We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful decorated !”
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

The building of the hotel can easily be seen from distance because of the color (pink) . I love the decoration , the garden and flowers. I like the view of the lake from the room balcony . The breakfast was also good and I like the fruits which were well selected in good quality.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Supani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 500 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

The staff make the difference. Good caring friendly service. We had a little problem on our arrival with our room, they dealt with the matter seriously and very efficiently. Bathrooms well appointed, shower pressure and temperature adjustment too. Breakfast is more than adequate - you can order expresso, cappuccino. The swimming pool is an additional bonus, towels are supplied, it is convenient, you can enjoy a drink there if you want too.
We asked for recommendations to go our and eat. They did their research and came up with options. This hotel has all the conveniences for a simple stay and more particularly excellent service.

Room Tip: The double rooms are comfortable. Rooms on the higher floors (5th and 6th) give a better view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LEONIDAS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Clean, great location. Walking distance to main street and restaurants. We took a boat ride at night and to meet the boat it was a few minute walk to the shore line.

We happen to have a corner room that appeared to be a bit more spacious than the regular rooms. We think it may have been a suite. The detail to the crown moldings, wall paper, carpeting and bedding was magnificent. Bathroom was spacious and had great amenities to use.

Breakfast was great. Sitting outside over looking the beautiful garden was an added plus. One of the nicer hotels we stayed at during our visit to Switzerland.

Room Tip: Tried to ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bods123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My favorite hotel during our Switzerland Globus tour. Great location as it was within walking distance of the lake, shopping and restaurants. We ended up with a mini suite on the corner of the hotel. Beautiful, clean, comfortable room with a large bathroom. Staff was extremely helpful. Very good breakfast in a beautiful dining room. The pool looked great, but we had rain that evening and didn't get a chance to use it. The bar area was nice with complimentary snacks.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of our Globus tour.
The hotel was centrally located. Rooms were very spacious and clean. Nice spacious bathroom.
WiFi was free, but of variable speed.
A wide variety for the buffet breakfast.
Only negative was the 12 Swiss Francs I paid for ONE scotch and ice. Yes, drinks are expensive.
So yes, a nice hotel

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Pleasant and nicely appointed hotel, 5 minutes from station by taxi. 30 minutes pleasant and flat walk to palais de congres.

Rooms were pleasant enough, wifi, free minibar.
Note that power is using the Swiss standard socket so you may need to find an adapter. The continental thin two prong plugs work but not the thicker ones!

Food was good, bar was stretched when full as it's only small with one barman.

Beds were comfortable and firm, English language TV, small verandah to enjoy lake glimpses from.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank JohnnyAsbestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We had a family holiday recently in this hotel. Although reviews seemed a bit mixed we were very pleased with the service. We had booked a twin bed (by oversight) through Trivago, with a room accomodating 3 people (2 adults + child). At the reception they pointed out our booking was for twin beds but when we said we wanted a double they were very accomodating and took just 10 mins to get the room ready for us. There was also a single camp bed for a child. We later realised they had upgraded us to a Junior Suite in a corner location giving us two long balconies, a partial sea view ( which we had asked for) and full mountain view. The bathroom had a bath too. Everything was neat and clean. The minibar was stocked with water and non alchoholic drinks and they were free. They do not have a kettle in the room so we had carried our travel kettle and there are plenty pf plug points.The breakfast buffet was very good with warm and cold buffet, choice of breads, cereals, cakes...really very good. It was also managed very well with tea and coffee being served at the table. The check in and check out was very efficient and friendly, there is a left luggage facility, lots of quiet sitting areas...It is also a few mins walk from Lugano Paradiso boat ride center and we made good use of that to take boat cruises and trips to Gandria and Swissminiatur. It is also a few mins walk from the San Salvatore Funiculaire, which is also recommended. I would highly recommended this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room preferably on 5th floor which should give you a clear sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.4 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#15 of 45 in Lugano
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
0.6 mi away
International au Lac Historic Lakeside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfino Lugano
Hotel Delfino Lugano
#17 of 45 in Lugano
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Address: viale Giuseppe Cattori 18, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: $171 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Paix 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de la Paix is located close to Lake Lugano and at a walking distance from the city center, 5 km from the Lugano-Agno airport, 1 km from the train station and offers exclusively to its guests a large private parking. Its multilingual staff will be delighted to welcome you with warmth and cordiality. Each of our 131 rooms and suites is furnished in an elegant style and equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV, Minibar and Wireless Internet connection in order to meet the highest expectations both of our holiday and business guests. The garden-terrace with its heated swimming pool in the summer time and the portico are ideal places to spend relaxing moments and admire the magnificent amphitheatre formed by the surrounding mountains. There are two restaurants offering Italian and international cuisine. The NEPTUNE opens into the garden terrace and offers a refined and relaxing atmosphere. At the popular AL BARILOTTO, designed in the rustic and casual local style, you will enjoy our grill specialties and our pizzas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Lugano
De La Paix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing