We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing accommodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Federale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Federale
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing accommodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed in the studio rooms of the hotel, rooms were immaculate, staff were very friendly and helpful. Very clean, great restaurant at the hotel.
Staff were very helpful with any questions.
Short walking distance to stores, Lake Lugano usual tourist things to do
Lugano Centro is pedestrian friendly no vehicles

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Ron B,
Thank you very much for having stayed with us on your trip to Lugano and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our studio/apartments. The house they are built in, is a very old house and 3 years ago we found that more and more guests would prefer to have more "liberties", not be "bound" to the hotel, but still have it there in case. We renovated the house and there they are: the studio.
Thank you also for the time you have spent in writing a review, and we would be pleased to welcoming you back should you again choose Lugano for your trip to Southern Switzerland.
With kindests regards
Roland Galliker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    108
    28
    5
    3
See reviews for
61
92
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson Valley, NY
Level Contributor
144 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Driving to this hotel can be unnerving (go down that steep hill in that narrow little lane?), but the warm welcome at the front desk puts you at ease. Our room, while plain and a bit worn, was spotless, and had a terrace overlooking the town and lake. You can walk down the steep hill to the center of town, and take the funicular up to the train station, and just walk down to the hotel. We ate dinner at the hotel, which was just OK, and the breakfast buffet is just good, not great. But, considering what hotels cost in Lugano, Hotel Federake, with its charming, helpful staff, is the real deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the train station,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olliedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Olliedawg,
Thank you very much for your visit at our hotel and thank for taking the time to write a review.
Yes, the road is steep and narrow and yes Lugano's street do go either up or down and we are half way up.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that we have still some improvments to make, especially on the breakfast side.
Thanking you again for your valuable time in writing this review, we remain,
Yours sincerely
Roland Galliker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, no need for transport, walking distance from train station even with luggage, and downtown/old town but still quiet.
Very courteous service staff.
Good value for money.
We booked a family room for us and our two kids and got two communicating rooms with a large private balcony. Ideal set-up!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Holger,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking time to write about your stay at our Hotel.
Just to be fair to other Tripadvisor readers: we have only one room as you described. When booking a family room it can be either the one you describe, or a large four-bedded room on the high floors. We cannot always guarantee the room you stayed in.
Again, grazie mille for having stayed with us and
Cordiali saluti
Roland Galliker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrettsville, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I had chosen this hotel because I felt it was the best value. Unfortunately I had to cut my trip short and cancel at the last minute. Ii spoke to hotels.com when I reserved earlier this month and again at midnight early morning of the date of reservation and the first reservation agent on both occasions assured me that I would not have to pay a cancellation fee even if I did not show up the day of the reservation because the room charge was not collected until after I arrived at the hotel " pay later" is how they referred to it. Then, after being reassured 2 to 3 times that was the case on the morning of the reservation I booked another non refundable hotel with the same booking agent which was closer to my end destination and made sure again there was no penalty for canceling in Lugano. Be very careful, because that was not the case at all! In the very same phone call, just minutes later another hotels.com agent told me I had to pay for both rooms and it was not hotels.com's responsibility to correct this what was almost a very costly error to me. By noon the same day I was able to send an email and hear back from hotel Federale lugano's manager. He was the most understanding, fair person I have met as late. I told him he had restored my faith in mankind. After reviewing my email he forgave me the one night room late cancelation cost of the room, gave me excellent and very wise advice on how to book rooms, and even said he hoped i would consider staying at the hotel federale lugano if I ever got back to switzerland. He and his staff were all very kind, understanding, helpful individuals and I am certain a stay at his hotel would be refreshingly pleasant.

Room Tip: Be very careful when booking thru an online sight because even if they make a mistake it could be at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Gayle G
Thank you for your comments, I really did not expect such a nice letter.
Whenever possible we try to accomodate guests needs and we understand that sometimes it is not the guests fault if reservation errors happen.
When possible we help, especially if guests book or talk directly to the hotel and not through an interemediary (althogh they usually do a good job).
With kindests regards
Roland Galliker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and two daughters stayed for Mothers Day. We highly recommend this hotel. The location is very close to train station (just down a steep hill). It is not high tech but is wondeful (yes, has working WIFI for 5 franc). In the lounge, my daughter and I could relax and play a game and talk while served, in the restaurant, we all laughed but were served well. The owners walked around each night to greet each table and talk about the day. Relaxing and enjoyable with great rooms and a caring staff. Old World in today's world. A very nice retreat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPattersonInCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear DPatterson Family,
Thank you very much for having stayed with us on Mothers Day and thank you for having taken the time to write a review.
As a small family hotel we try to combine the old family style hotel with todays comfort and expectation. We are pleased to hear that we were able to meet your expectation.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to Lugano, and remain,
Yours sincerely
Roland Galliker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
140 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Federale. Arriving by train, it was so easy to find and walk to. We typically stay in rental apartments, but for a long weekend we went with a hotel and our pick could not have been better. The room for the four of us was very spacious and the beds very comfortable. A balcony looked out over the lake and Monte Bre. Everything was very clean and the towels and bedding were of good quality. It was easy to walk down into the Old Town and to the lake, but the funicular is right at the train station if you want to use that. The hotel also had a nice lounge within which you could sit and relax, play a game, etc. The breakfast was adequate to get the day started, but would have liked more substance on a Sunday morning. The onsite restaurant was wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imkaced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Imkaced,
Thank you very much for having stayed at our hotel in Lugano and for taking the time to writing a review.
Thank you also for your positive comments and I will think on how to improve breafast on Sunday mornings, when guests have more time.
We hope we will be able to welcoming you back to Lugano some day.
Thank you again
Roland Galliker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent location, excellent service. Beautiful views of the Lugano lake. Just a few minutes from Luganos's central train statuon and from Lugano's downtown. The staff is very friendly as well, and the rooms are very comfortable. Absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcelo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Marcelo B.
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write about about hotel.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in Lugano, and we would be delightet to welcoming you back if you visit our lake region again in the future.
Thank you again.
Roland Galliker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.1 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#6 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Federale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Federale

Property: Hotel Federale
Address: via Paolo Regazzoni 8, Lugano 6900, Switzerland (Formerly Minotel)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Federale 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run since 1923, near train station and bus terminal to Tirano, Milano, Bernina Express and Palm Express. Single, double, triple and four bedded rooms. Restaurant with terrace. Underground parking (for a fee). Free WiFi. In old city center of Lugano, but on a hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Federale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Hotel Federale
Minotel Hotel Lugano
Minotel Lugano
Lugano Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing