We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Family Feeling” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Federale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Federale
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family Feeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

I stayed in the hotel Federal with my day daughters for a few weeks. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The location was outstanding as it was close to the train station and very close to the city center. I had to walk up a beautiful citi center hill every time I wanted to go back to the hotel but it served as an excellent post dinner promenade. The rooms were very comfortable and had very good air-conditioning. The view was acceptable and cleanliness was outstanding. The food at the restaurant was actually very good and better than I thought. Steak tartar was great, and the service was fabulous. The waiters (Rosa, Fernando, Gerardo) have been waiting tables there for a long time and made us feel as if we were eating in our home. Whenever I go back to Lugano I will stay in that hotel. I'm actually looking forward to going back and say hello to everybody there. I think that for the price this is one of the best places to stay in Lugano. It is a family operated establishment that exemplifies classic Swiss excellence, cleanliness, timeliness, neatness, and family values.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cary_collado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Cary_collado,
Thank you very much for having stayed with us at Hotel Federale in Lugano and thank you so much for the many compliments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Lugano and remain
With warmest regards
Roland Galliker & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    106
    27
    5
    2
See reviews for
57
88
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Swiss Hospitality is pretty much high standard already, but this is our first to experience the Italian twist of it. The hotel is obviously classic and my kids appreciated very much the homey feel of classic furniture and decorations. Breakfast is very Italian while the warm service of the dining staff is a plus. The location of Hotel is great short walking distance in between the train station and the downtown area.

Room Tip: Middle Suites have balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lemmorcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear lemmorcv
thank you very much for having stayed with us at our Hotel Federale in Lugano.
Yes, Lugano is a bit different from the rest of Switzerland and inhabitants of this region pride themselves for being both a bit Swiss (trains run on time) and a bit Italian (vegetation, kindness of people, good food).
We are happy to hear that you and your family have enjoyed your stay in this region and our hotel and we look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you again on your next trip to Southern Switzerland.
With kindests regards
Roland Galliker & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Hotel Federale is right down the hill from the train station and at the top of the hill which descends into Lugano's old city center. We stayed in early December of last year and found the staff extremely helpful and friendly with good recommendations for places to see and spots to eat.

Breakfast in the hotel is delicious - cheese, meats, hearty breads and pastries plus delicious dark roast coffee and more. We also had a convenient and delicious dinner in the hotel one night as well, but vegetarian options are slim.

Accommodations are nice, but not super luxurious - comfortable firm beds and spacious rooms. We splurged for the Superior Double room on the very top floor - the views were unbeatable and it was enjoyable to open up the balcony doors in the brisk winter air. Definitely recommend this hotel - a solid choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jillysp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear jillysp,
thank you very much for taking time in writing a review on Tripadvisor and especially for having stayed with us at our Hotel Federale in Lugano.
We hope we can welcome you again on your next trip to Lugano and remain,
with kindests regards
Roland Galliker & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

I arrived in Lugano in the late afternoon via train without a hotel. Just feet from the platform was a tourist stand eager to help me book a room. Within minutes she had booked a from just down the hillside on a quiet corner, balcony overlooking the center (an upgrade at no charge) on a Saturday night in a lakeside resort town. I was greater at the door by a charming young man, given tips of where to dine for good food, atmosphere and cost, then informed of the festival with street side live entertainment, all just a few minutes walk.
The Sunday rains were not a disappointment since the breakfast buffet was ample and the balcony view a delight. So much so, I stayed an extra night at the same reduced rate. The quality and attitude of the hotel staff - both the weekend and on Monday - were first rate. I so enjoyed this hotel while seeing Lugano. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Jana,
Thank you for having stayed at our Hotel Federale in Lugano and we are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and in our very beautiful city.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Lugano.
Thank you also for taking time in writing a guest review on Tripadvisor.
With kindests regards
Roland Galliker & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of a walking package and found the hotel conveniently located by the station, yet in a very pleasant setting surrounded by colourful hydrangeas and in easy reach of restaurants and shops. The buffet breakfast was ample and varied with fresh fruit and even cherries. And to cap it all the friendly staff gave us a small jar of honey to take home!

Room Tip: 442 and 444 have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Lis S,
Thank you very much for having stayed with us at Hotel Federale in Lugano and thank you for taking time in writing a review of your experience.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would be more than pleased if we could welcome you again on your next trip to Lugano.
With kindests regards
Roland Galliker & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Unfortunately we were on the noisy (railway) side of the hotel. Good size room and bathroom.
Conveniently located to the station as long as you don't follow google. Head downhill, it is in front of the station. Breakfast was lovely sitting on the terrace. Staff were pleasant and new how to make a hot cup of tea. Other hotels had not achieved this.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biglizard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Biglizard1,
thank you very much for having stayed in our Hotel Federale on your visit to Lugano and thank you for the time you dedicated us for writing a review on Tripadvisor
During summer months the hillside is a bit noisy because many activities and people go around until late and those rooms are the standard category. The problem goes away as soon as the weather gets cooler and people tend to stay inside.
We are happy to hear the you appreciate our service and we would be pleased to welcoming you back on your next trip to Lugano.
With kindests regards and many thanks for your time
Roland Galliker & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I'm not sure why some of the reviews are just average. My husband and I are from Chicago and we LOVED our stay! It's a lovely boutique hotel centrally located--but just enough in the background of the lovely Lugano center with shops, restaurants and ferry tours. The room was quite nice with spectacular views of the lake during the day and the lighted hillsides at night. The hotel staff was very welcoming and hospitable, and also helpful with any questions we had about sightseeing. And we also dined in the hotel restaurant--food was delicious. We absolutely enjoyed our stay in every way possible and cannot wait to return! We stumbled upon this hotel and Lugano itself when in town for a wedding and have decided that we love it enough to visit again and again in the future.

Room Tip: The lake view is stunning and refreshing! Book a room with a lake view if it is available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Nancy B
Thank you very much for having stayed with us and for having taken time in writing a review.
We are pleased to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay in Lugano and our services.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and remain,
Yours sincerely
Roland Galliker & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.1 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#16 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.0 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#13 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Federale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Federale

Property: Hotel Federale
Address: via Paolo Regazzoni 8, Lugano 6900, Switzerland (Formerly Minotel)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Federale 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run since 1923, near train station and bus terminal to Tirano, Milano, Bernina Express and Palm Express. Single, double, triple and four bedded rooms. Restaurant with terrace. Underground parking (for a fee). Free WiFi. In old city center of Lugano, but on a hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Federale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Hotel Federale
Minotel Hotel Lugano
Minotel Lugano
Lugano Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing