We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view of Lugano”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent view of Lugano”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel actually is in Paradiso, next to Lugano. It is a steep walk down the hill to the main strip of Lugano. The decor is dated but the rooms are enormous (effectively suites) and very clean. Prices are relatively (key word as Switzerland is one of the most expensive places on Earth) reasonable (16 chf for good breakfast buffet). Service struggles with English (English is definitely third behind Italian and German and possibly French as well) and definitely isn't at a four star level. Wifi is great in lobby and hit or miss in the rooms; television system is from the 1980s I suspect with a hilarious text controlled menu. The views are great but I am not in a hurry to stay here again, and for my purposes I would pick a place actually in Lugano.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EWWarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    150
    67
    17
    9
See reviews for
94
166
8
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Here you have a hotel on a very nice spot, with view on the beautiful lake of Lugano. But inside, the interior is outdated. The room I slept in had no Wifi, and the cable connection didn't work, despite of restart of the server. Had the luck of around 30 degrees C outside, but the rooms have no airco. As sitting on the top level, room inside temperature was like a sauna.

Upsides are the Japanese food and the Havana bar. But, for staying overnight, there are much better hotels in Lugano at a lower rate.

Room Tip: Don't stay overnight, look for other hotels in Lugano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Parco Paradiso on May 22-25th. We stayed in the Penthouse suite with lake view. It was a stunning view! The penthouse has a living room with doors that open to deck that you can sit and just take in the view. It also has two very nice bedrooms, with the master opening to the deck as well. Two bathrooms finish out the suite. It was great for our family of four to relax and yet have some space. Renting the penthouse was like paying for two regular rooms so it was worth it.
Our rooms came with a very nice breakfast. (there is a kitchen in the living room area, but it is blocked off. There is an additional fee to open the kitchen which might be good if you have small kids, but we didn't have a need for it). The hotel does not have a/c, but has big doors that open up and let a nice breeze in. The trouble is there are no screens, so that was hard to sleep with open doors and no screens. There is also a train that goes by at night. So, if the doors are open, you will here the midnight train toot through town.
It is located at the top of a hill which is fine to walk down to town, but you will get your work out walking back up.
I wouldn't trade our view though to be down below. You really get a panormic view from up there.
The people at the desk spoke Italian, German and English. They were all very nice and helpful. I would definitely return to this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Get the penthouse with a lake view! It is the best one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank movedsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel itself is fresh, clean and does feel a bit like heaven, I think it's from the lush vegetation of the hotel grounds. Once in our room we were welcomed with a basket of fresh fruits, and a stunning view of the lake and mountains. It's a bit of a walk to the city center, and the restaurant at the hotel is just ok nothing special except for the view.

I cannot recall seeing the staff, which I guess is a good thing unless you need something. 25 months later we received a thank you card for staying here from Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso which was very nice and in fact triggered us to book another night or two here.

Room Tip: Get a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArchMan510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had a very nice suite with the lake view. Impecable service. Reception staff was very helpful. The only small disadvantage of the hotel is that it is located on the hill and you should go up the hill if you decide to walk back. One should be young and fit to enjoy this walk. Otherwise, it is a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Edvins L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in a lake view room. The room was old and dated as appeared to be the theme for the rest of the hotel. The taxi ride from the train station was expensive about 25+ francs. The staff worked tirelessly to try and make it a special stay but there was a lack of atmosphere. Being non smokers we were appalled to find the only lounge that catered for a pre dinner drink was called the Havana bar and it reeked of fresh and stale tobacco and cigar smoke. We were forced to enjoy a drink in the lobby - if you can get service as it appears to be an inconvenience. You can also eat in the lobby as the bar has a menu that is better priced than the restaurant. Just remember everyone who enters or leaves via the lobby can enjoy you dining. Note that the restaurant is of 2 parts Japanese meals and European meals. The Internet is only available from the lobby not the rooms but is it free. The restaurant was very much overpriced but as you are a captive (unless you want to venture down the hill to the railway station or walk along the lake front, you will pay the prices). The hotel offers a courtesy bus to either to town or to the station but seem very reluctant to offer the service even though it is advertised and free. We were advised to walk down the many steps with our suitcases to the train station to get a train to the main station or walk along the lake to get into town - the latter we did and would recommend this but without the cases. We persisted and finally they agreed to take us to the station at the requested time. The breakfast is mediocre but you can have eggs 3 ways, fried, scrambled or as an omelet but no other hot goodies unless you count the toast. All meat dishes are cold. There are no coffee making facilities in the rooms but the beds are comfortable. The shower is adequate but the bathrooms are small. We would not stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank review53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
497 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

What a great place.
We were welcomed right by the maître de salle (or so we believed).
Utterly kind as all the waiters.
Loved the Favola restaurant, a wonderful room, palm trees picking outside the window, enchanting the beautiful view.
Great menu with food cooked to order as well, sushi, sweets, good choice of bread.
All this for CHF 49 p.p. which include coffee&tea.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Za036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.7 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
1.1 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.5 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 45 in Lugano
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Eden
Grand Hotel Eden
#28 of 45 in Lugano
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso

Property: Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
Address: via Marco da Carona 27 | 6900 Lugano Paradiso, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, Italian designer hotel with recreational facilities; overlooking lake from a serene hill; walking distance to the center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso Lugano
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing