We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Would not stay again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colorado Lugano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Colorado Lugano
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would not stay again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I spent two weeks in Switzerland, staying in a different place every night, and of all the hotels, this was the lowest value. We did not make any reservations and we just happened upon the hotel, so we did not know what to expect. We were told the price of a double room was 210 CHF, but when we turned to leave the receptionist lowered the price to 160. That was the most we paid for a hotel the entire trip, but it was nighttime and we didn't have any better ideas, so we stayed.

The room was ok and clean, but there was this weird window looking into the bathroom from the room, so if you don't want the person you're sharing a room with to see you doing whatever you do in the bathroom, it's necessary to warn them that you're going in there. The other thing was that the sheet on the bed wasn't big enough. We oriented it so that it covered both of us, but then our feet were sticking out. If we oriented it the
other way, it didn't cover both of us. It was very difficult to sleep like this. In the middle of the night we decided it was worth it to go get our sleeping bags out of the car, but then we found a comforter tucked in a low shelf, so one of us got the sheet and one of us the comforter.

The breakfast buffet was one of the best we had throughout the trip, in a nice sunny room.

It wasn't bad once we got the covers situation figured out, but compared to the other places we stayed, this seemed a bad value.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rbreeding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    36
    35
    7
    5
See reviews for
12
37
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Hotel room is well up to the standard of 3 star hotel, clean, quite and convenient, while the cost is reasonable. What impressed us most was the freindly attitude of the hotel desk manager. He provided us all useful informations such as places of interest, city map, discount cupons, etc.. One day we visited Lake Como, and were back to our hotel after 9:45pm. The desk manager met us at the door, and asked if we were okay? By that time the hotel resturant kitchen was closed, and he voluntarily cooked us a hot vegetable soup with fresh bread, which made a tasty quick meal. Our last day in Lugano was very hot, and when we returned hotel, we noticed there was a desk fan in our room. We appreciate very much the friendly attitude and thoughtfulnees of the hotel desk manager.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gyrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

The Hotel Colorado was first class from start to finish. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. When we checked in, the desk clerk/manager was worried that our bed would be too small and gave us keys to our room as well as another with a bigger bed. Our queen bed was just right, so we stayed with our original room. The view from our deck was fabulous. The shower was good sized and delivered plenty of hot water. The complimentary breakfast, while not hot, was plentiful with a good selection. This is a wonderful European hotel. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Lugano.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

We travelled with a small group. When we arrived we found our room door wide open and also the windows open, which we thought was strange. We went out into Lugano, closing door and windows and when we came back ,the room smelt of a sewer or toilet smell even though the toilet itself was not smelly. So smelly that we asked to change our room and were told that there were no other rooms available and we would not find anything else in Lugano due to the Locarno film festival. While we looked for another hotel on the internet, our tour guide requested another room. Meanwhile someone was frantically cleaning the carpet leaving the door and windows open again so there had been a previous issue. The moustached "gentleman" on reception told our guide that there was no other room, that we had been in the room all afternoon and had probably therefore made it smelly and then threatened to stop speaking English as she spoke no Italian. The lady on the desk was also most unwelcoming. Eventually they said they had another room which was booked for someone arriving at 11pm that night and they changed our room. That room was fine except the safe was blocked open and still very hot due to no air conditioning so we were so grateful that the weather turned stormy. Bathroom shower rather dangerous, slippy. The breakfast was poor, croissants hard and rolls hard, poor cereal some ham and cheese. I asked for a caffé latte and was brought black coffee and cold milk (unheard of in Ticino or Italy). We stayed there for two days. A third person was more amenable when he realised that the group would not go back there. Sorry to the person arriving at 11pm if the smell remained but they cleaned the room all afternoon so hopefully it was better by then. The hotel is quite a walk from the station and one side is on a busy road but the other is over a quiet car park. This was the worst hotel of the 9 day tour. For some reason the ground floor is also a bike shop. Apparently the pizzeria restaurant is ok but we didn't eat there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lugano hotels

Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

Lugano is a lovely place and the hotel is nice and the staff were friendly. I booked my trip on Hotels.com and was charged twice by the hotel for a one night stay. I have tried to get them to rectify this from Australia (where I live) and they have ignored me. Travellor beware.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lachie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanø, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

Booked the hotel through a tourism(!) conference web site, with a substantial discount. Obviously family-run, with the peculiarities that can add. A nice feature was however that smooth/quiet jazz seemed to be the preferred background sound for hotel lobby as well as restaurant. The hotel is around 10 minutes walk from the city centre (where also nearest supermarket is found) down a STEEP hill, also around 10 mins. from central train station. Bus stop (Tassino) right outside.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niels N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

Stayed here for two nights in September 2009. Staff unhelpful and bordering on rude. Main reception area and lounge shared with a bicycle showroom ! Accommodation very basic. Room safe not working and fan removed from room after first night. Entry to bedroom via shower & toilet. Shower in rooms very dangerous - no shower door , entry from hallway via narrow vertical access , necessitating stepping over low tiled wall into shower unit. My wife stubbed and bruised her foot attempting to get in. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cerneDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#8 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#16 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#13 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Albergo Stella Hotel
Albergo Stella Hotel
#17 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#18 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#6 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado Lugano

Property: Hotel Colorado Lugano
Address: via Clemente Maraini 19 | Via Adamini 20, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colorado Lugano 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in April 2013, Colorado Hotel offers a central, yet quiet location in the centre of Lugano, a 5-minute walk away from the promenade on Lake Lugano and around the corner from the LAC Cultural Centre. Free WiFi is available. The air-conditioned rooms are equipped with cable TV. Toiletries and a hairdryer are provided in the private bathroom. The Colorado's restaurant Tavernetta offers a range of creative dishes. Meals are also served on the terrace. The hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Museum of Modern Art in the Villa Malpensata, and a 10-minute walk from the train station. The city bus leaving in front of the hotel takes you to the congress centre in 10 minutes. Hotel Colorado is also Business Center. Conference rooms can be configured for 2 to 80 participants and can be configured for your individual needs. Seminar materials: Flip charts, PC and slide projectors, WiFi Internet access. We are passionate about bikes! Hotel Colorado is the perfect stop for your you and your bikes. Maintenance, laundry and parking for your bike available on request. We love love to take care of nice people and we make this our profession. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Colorado Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing