We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise indeed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Paradise indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We booked the penthouse suite for one night to celebrate my birthday and it was gorgeous. The view is incredible overlooking the lake and the city Lugano. The staff is also very friendly. We wish we couldve stayed longer and enjoy their amenities like the squash court, havana bar, swimming pool and the japanese restaurant. We did go up to mt. San Salvatore which was walking distance from the hotel to catch the tram. We definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lugano.

Room Tip: High floor to get the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tavel_Monkey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    131
    49
    16
    7
See reviews for
71
139
7
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed in a suite for 2 nights, which was very spacious and had 2 nice balconies, but I was not happy with the location of the hotel. It is a very long walk to the center of Lugano but there is a train at the bottom of the hill which can take you 1 stop to Lugano. The restaurant in the hotel is outrageously expensive and there are few restaurant options nearby.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CorieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
338 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed at one of the suites. The room was comfortable and spacey. The main room was nestled at the back with no view and very poor lighting.
The best view was from the terrace. The worst part is the food. The japanese restaurant was very VERY bad. when i ordered a Gohan they brought me a white rice risotto since no Japanese white rice was available!!!! (how do you manage to make sushi then ? Absolutely overpriced. We had a rented car which proved to be a life saviour, without it the shuttle bus is not your best bet.
Breakfast was mediocre, and room service has basically what bas food is offered at the restaurants plus a few more sandwiches. I would not return regardless of the view. Best to stay at a five star Hotel down in the city.

Room Tip: I stayed at one of the suites. In the end you are paying for the view so any should do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

a great hotel in Lugano with lovely views of the Lake from our balcony

Good location but on a steep hill the restaurant and food is excellent

The bar is lovely but we couldn't use it because of the cigarette smoke which was very disappointing

also the restaurant it was not possible to sit outside as people are allowed to smoke

this really is a nice hotel but if you don't like cigarette smoke it might not be for you

the Swiss have a different take on smoking and its strange the hotel only has one bar but it is not suitable for. non smokers

Room Tip: the balcony rooms have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkSidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I picked this hotel as it offered a 1 bedroom suite accommodation. It also appeared to offer good quality and good value.Be warned the hotel is up a very steep hill. As we arrived by rail we asked to be picked up from the station , this happened but as with everything in the hotel the was no finesse , the porter was there, but it was made onlyu because it was his job and guests were causing an inconvenience. As we checked in there were sweets but none were offered to our son . The hotel I would have thought to be fairly Italianate but it was more Japanese furniture and a mismatch of oriental and european styles. Do not expect much storage space. We had one small wardrobe for 3 people no draws on bedside cabinets. The biggest waste of space was the hidden kitchen area. This was hidden behind some cane doors and seem to take up nearly a quarter of the room. The room did have 2 balconies one facing the hotel car park which caught the afternoon sun and had no chairs , the other had chairs and good view of the lake but never got the sun. The pool is small 6 people in and it was full and there is no outside area to sit . The only good thing was the restaurant but do not expect a children's menu it does not exist. The food was of a good standard . If you have a lake view room you can expect road and rail noise all day and night as the rooms over look the main Gotthard Railway and the road up from Lugano to servaral villages , as well as one of the park and ride bus routes.. The hotel advertises a turn-down service this happens at about 6-630pm just as most people are getting ready for dinner. If you happen to be in the room nothing is done. The hotel advertises Bulgari toiletries in their suites , they may appear on your arrival but do expect any further toiletries for the rest of your stay. The TV service is a joke , I do not expect a small wall mounted TV in a 4 star hotel these days. The hotel is nearer a 3star+ than a true four star , where the customer satisfaction should come before the staff convenience. The hotel needs to decide if they are going to apply themselves to providing a true 4 star service or just hope nobody ever notices the deficiencies in service levels.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs if you face the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swissonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel actually is in Paradiso, next to Lugano. It is a steep walk down the hill to the main strip of Lugano. The decor is dated but the rooms are enormous (effectively suites) and very clean. Prices are relatively (key word as Switzerland is one of the most expensive places on Earth) reasonable (16 chf for good breakfast buffet). Service struggles with English (English is definitely third behind Italian and German and possibly French as well) and definitely isn't at a four star level. Wifi is great in lobby and hit or miss in the rooms; television system is from the 1980s I suspect with a hilarious text controlled menu. The views are great but I am not in a hurry to stay here again, and for my purposes I would pick a place actually in Lugano.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EWWarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Here you have a hotel on a very nice spot, with view on the beautiful lake of Lugano. But inside, the interior is outdated. The room I slept in had no Wifi, and the cable connection didn't work, despite of restart of the server. Had the luck of around 30 degrees C outside, but the rooms have no airco. As sitting on the top level, room inside temperature was like a sauna.

Upsides are the Japanese food and the Havana bar. But, for staying overnight, there are much better hotels in Lugano at a lower rate.

Room Tip: Don't stay overnight, look for other hotels in Lugano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.1 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.7 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#11 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso

Property: Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
Address: via Marco da Carona 27, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, Italian designer hotel with recreational facilities; overlooking lake from a serene hill; walking distance to the center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso Lugano
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing