will go back to Lugano and the Delfino as we really enjoyed our stay there

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    95
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
34
86
10
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

The hotel is located in a quite area of Lugano, walking duistance from the centre. the staff is very friendly and helpful. Bedrooms are confortable and functional without being too fancy. Great opportunity to enjoy the swimmingpool if you do not wish to walk till the lake :-)

Room Tip: Ask for room on with view on the lake !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REGR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We have just returned from a week long stay at the Delfino and would wholeheartedly recommend it. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times and our room was a good size with a pristine ensuite bathroom and a balcony overlooking one of Lugano's two big mountains, Monte San Salvatore. Breakfast was sumptiouswith a large selection of breads, croissants, cereals fresh fruit, meat and cheese. It was also served until 10am so no need to get up too early as is the case in some hotels! The swimming pool was beautifully located on a first floor terrace with a view over the mountains.
The only slight downside is the location - it is about a 15-20 minute walk from the town centre and the station. The walk to the town centre is so scenic that you don't really notice the distance. However, if you will be using the station a lot, it would probably be better to get the bus. The No2 bus travels from the town centre to the hotel via the railway station and only costs 1.60 CHFs for a single ticket.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teabag80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend for a family celebration. Although the hotel is not in the centre it is a pleasant walk downhill and either along the lake or down a road. Taxis are very expensive but outside the hotel is a bus stop and for 2 swiss francs you can take a bus into Lugano. You need to have change and purchase the ticket before getting on the bus. On return you need to get off at St Birgitta and the area is paradiso. We found the hotel lovely and although the rooms are small, perfectly adequate and well equipped. Each room has a balcony with chairs. Spotlessly clean and lovely, helpful staff. The pool area is a delight to have a drink, enjoy a meal or sunbathe. Beach towels are provided in the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vintagecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Location quite ok, if you like walking. Takes 20 min to downtown.
Rooms quite small, facing west poor view.
Pool area ok, could be more attractive. No decoration whatsoever, just outdoor furniture. Area Not in use. Poor service. Even on pleasant mornings breakfast outdoor imposs (statement by hotel
mmgt: what do you expect, we
have ninety guests! If everybody
wants this!)
Very filthy carpet in staircase from
lobby to restaurant and pool area.
Price-value not adequate!
Good parking if you come by car.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuttgartWilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

I had a fantastic stay at the Hotel Delfino. I stayed in two different rooms, a single facing San Sal and a double facing the lake. Both were excellent rooms. The beds were very comfortable, the bathrooms were we thoughtfully arranged, and the balconies were a treat. I didn't have luck setting up the internet in my room but I used the lobby computer.
The staff is exceptional. I needed many questions answered and they were happy to help me with everyone of them. The breakfast was very good. The fruit salad was my favorite.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snojo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

hello trip advisor readers!! im a mexican girl who was working into hotel´s of 5 starts and 5 dimonds at playa del carmen mexico, and now I´m staying at switzerland with my swiss bf!, we were looking for a good hotel for a good price, lugano its extremedely expensive! so we found this hotel, we thought it was far away from the village!(lake and touristic places) but it´s only 5 minutes by car and maybe 10 minutes walking. The only maybe bad thing for people who doesnt has car it´s that you have to climb one hill for getting there! but that´s not a big problem!!.also in the corner of the hotel there´s a stop for a buss, For people who has car you can pay a parking lot at the hotel for 15 chf, if not and if you are lucky, you can park outside the hotel(that´s what my bf and me did) it was safe!. When we arrived to the hotel, the tall blond receptionist was a little bit serious, maybe she need´s to smile a little bit more, she told us to go back at 3:00 pm that its the time for cheking in, so my bf and i decided to make a city tour at lugano(beautiful, romantic, with the best pizza!) and then we came back, the room was ready! it´s small but clean, i checked every spot! including inside the toilett, its really good for people who only want´s to rest and visit the city, it was a bath in the shower and minibar that you have to pay if you drink something, necesary amenities at the bathroom nothing fancy.In the night there are not any activity only a restaurant bar that it´s open, but always you can go outside the city! that´s what my bf and I did, we went to casino(Miryam the receptionist was really kind and she gave us 10 usd each cupon for playing the rulet at the casino) of course we lost but she was really kind for helping us in our questions, and then dancing to this nightclub calling privilage it was so nice! but expensive 20 usd entrance plus drinks.
In the morning with the fare that you pay they gave you breakfast(juice, bread, cheese, jambon, yogourh,fruit, butter, confiture, cereal, coffe, tea) it was nice really!
Im really happy with this hotel, and if one day i go back to lugano i will stay once again here, as was clean, confortable, and good price.
i hope my comment helped you to decide where to stay!
hasta luego!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimenasegovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.8 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.7 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#13 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#9 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Delfino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delfino

Property: Hotel Delfino
Address: via Cassarinetta 6, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Delfino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delfino is close to lakeshore and next to the center. The owner family is managing the hotel since almost 30 years with their individual style. All rooms dispose of balcony and all comforts, like AC, Flat Screen-TV and W-Lan. During the summer season, make the most of the heated outdoor swimming pool and its relaxing, fully furnished, surroundings.Our Restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine with fresh products an typical regional dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Delfino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfino Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing