We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A wonderful hotel in a wonderful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel in a wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We spent a long weekend at the hotel in June this year and enjoyed our stay immensely. The room we had was exactly as we expected, it was roomy, clean and the view was great.

The check-in was smooth and friendly. We found all the staff very accommodating, whether it be at the reception desk or at the restaurant.

I read many reviews prior to booking this hotel. For those who had a bad experience there, you must have picked one of "those days" because we had a great stay there.

The location is a little way from the main centre of Lugano, but in my opinion, that only helps to preserve the beauty of the place.

In all honestly, it is really not that far if you don't mind a nice walk along the lake, through a park to get to the busier centre. We did it several time and found the stroll very enjoyable.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a very nice hotel in Lugano.

We won't stay anywhere else when we next visit beautiful Lugano

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leftyntoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

we thank you very much for your beautiful comment! We are very happy to read that you had pleasant stay at Villa Castagnola and enjoyed the service and friendliness of our staff. We will forward your compliments to all employees. Indeed our hotel is in a very special location, being a few minutes away from the city center but at the same time surrounded by a peaceful and romantic subtropical park. We certainly look forward to welcome you back soon for another memorable experience with us.

Sunny regards from Lugano

Giacomo Bianchi
Deputy Manager Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    45
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
66
169
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have returned to this stunning hotel time and time again. Whether relaxing on comfortable sun beds, set within the beautiful gardens, or dinning on the terrace overlooking the lake, the view across the lake is stunning. The hotel, once owned by a Russian aristocrat, is lavishly styled with chic furnishings and beautiful flower arrangements to compliment many of the reception areas.
The decor is extended to the sumptuous bedrooms, which all overlook lake Lugano. If you think Switzerland is just for skiing, think again. Lugano , situated on the border of Italy, bakes in an almost Mediterranean sun from June onwards. Staff welcome you with typical Italian warmness, and the hotel is run with Swiss efficiency. This is a jewel of a hotel.

Room Tip: All standards good. Recommend the junior suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Jacquelin,
Thank you very much for your very positive comment. With pleasure we read that you had the chance to fully enjoy the style of our hotel and the surrounding region. As you said, Lugano is a Swiss city but with Italian flair, the region and the hotel offer a special atmosphere and we like to spoil our guest and make them live a unique stay.
We would love to welcome you back soon,

Best regards

Giacomo Bianchi
Deputy Manager Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genève
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We enjoyed a nice junior suite with a very nice balcony with a beautiful view. The hotel is very nice, very friendly staff. The bartender would even make customized cocktails. The room was very nice, fresh fruit basket upon arrival. The only problem with the room was the two single beds instead of the double bed. But otherwise can't complain, the room was clean, nice amenities. We enjoyed the private lido (on the lake), where towels, fresh water and apples are served. The only problem was that at 3 pm, I wanted to have a bottle water, there was not a single one left. But the view is very nice, there are showers, clean toilets. It is very well maintained. We had lunch at the terrace surrounded by banana trees and palm trees, the food is quite nice. The breakfast is very nice, we enjoyed a lot the terrace. Both restaurants Le Relais and the Arte were perfect. Very friendly staff, very nice dishes. We will surely come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RanaWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

we thank you for your lovely comment! We are pleased to read that you could enjoy many of the facilities of the hotel and also our gastronomic offer. We will certainly forward all comments to the respective staff members as well as we will take note of your remark regarding the lack of bottles of water at our private Lido on the lake. Thank you again for expressing your thoughts.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Giacomo Bianchi
Deputy Manager Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12/4/2011
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a beautiful executive suite with a romantic balcony overlooking lush gardens and the lake beyond. We felt so very comfortable relaxing in many of the common areas of the hotel, which are large and beautifully appointed. I loved the fresh fruit, which was ever-present in overflowing dishes, and I couldn't resist helping myself to some of the beautiful and delicious grapes, peaches, apricots, etc. on numerous occasions.

The one person who enhanced our experience the most was the tuxedo-clad, personality plus piano player who serenaded nonstop, starting at 7:30, with romantic and joyful tunes. Thankfully, his notes reached up to us while we were enjoying the romantic view from our balcony.

We also enjoyed the area across the street that the hotel provided for enjoying the lake.
However, we were disappointed that we heard traffic noise from the road when we were on the balcony or left our patio doors open.

There was one significant downside to the hotel, and it was our internet connection to our Apple ipads and iphones. It was extremely frustrating because we constantly had to reboot our devices to get them reconnected to WiFi. Once connected our mobile devices ran like the "old dial-up service". The front desk fell short in offering an acceptable explanation or a fix. We expect that insufficient initiative was taken on their part to resolve the "big picture" problem. Prior to coming to this hotel we stayed in six other Swiss hotels, and we never encountered internet connection problems. For a hotel that caters to an upscale leisure or business traveler, this is a serious and unacceptable problem for Apple product users.

Also, my husband and I have been in the travel industry for over 20 years and have experienced superb concierge service at many fine hotels and resorts around the world. However, at Villa Castagnola, there did not seem to be a dedicated concierge person. Therefore, we had to ask for help at the reception desk, where we received brief and incomplete and rushed explanations.

We would have loved to give this hotel 5 stars, but to be honest we could not do it with the shortcomings outlined above. Hopefully, they can fix their Apple internet problems and improve their concierge service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your comments. We are very pleased to read that you liked the style and the ambience of our Villa Castagnola and we are happy to know that our pianist enriched the pleasure of your stay.
We are sorry to read that you were disturbed by the traffic noise. Being a city hotel we already have a quite privileged position inside our subtropical park, but being located a few minutes from the city center, a little traffic has to be taken into consideration. We also thank you for your comment regarding the WiFi problem, which we will surely be forwarded to the responsible team member. We are sorry to read that you did not have one of our concierge staff always at your disposal, when needed. We do have a dedicated concierge team at our guests’ disposal and we are not sure what happened during yours stay. We will make sure that this does not happen again in the future.
Nevertheless we are glad that you enjoyed our private terrace at the lake and the unique view that we have from our balconies!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Best regards
Giacomo Bianchi
Deputy Manager Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilauea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We only spent one night at this lovely hotel as we were on route to the Bernina Express from Tirano. I regret we didn't stay longer. This is a very well appointed hotel in a park with views to the lake - very quiet with the sound of birds and little traffic noise. Since my wife likes to have the windows open this was essential. I also enjoyed the indoor pool, which has open panels to the park. Great for my daily laps. The hotel also maintains a private venue on the lake where you can recline or swim. Towels and water are provided. There is a Spa with turkish bath, which my wife loved, and even ping pong! The hotel has a couple of restaurants. Breakfast is included. We also took half-board and the cuisine was excellent. There are easy boat tours on the lake as well. Can't wait to come back and explore further.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your beautiful comment about our Villa Castagnola. We are pleased to read that you fully enjoyed many amenities of our hotel as well as the culinary offer of our restaurants.
We love to make our guests feel at home and make them live a relaxing and regenerating stay.
Our team will be happy to welcome you back for your next stay.

Kind regards,

Giacomo Bianchi
Deputy Manager Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

From the minute I contacted them about a large meeting for the week to the time I arrived in person I was treated with the excellent service that any 5 star hotel should provide. The entire staff goes above and beyond to make sure that your every need is taken care of. The sleeping rooms are immaculate and they are so clean! Being from America we think we know what a 5 star hotel is but NO WAY. Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola exceeded our expectations. Christina from the sales team is the best at what she does. She made sure that our event was perfect and that anything we wanted we got. Mario from the front desk went above an beyond for me in regards to anything I asked him for. He treated us like we were queens. My bosses luggage was lost and it was a Sunday and she needed some items. He assisted us with the help of Davide and took us to the store. I also need an item from the pharmacy which he promptly had delivered to the hotel for me. The restaurant and the food are both immaculate and absolutely delicious. The breakfast which is included in the room rate is wonderful with lots of choices and homemade jellies. YUMMY! Again this is a 5 star hotel that lives up to that. The location is perfect! Away from the hustle bustle of the city center located on beautifully landscaped grounds but close enough to walk to town or to take the local bus. Barbara at the front desk also went above an beyond each time we needed something. The spa and turkish bath area is also amazing. You book your time and have the whole spa to yourself! This hotel is for those people who want to be treated like family, enjoy wonderful food, be served by some of the finest staff I have ever dealt with and be treated as you should. I will be coming back to this hotel as well as many of my colleagues for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Keri,

We thank you very much for your wonderful comment after your stay in our property. We all were really pleased to read that you most enjoyed your time at Villa Castagnola and that everything went perfectly for you and your valued guests. We couldn’t be happier to receive such positive feed backs.
We are also pleased to read that you fully appreciated the atmosphere in our Villa, the staff’s courtesy as well as the culinary offer. We love to pay attention to every detail and try to satisfy every wish of our guests, in order to make everyone feel like at their own home.
We will certainly share your beautiful comments with the entire staff!

We are very looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another magnificent stay.

Best regards

Giacomo Bianchi
Deputy Manager Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Incredible venue, fantastic atmosphere, in a gorgeous park, right on the lake.
I had many meetings in typical impersonal hotels, this is totally different, and what a great improvement!
We did a week of business meetings in the various antique conference rooms, full of history and antique objects. The genral meeting was in the larger conference room, between palms and antique art objects, them we split up in working groups,and had great rooms and coffe breaks. Meeting groups of 0 were great, and very conducing for business. Delicious food, with impecable service.
the weekend I took advantage and had my family joining in, we enjoyed the hotel, the spa and the excellent location, so close to great day excurisons. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: all rooms are diffent, pick you own!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 88LovetoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your very positive comment. We are pleased to hear that you fully enjoyed your business stay in our hotel.
We are also happy to read that you could take advantage of our SPA and enjoyed the surroundings of Villa Castagnola with your family.
We will certainly share your notes among the management and the whole staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon in the Villa for a business trip or for your next holiday in Ticino!

Kind regards,
Giacomo Bianchi
Deputy Manager Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.7 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#10 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.6 mi away
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola

Property: Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Address: viale Castagnola 31, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#3 Business Hotel in Lugano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, member of the “Small Luxury Hotels of the World”, is the only five star superior Hotel in Lugano and enjoys a privileged position inside a large sub-tropical park and with a beautiful view towards the lake. The elegant villa, built in 1860, combines the charm of a former era with the comfort and the care of a modern luxury hotel. The hotel offers 78 rooms, of exceptional charm, individually styled, provided with every modern comfort and with stunning park and/or lake views, balcony, terrace or loggia. All rooms, of which 28 are Junior Suites and Suites, have individual air-conditioning, and provide the most modern comforts. Restaurant Le Relais – 14 points GaultMillau-: In an elegant setting, our Executive Chef Bertogna, suggests a light and innovative Mediterranean cuisine, a balance between colours and delicate flavours that you won’t forget. In season lunch and dinner are served on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the garden and the lake. Restaurant Gallery Arté al Lago -1 Michelin Star, 16 points GaulMillau - :A theme restaurant inside an art gallery. Restaurant renewed and embellished through artworks and sculptures of contemporary artists of international stature who alternate every six months. Right on the shore of the lake, the Restaurant Gallery Arté al Lago offers a magnificent and unique view over the gulf of Lugano. Signature dishes are entirely new and original from our Executive Chef Frank Oerthle. Top notch are the facilities offered for meeting and events: any event assumes a special distinction - a grand banquet or less formal luncheon, business meeting or conference, private party, dinner or wedding up to 120 people. A large and impressive venue is the Sala delle Palme, set to recall an oriental atmosphere with its Indian Rajastan panoplies and Afganistan doors dated XIX century. All our venues are appreciated for the day light and the unique ornamentation and for the unclenching rooms, private sitting-rooms, conference halls of different sizes such as Le Pavillon connected to the park trough the outdoor veranda, La Sala Delle Colonne, Sala Letizia, Sala Carlotta and Sala Ottavia, the Biblioteca and Sala Kwium.Villa Castagnola has a spectacular indoor swimming-pool with panoramic views over the gardens, a Wellness Corner, a Clarins Beauty Corner, a Danilo Hairstyling, a table-tennis room, outdoor hard court tennis fields and a private lake terrace. The Hotel is well connected to Lugano’s railway station and Airport (only 7Km to the Lugano-Agno Airport), and has easy access to the Motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Castagnola
Grand Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing