We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Ok-ish hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Admiral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Admiral
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ok-ish hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

It is not centrally located but you know it before booking it. Eooms are ok, big enough, swimming pool as well ok, restaurant wasn't amazing we found better italian restaurants in downtown.

If you just go to sleep for a weekend and you get a discounted rate then it is ok.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank I_tell_you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    118
    62
    23
    15
See reviews for
56
109
18
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We arrived later to Lugano and needed a hotel . We happened upon the holiday inn... The young man who was on reception was very friendly and helpful. We were given a nice upgrade and the last room . The restaurant area while being tired had good food. All in all alittle pricey but had a carpark was clean and in a good area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fleur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

There was one positive; it has friendly nice Italian staff. But that's it.

The place is expensive. It is way out of town. I booked it purely because it has a swimming pool. Which I was told would not be open. It does not have wi-fi in the room. Which was tiny.There was no view of the lake.

Do yourself a favour. get somewhere close to the centre of town. This is a 20 minute walk to the centre of town. The train station is definately a taxi ride.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond,ky
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

This hotel is located near down town Lugano and very convenience place to stay. It was little bit cost. Tow night stay for 599 euro. It was nice room and show room wall was glass. Internet was not wireless and pay 19,50 euro for 24hr and parking is under the hotel 10 euro /night. The breakfast come with it and they have bacon and egg like American style which we like it.

Room Tip: It is walking distance from downtown Lugano and lake is near there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yummyRichmond_ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

A most ordinary hotel.

First, very few positives......
1. It's in the City Centre and almost next door to the convenient Bus Services.
2. Pleasant and courteous Front Office Staff

Negatives... so many.....

Ordinary Rooms, Very Ordinary Bathrooms. No vent in the bathrooms.
Lift seems to be of 1940s.
The Floor Passages look more of a hospital than a hotel.

Very Ordinary Breakfast and most uncourteus and unresponsive Restaurant staff. They behave as if they are doing a favour to the guests.

Room Service Staff are very rude and uncourteus. We are pure vegetarians from India and hence we were carrying some Indian Food with us on our 15 day vacation to Paris and Switzerland. So, we promptly called up the Room Service and requested them to send us 2 Empty Dinner Plates and Spoons. But the Gentleman who picked up the line was very rude and said that they don't do any charity and it will cost us 10 CHF if he has to come and give these to us and banged the phone.

There are better and courteous ways to say no to the guests but........
My advice to these staffs is that there Salaries are paid only from the Revenues which the hotel gets from it's guests and hence they should send these people for an HR Personality Development Training Programme.

Last but not the least, there is no Wi Fi in the rooms. Wi Fi is available only in the Lobby. So you have to come down every time you want to use the Internet which is very irritating....
Overall a very bad experience and I advise my friends to go there only if there is no other choice........

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank goyalanup2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Had a horrible experience, and the staff did nothing to help the situation-even when the staff told me they knew the manager was wrong. Rooms were ok. Food was not. Stay here only if there is nothing else available in town.

Room Tip: Friends of ours stayed at the Novotel hotel across the street. Much better rooms, service and food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roger s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

I have stayed for only one night and my overall impression is that is an ok hotel.
The location is very good, close to the center. The receptionist was pleasant and quick in checking in. The room was spacious, looking good and clean. The bathroom gave away the older look of the place.
The only minus i could say was the poor sound isolation, I could hear very well the street noise and I is think is kind of overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Adina M,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I'm truly delighted you liked our great location. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the inconvenience the noise had caused you. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
0.1 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#13 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#9 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#16 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Delfino
Hotel Delfino
#11 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Property: Hotel Admiral
Address: via Geretta 15 | Paradiso, Lugano 6900, Switzerland (Formerly Holiday Inn Lugano Centre)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Admiral 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Admiral Lugano welcomes you to Ticino!The hotel is located in the residential area of Lugano Paradiso, a few steps from the lake shore and the city centre. Its proximity to the highway exit Lugano South (only 200 m.), Agno Airport and the Exhibition ground is an unquestionable plus.Situated just behind the hotel, the funicular of San Salvatore climbs upward to the summit allowing wonderful views over the landscape. A typical train slogs up Monte Generoso which is an ideal starting point for excursions at altitude. Monte Lema is perfect for skiers and Monte Tamaro houses an Adventure Park for reckless sportsmen.The neighbourhoods offer plenty of chances for amusement, such as the three Casinos of Lugano, Campione d Italia and Mendrisio, attached to the shopping centre Fox Town housing several outlets with over 250 famed brands (Adidas, Armani, Dior, Gucci, Nike...). Shopping buffs can satisfy their cravings strolling around Via Nassa.Hotel Admiral has 96 standard and superior rooms, family rooms and handicap rooms provided with air conditioning, Pay TV and FREE WI-FI in all the building. Guests can make the most of a gym, an indoor and an outdoor swimming pool on the panoramic terrace, a sauna and a solarium, as well as the Nelson Restaurant and the Admiral Bar. A well-equipped meeting room can accommodate up to 20 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lugano Centre Hotel Lugano
Lugano Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing