We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Third Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Third Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from our third visit to the Grand Hotel Castagnola and it was as good as the first. This hotel is just manificent. It was out wedding anniversary again and this was the hotel where we had our honeymoon. The service, rooms and food are second to done but what is more important is the way everyone makes you feel important to them as a guest. We had a junior suite which was manificent and the gourmet diiner on the night do our anniversary. Thank you all at the hotel we will be back again soon.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Squeakyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zorloni, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your beautiful comment. We are happy to read that you had another pleasant stay at our beautiful Villa Castagnola, how to better remember your marriage and celebrate your anniversary? As you remarked very well, we like to make our guests feel special and love to take care of every detail and every wish.

We look forward to welcome you back soon for another great stay with us

Kindest regards

Giacomo Bianchi
Deputy manager Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    45
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
66
167
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Villa Castagnola last week. Our suite was on the top floor with an amazing view of the lake and Monte San Salvatore. The hotel staffs were very attentive and helpful in every way. The hotel also offers great breakfast at the famous Le Relais and plenty of sitting areas in lobby and terrace area for resting and drinking a tea.
The location of the hotel was very convenient and great for relaxing as it is located in a quiet area of the town just 20 min. walk or few min. drive away from the city center(or old town). Also, the funicular to the Monte Bre was located just few steps away from the hotel.
Although we loved the classy and charming feel of the hotel with oozing old-style glamour, we also found some aspects about the hotel that would need some renovation for convenience and comfort: overall bathroom fixtures, absence of coffee maker or electric kettle in the room, weak wifi signals in some part of the room, and stuffy-feel to some rooms(especially during rainy weather). Nevertheless, I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who are traveling to Lugano.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vr770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zorloni, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice comment.
We are truly happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Castagnola. The beautiful views that you can enjoy from here, our staff’s courtesy and the privileged location inside a sub-tropical park, are all characteristics that turn our guest's stays in memorable experience!
As you noticed, Villa Castagnola, built in 1880, is a historical Villa with its own unique character. The construction has been renovated and improved constantly during the past years and further refurbishment works are planned for the future. We thank you for your remarks regarding the WIFI connection, we are currently working on improving quality of the internet connection in the whole property.

We look forward to welcom you back soon!

Sunny regards
Giacomo Bianchi
Deputy Manager Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
We look forward to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

We had an excellent stay at the Villa Castagnola and can highly recommend it. It is a beautiful and enjoys a wonderful view of the Lake of Lugano, framed by palm trees and banana leaves from the lush garden of Villa Castagnola. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Conveniently located near the lake and a 20 minute walk through the park to the old city centre.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zorloni, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Mrs. Liv,
We thank you very much for your beautiful comment.
We are pleased to read that you appreciated the special atmosphere of Villa Castagnola, the charming park and the attentiveness of our staff.
As you noticed very well, our hotel enjoys a privileged position, immerged in a subtropical park but just fifteen minutes walking distance from the city center.
We would love to welcome you back soon at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola for your next stay!

Best regards
Giacomo Bianchi
Deputy Manager Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Visited this marvelous hotel in August 2014. We were warmly greeted at the reception desk and from that moment on the service continued to delight us, the staff continually went out of their way to assist us and make our stay memorable. Our room was beautifully appointed and had a most wonderful view of the lake. The bartenders were charming and engaging. Our meals onsite were delicious and the wine perfect. Ivan was the most kind and perfect host and shared the history of building (once home to a Russian family) with us. You can walk the grounds and enjoy the intriguing and interesting sculptures and simply surrender yourself to your surroundings. We cannot imagine a more delightful place to stay - thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zorloni, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Mrs. Laura,

We thank you for your marvelous comment about our property. We are very pleased to read that you appreciated our staff’s courtesy as well as the culinary offer. We love to pay attention to every detail and try to satisfy every wish of our guests, and it makes us more than happy to hear such positive feed backs.

We will certainly share your beautiful comments with the entire staff!

Kindest regards
Giacomo Bianchi
Deputy Manager Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is not a hotel for everyone; particularly if you are used to go for breakfast with your flip flops and shorts, or for dinner without a jacket. The hotel is meant for a class of people very seclusive and very private... A class of people who belong to another era, long gone. New money will be the odd one out there. But then again, you are in Lugano. Think therefore before you book (if you will be able to book...). Think if you really belong there. This said, you won't be able to find something better than this.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hercules H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zorloni, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your outstanding comment. We are delighted to know that you catched the essence and the very special atmosphere of our property. The Grand hotel Villa Castagnola is a five-star-superior hotel, with a special and unique character, paying great attention to every detail and aiming to make every single stay memorable.

We are very pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your stay in our charming Villa and look forward to welcome you back for your next stay with us.

Kindest regards

Giacomo Bianchi
Deputy Manager Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Beautiful hotel & beautifully located. Highlights for my wife and I were breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the lake and relaxing right along the lake in the lakeside club. The staff was excellent. The hotel is easy to get to. It was an excellent point to explore the whole area, including Lake Como. We would love to go back. I would recommend it highly!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermes K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zorloni, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your positive comment. We are happy to read that you fully enjoyed your stay at Villa Castagnola. As you said, during summer you can enjoy the terrace and the panorama on park and lake the best. We also thank you for the compliments to our staff, we do our best to make our guests feel at ease and are happy to read the results of our efforts are so positive.
We hope to welcome you back soon in Lugano!

Sunny regards,

Giacomo Bianchi
Deputy Manager Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is one of the most amazing hotels I have ever stayed at. It is as close to perfect as humanly possible. The hotel is big enough to have all of the services and amenities you'd want, but never feels too big. The building and grounds are lovely. The terrace where you can have breakfast and dinner is very nice. My only complaint about that is that smoking is allowed, and there were a lot of people smoking (cigarettes and cigars) when we were there. Nothing to be done about that - most outdoor eating spaces in Europe allow smoking. The staff are extremely nice, helpful, efficient, and really go out of their way to make your stay great. The breakfast is excellent - many choices of fresh juice, jams and preserves, honey, butter, tea, breads, cereals, eggs any way you like, waffles, pancakes, cheese, salmon, meats, etc. etc. etc. The pool is very nice. One of my favorite things is the sauna/Turkish bath area. You make an appointment to have this to yourself, and it is a quite large area with a beautiful sauna with little head rests and perfect music (so low it is almost subliminal), a fantastic tiled steam bath with cold hand sprays to cool you off and make more steam, I counted about 4 different showers in the various rooms, as well as a plunge bath for post-sauna, a foot bath, and wonderful bath gel and lotion in all of these locations, plus towels and bottled water never more than 10 feet away. It is worth going to the Villa Castagnola just to experience this area.

Room Tip: Facing the lake, on one of the higher floors (for best views and not as close to the terrace)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XXNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zorloni, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
we thank you for your beautiful comment. We are really pleased to read that you had an enjoyable and satisfying stay at Villa Castagnola and that our staff made you feel at your ease. We appreciate that you liked our charming property and the privileged location.
We also thank you for sharing your thoughts about guests smoking on the terrace. Unfortunately, we cannot ban smoking outside, but we could certainly find alternative solutions for the future.
We will surely forward your compliments to the respective staff and look forward to welcome you back soon for another relaxing stay in Lugano!

Kindest regards

Giacomo Bianchi
Deputy Manager Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.7 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#10 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.1 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola

Property: Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Address: viale Castagnola 31, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#3 Business Hotel in Lugano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, member of the “Small Luxury Hotels of the World”, is the only five star superior Hotel in Lugano and enjoys a privileged position inside a large sub-tropical park and with a beautiful view towards the lake. The elegant villa, built in 1860, combines the charm of a former era with the comfort and the care of a modern luxury hotel. The hotel offers 78 rooms, of exceptional charm, individually styled, provided with every modern comfort and with stunning park and/or lake views, balcony, terrace or loggia. All rooms, of which 28 are Junior Suites and Suites, have individual air-conditioning, and provide the most modern comforts. Restaurant Le Relais – 14 points GaultMillau-: In an elegant setting, our Executive Chef Bertogna, suggests a light and innovative Mediterranean cuisine, a balance between colours and delicate flavours that you won’t forget. In season lunch and dinner are served on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the garden and the lake. Restaurant Gallery Arté al Lago -1 Michelin Star, 16 points GaulMillau - :A theme restaurant inside an art gallery. Restaurant renewed and embellished through artworks and sculptures of contemporary artists of international stature who alternate every six months. Right on the shore of the lake, the Restaurant Gallery Arté al Lago offers a magnificent and unique view over the gulf of Lugano. Signature dishes are entirely new and original from our Executive Chef Frank Oerthle. Top notch are the facilities offered for meeting and events: any event assumes a special distinction - a grand banquet or less formal luncheon, business meeting or conference, private party, dinner or wedding up to 120 people. A large and impressive venue is the Sala delle Palme, set to recall an oriental atmosphere with its Indian Rajastan panoplies and Afganistan doors dated XIX century. All our venues are appreciated for the day light and the unique ornamentation and for the unclenching rooms, private sitting-rooms, conference halls of different sizes such as Le Pavillon connected to the park trough the outdoor veranda, La Sala Delle Colonne, Sala Letizia, Sala Carlotta and Sala Ottavia, the Biblioteca and Sala Kwium.Villa Castagnola has a spectacular indoor swimming-pool with panoramic views over the gardens, a Wellness Corner, a Clarins Beauty Corner, a Danilo Hairstyling, a table-tennis room, outdoor hard court tennis fields and a private lake terrace. The Hotel is well connected to Lugano’s railway station and Airport (only 7Km to the Lugano-Agno Airport), and has easy access to the Motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Castagnola
Grand Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing