We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely, lovely hotel and they kept my shawl for me!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, lovely hotel and they kept my shawl for me!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Better late than never. My story will begin with a valued, beautiful large V-shaped burgundy coloured, fur-like shawl I left behind in Hotel de la Paix on a Christmas Eve evening after dining in their charming Italian restaurant (red/white tablecloth, high-back wooden chairs, wrought-iron balustrades(?) and even curtains on pretty windows!) where the Maitre D and his young team (a young lady + young man) despite being super busy, took care of us our dining needs like it was their own personal restaurant.


On this trip, the tour did put us up in nice, beautiful hotels in some Swiss towns/cities and even in UK where I moved on to.


But I remember Hotel de la Paix for how luxurious it felt the moment I stepped in - from the carpeting, sofas & upholstery, shiny varnished side tables (even a revolving door with 2 large plants on either side to make it stand out even more) and the elderly uniformed man who served us our welcome drinks. This Hotel de la Paix in Lugano simply lives up to its glorious name!! That evening unfortunately, when we checked in, the reception staff had to deal with so many in our group who were "demanding" for phone chargers. But they coped very well.


So few days after Lugano, I realised my shawl had been left behind. Over and over again, I was discouraged from getting it back: "It would have been gone by now", "Don't expect to get it back", "Don't expect anyone to be honest enough to keep it for you". Even upon returning home, I simply put away the hope of ever seeing my shawl again. But it was a special shawl, often it came back that I should have tried to get it back.


3 months long after that visit, I sent out an email - just to check if they still have it - I was ready for a negative reply, but I will just try. . First I heard from Lorena, then Alessandro, then Sonia - they were all following up on my enquiry. With such eagerness to help in the tone of their responses, I sent them a picture of the shawl, and afer a few days, they got back to me and "Yes, we'ge got it". And I thought OMG what honesty of the staff of Hotel de la Paix to keep it for so long for me to make the claim. What a fantastic impression of a hotel I have such a nice memory of.


The shawl I so valued is with me now. My special thanks to the restaurant staff who kept it for me

I want to stay in Hotel de la Paix.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    171
    68
    23
    7
See reviews for
54
137
18
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights. Lovely room with all the expected sundries. Free mini- bar was re- filled every day which was a surprise but very welcome as Switzerland is very expensive. Very good breakfast. All the staff where charming especially the front desk. Location of hotel is very good, not central but only 2 minute walk to lake and then 5 minutes to the centre of town. Would come back to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mummy19911995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Been sleeping in room 210. On second floor. View on swimming pool and main busy street. Nice and comfortable bed. Free bar but not
Much in it and not been refilled. No beer for example but only soft drinks. TV channels are many from German to Arabs to Italian.
Breakfast is standard. Not extraordinary. Paid about 200 chf per night for a double. So I was expecting a higher standard.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ainz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneDLP, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. We are happy that you appreciated the position as well as the bed and the free mini bar in the room.

Unfortunately we can’t serve alcoholic drinks for free, but next time you might find a rich selection of them in our internal bar.

We hope that next time we’ll be able to show you something even more extraordinary!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

It was very good as it just opened. The room was nice and spacious but the toilet was small. They had free drinks for customers. But when I called the reception for a water boiler they said to call the bar. So I called the bar and they said you had to go down to the bar to get it or you will need to pay 6 Franks for them to send it up here. I was like "forget it"

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanaBaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

My expectations of Swiss hotels was high and I can only compare the four my husband and I stayed in on our recent trip. In that sense this was the most disappointing.
There is a slightly faded grandeur to the place - it must have been quite splendid at one time but the room was rather disappointing as it was rather dark. The hotel, however, was clean and comfortable but somehow lacked atmosphere - (perhaps it was because we were there in October), the pool was closed and the hotel was very quiet.
Breakfast was totally what might be expected, nothing memorable, but the big disappointment was the staff on reception who didn't really seem interested in answering our questions regarding the the town and in fact even gave us a map marking the location of the hotel incorrectly.
The location is a short walk to the lake but a 10 - 15 minute walk to the more lively centre of the town. Very convenient for a trip on the funicular up to San Salvatore, and a lovely town to explore.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomads2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

When one talks about high Swiss Hotel standards in terms of service and accommodation this does certainly not apply for the Hotel de La Paix in Lugano. That starts with the reception area. I arrived there with my 3 heavy luggage. Now don't think that anyone cares about it ! The bell-man in polishing the old world copper door handle and has no time to help. Well, I took a hotel trolley and pushed it myself to my room. But I got nice smile form the front desk lady.
Rooms well, max 3* . The bed is ok but just ok. Same goes for the bathroom. Rooms are small.
Hotel staff is mainly absent. Don't ask too much. They will honor it with this "what-do-you-want-again" attitude but finally do it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelInside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Recent four day visit to Lugano brought us to this recommend hotel. I would recommend to anyone looking for a nice hotel in the area. Full service with breakfast lunch and dinner options but to me the Staff was outstanding. From the front desk to the breakfast buffet to our Lake Como "friend" behind the bar, all were beyond helpful. Looks like the hotel is in an upgrade mode of the rooms. Nothing bothersome and we were lucky enough to get one. Hope you like hard beds because they are extra firm!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TreasureCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.4 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
0.2 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Property: Hotel de la Paix
Address: viale Giuseppe Cattori 18, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Paix 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de la Paix is located close to Lake Lugano and at a walking distance from the city center, 5 km from the Lugano-Agno airport, 1 km from the train station and offers exclusively to its guests a large private parking. Its multilingual staff will be delighted to welcome you with warmth and cordiality. Each of our 131 rooms and suites is furnished in an elegant style and equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV, Minibar and Wireless Internet connection in order to meet the highest expectations both of our holiday and business guests. The garden-terrace with its heated swimming pool in the summer time and the portico are ideal places to spend relaxing moments and admire the magnificent amphitheatre formed by the surrounding mountains. There are two restaurants offering Italian and international cuisine. The NEPTUNE opens into the garden terrace and offers a refined and relaxing atmosphere. At the popular AL BARILOTTO, designed in the rustic and casual local style, you will enjoy our grill specialties and our pizzas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Lugano
De La Paix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing