We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand but in an understated way which is lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Grand but in an understated way which is lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have just returned from the Grand Villa Castagnola and I am suitably impressed.

Arriving at the hotel was very impressive as you wind your way up the little road to the main entrance. We were greeted by Barbara who was efficient and genuinely friendly (which was refreshing as I was half expecting stuffy due to the surroundings). Check in was very simple then Barbara accompanied us to your room in the new section, which involved a bit of a walk but in such an old building it's to be expected. I was a hotelier for 22 years and have seen my fair share of rooms, both good and bad, but I can say I was impressed with the room. The decor was fresh and the room smelt nice and clean. We had our own sofa and armchair, twin beds with duvets, complimentary fruit and a lovely little terrace with recliners. The bathroom was spacious and, as I found out later, the shower was great. All the usual amenities you'd expect of a five star hotel from slippers and gowns to all the toiletries you could wish for.

Once settled we went to reception to the eat something on the terrace outside. We really just wanted a snack so ordered a bottle of water, two simple plates of pasta and I had an espresso, which all came to a grand total of.... 72 Swiss Francs or about 50 Euros! Whilst I understand we were in a five star hotel, and the service was impeccable, the linen whiter than white and the surroundings beautiful... 50 Euros for 2 plates of pasta! I was taken aback and at the time thought that's the price you pay for five star I guess, but I now feel that 29 Swiss Francs for a plate of pasta is just a bit ridiculous. I have just checked the price for next weekend, similar to our stay and the price per night shows as £293, which I think is reasonable considering what you get from the service to amenities. However I still balk at that much for a plate of pasta regardless.

SO our next stop had to be the pool, we donned our slippers and bath robe and headed off to the pool. We weren't disappointed as it is lovely, once again everything is provided and there are sun loungers if the weather permits. The only down side to the pool was that it was just too cold. now I know everyone's a bit cold when they first enter a pool and once I had thrashed about trying to warm up I was alright, the problem was when I stopped as I immediately cooled down to the point where I was having the trash about every few minutes to be able to stay in the pool as it was just too cold. Relaxing and chatting in the pool is just not an option as it really is too cold. Also a little disappointed that you had to book the sauna...

After a lovely warm shower I then tried to connect to the complimentary wifi, it connects but is painfully slow at times, even unusable it's so slow. Later when I tried to connect it didn't want to work at all so I had to reload everything, which made it work, but again so slow I gave up. Loved the complimentary wifi but shame it didn't work very well.

The next morning we were up and out fairly quickly but had time for breakfast in the lovely breakfast room. Breakfast is lovely, a large enough selection to keep pretty much everyone happy from fruit salads to eggs and bacon to fresh croissants. The selection is too large to list here, suffice to say I think pretty much everyone is catered for.

One thing I was disappointed with, when we went out to grab a bite to eat one evening, was how dead it was after 8pm. During the day the place is a hive of activity with people running around, sitting at bars etc but come 7-8pm everyone scatters and the once thriving bars and restaurants are empty. I found out from our very chatty taxi driver, on the way back to the airport, that this has something to do with the mayor not letting businesses open late, which is such a shame as if you go to Lake Como it is full of people at night which is so much nicer than a ghost town.

Don't get me wrong though I would definitely go back, I just felt these little annoyances needed pointing out as they impacted on our stay in this wonderful hotel. Oh yes and forgot to mention, the beds, pillows, linen and duvets are divine!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noname08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

we thank you very much for your comment. We are glad to read that you liked the style of our beautiful Villa. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed from our restaurant Le Relais regarding the prices.
We have two gastronomic restaurants with 14 and 16 points Gault Millau.
This is reflected in our dishes and prices which are highly appreciated from many guests who are looking for extraordinary culinary experiences.
We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our breakfast buffet. We like to greet our guests in the day with a rich and genuine choice of delicious products.

The summer is coming and Lugano turns its lights on during this season. So why not come back to Lugano during the summer in order to experience the most exciting side of the city?

We look forward to welcoming back soon.

Kind regards,
Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    43
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
59
156
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This sort of hotel you think don´t exist any longer. Impeccable service, gracious rooms, chic Mediterranean style, all the little details that make the big difference.. Wonderful breakfast room. Stunning views of the lake. If you can afford these expensive rates, don´t hesitate, that´s the place in Lugano,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuizGalando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are more than happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience in our Villa. The Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola is indeed an exclusive place, few minutes from the city center where to enjoy a relaxing and charming atmosphere.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon at the Villa Castagnola, perhaps during the summer season, when Lugano shows its entire splendor.
Kind regards,

Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

The location is excellent, the hotel served us well, Sunday and Monday their signature restaurant and spa is closed(disappointing). I have stayed in a one bedroom suite, it consists of 2 connected deluxe rooms, the rooms are not well maintained. The housekeeping service is very weak. Overall we did enjoy, the garden is beautifull.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kabudhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our charming hotel and garden. All our 78 rooms are individually styled, therefore next time we can surely find the best suited room for you!

We are sorry to hear that you did not have the chance to taste the gourmet cuisine of our Michelin Star Restaurant Galleria Arté al Lago.
We look forward to welcoming back soon.

Kind regards,

Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Love the graden, nice & quite hotel, service is excellent, food is great. Massage and the signature restaurant are closed on Sunday & Monday!! The one bedroom suite is fine, although it is 2 connecting room, one is salon and the other is bedroom. The housekeeping is very week and toilet of the suite is not maintained well. All in all we did enjoy the rest of the hotel facility.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kabudhabj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our charming hotel and garden. All our 78 rooms are individually styled, therefore next time we can surely find the best suited room for you!

We are sorry to hear that you did not have the chance to taste the gourmet cuisine of our Michelin Star Restaurant Galleria Arté al Lago.
We look forward to welcoming back soon.

Kind regards,

Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My experience with the hotel started before we even get there.. I received a punctual response from the Concierge to my enquiries as soon as I sent the email.
Very warm welcome and great hospitality, we appreciate they nice decoration and amenities we found ready in the suite... As well as the upgrade to a very nice suite on the 4th floor
Special thanks to Ms. Barbra in Reception for the warm welcome and smile as well as her concern to any need or request. the whole team is very professional and we have enjoyed a flawless operation.

Special recognition to the team at ARTE , very nice restaurant where we had an enjoyable fine dinning dinner..

We will definitely talk positively about your hotel, and for sure come back again..

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and enjoy the lac view from a higher floor... A second bathroom in a suite is a big p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Nallam,
What a great comment! Thank you!

We are always happy to help our guests to organize their travel and stay in Lugano. It is important for us to give our guests and future guests a good impression of what will be their stay.

We will of course forward your review to Barbara, to the Restaurant Gallery Arté al Lago and as well as the entire team.

Do not hesitate to contact us to book your next stay!
Kind regards,

Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed at Villa Castagnola 2 weeks in a row. Gives you the feeling of becoming part of a familie: Staff very friendly and willing to help out. The restaurant was under construction, but they arranged still a good meal. The alternative is restaurant Arte, a haute cuisine restaurant 'next door', part of the Villa. Will come Back for sure in summertime, taking advantage of the location allmost next to the lake.
The rooms are clean and with all basic facilities needed in the modern time: WIFI, in room entertainment and enough power sockets.
Prices are like the other Lugano hotels. Carparking in underground parking is expensieve at CHF 20/night.

Room Tip: Ask room on the lake side for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Arie,

thank you very much for your nice review!
We are more than happy to hear that you had the feeling of being part of the family. Indeed, we did some refreshments in our Restaurant Le Relais during the whole month of February and we are glad to read that you appreciated the cuisine of the Restaurant Galleria Arté al Lago.

We look forward to welcoming you again in summertime when you will also have the chance to enjoy our private terrace on the lake. Lugano is awesome in summer!

Best regards,

Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was an amazing hotel in Lugano. The staff were fantastic and the service outstanding. We had a Junior suite and it was everything that was mentioned on their site and more. We really appreciated all the room that we had as we stayed the last two nights of our Europe tour of over 4 weeks. It was a real delight to stay here and have a little bit of pampering. The concierge organised for a car to take us to Milan airport and checked on everything for us. We had room service which was great and the meal of a very high quality. The bed was really comfortable the best we had stayed in so we had great sleeps.
The rooms were very quiet which was a bonus. The view of the lovely gardens was spectacular with the Christmas lights still up. The breakfast was also outstanding.
Overall I can't speak highly enough of this hotel and given half a chance would be back to stay anytime we got back to this area.

Room Tip: We got a taxi from the station and I wouldn't walk it because of the hills. There is a great bak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianora, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Tricia,

we are more than happy to hear that we were able to close your trip in Europe with a memorable stay and thank you very much for your amazing comment!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon at the Villa Castagnola and perhaps next time during the summer season?
With kind regards,

Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lugano
1.0 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.7 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#10 of 45 in Lugano
5.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
1.6 mi away
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola

Property: Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Address: viale Castagnola 31, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#3 Business Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, member of the “Small Luxury Hotels of the World”, is the only five star superior Hotel in Lugano and enjoys a privileged position inside a large sub-tropical park and with a beautiful view towards the lake. The elegant villa, built in 1860, combines the charm of a former era with the comfort and the care of a modern luxury hotel. The hotel offers 78 rooms, of exceptional charm, individually styled, provided with every modern comfort and with stunning park and/or lake views, balcony, terrace or loggia. All rooms, of which 28 are Junior Suites and Suites, have individual air-conditioning, and provide the most modern comforts. Restaurant Le Relais – 14 points GaultMillau-: In an elegant setting, our Executive Chef Bertogna, suggests a light and innovative Mediterranean cuisine, a balance between colours and delicate flavours that you won’t forget. In season lunch and dinner are served on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the garden and the lake. Restaurant Gallery Arté al Lago -1 Michelin Star, 16 points GaulMillau - :A theme restaurant inside an art gallery. Restaurant renewed and embellished through artworks and sculptures of contemporary artists of international stature who alternate every six months. Right on the shore of the lake, the Restaurant Gallery Arté al Lago offers a magnificent and unique view over the gulf of Lugano. Signature dishes are entirely new and original from our Executive Chef Frank Oerthle. Top notch are the facilities offered for meeting and events: any event assumes a special distinction - a grand banquet or less formal luncheon, business meeting or conference, private party, dinner or wedding up to 120 people. A large and impressive venue is the Sala delle Palme, set to recall an oriental atmosphere with its Indian Rajastan panoplies and Afganistan doors dated XIX century. All our venues are appreciated for the day light and the unique ornamentation and for the unclenching rooms, private sitting-rooms, conference halls of different sizes such as Le Pavillon connected to the park trough the outdoor veranda, La Sala Delle Colonne, Sala Letizia, Sala Carlotta and Sala Ottavia, the Biblioteca and Sala Kwium.Villa Castagnola has a spectacular indoor swimming-pool with panoramic views over the gardens, a Wellness Corner, a Clarins Beauty Corner, a Danilo Hairstyling, a table-tennis room, outdoor hard court tennis fields and a private lake terrace. The Hotel is well connected to Lugano’s railway station and Airport (only 7Km to the Lugano-Agno Airport), and has easy access to the Motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Castagnola
Grand Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing