We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Frustrating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Frustrating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

OK the rooms ok, location is 10 minutes walk to the lake and downtown.

The rooms are functional, if a little dark as there was renovation work at the front of the hotel when I stayed and scaffolding obscured the window.

My main problem here was the staff and the fact I struggled to get into my room as they have a continuing problem with the room key cards - it took me four trips to and from my room to resolve at 1am. Not happy. The staff seemed quite disorganized and at times they were rude,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    155
    64
    22
    6
See reviews for
44
117
14
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
KUWAIT
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Location close to the city center and the lake, the Internet is fast, available in hotel car park free of charge, either the room space and a spacious bathroom and free mini-bar, I would recommend it for the accommodation of families, as well as the breakfast was varied.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AHMAD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Plains, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in stunning Lugano at this lovely hotel. Our room was very nice with a balcony, free minibar and Internet. Swimming pool was lovely and had nice view. Quick was to funicular, Paradiso boat stop an restaurants, downtown Lugano. Grocery store one block away. Staff was gracious and breakfast was good. Close to lakeside walking and jogging path.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel is situated in the paradiso part of Lugano- a good 25 minutes walk from the old town where all the shopping and main attractions are. However it is just a few minutes from the boat stop of the same name and a bus stop straight into town, plus the San salvador funicular station.
Our room was pokey and dated and the air con did not work. We had one insufferable night before reporting it to the staff. The male receptionist we spoke to was extremely rude and lied about house keeping being finished for the day ( the place was still full of maids ) - finally when we stood our ground we were moved to an inifnately better room - with a balcony - which actually how they advertise their junior suites ( which we had booked ) anyway. The new door opening cards were literally slammed down on the
There is a pool which is nice after a hot day but it is not heated as advertised.
The restaurant is very expensive. Breakfast was ok. The road outside the hotel is very busy making the attractive gardens rather noisy.
Overall - we would NEVER recommend this hotel due to the inexplicable attitude of that receptionist. Oh and I forgot to say we arrived at 2.30pm and we had to wait until 3pm for the first broken air con machine room - which seems rather late.
One tip-if arriving by train get off at Lugano paradiso - we werent told this by our tour company- the latter is very close.

Room Tip: Although good sleep quality once in room with air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 993Rpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneDLP, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your review on Tripadvisor.com
The comments of our guests are for us always the best way to know where and how we can improve.
We are trying to better understand with our staff what has happened with your room change because, obviously, the attitude you have reported is NOT PART of our hospitality’s concept. If there is a technical problem, we always find the best alternative solution to accommodate our clients and we are happy for every matter solved.
We confirm that our outdoor pool is heated, we have a system that constantly keeps the water at the temperature of 25°.
Regarding the check-in time, we reconfirm that is 15.00. We always do our best to get rooms ready before but, since check-out is 12.00, very often leisure guest stays until this time. In order to guarantee to all guests a perfect cleaning service, a certain period of time to make the rooms is needed.

Thank you again for the letting us know your opinion, we hope you will give us an other chance to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
272 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Hotel De La Paix , Lugano

We stayed 3 nights at a hotel where fresh air and an air of history were highlights. Comfortable and spacious and clean. Breakfast was good but not great. The bar service was awful, due to either inexperience or lack of training. The breakfast on second morning was chaos and over run. Staff seemed pretty casual about it all. Maintaining a standard was always expected in Swiss hotels and this one didn’t deliver by a wide margin. The room standards seemed to vary depending on who you talked to. It is a bit of a gamble as to what you can expect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel might not have the latest designer touch but is conveniently located, is clean, offers free wifi and even a free minibar. Breakfast by the pool is pleasant. The road below is busy but soundproofing is excellent. My room was not huge but had all the amenities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onlyGeorgeVwilldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here as part of a bus tour and thought it was excellent. The outside is extremely pink but once inside the foyer looked very lush. Our room was great with a queen bed with sheets and blankets - a wonderful find for a couple who don't like duvets!! - and although the mattress was rather hard we slept like the proverbial logs. The door opened to a small balcony with a view out to the mountains and allowed us to enjoy some fresh air. The storage was good and there was a safe which is always a welcome addition. The bathroom was also excellent.
The buffet breakfast provided an adequate variety of food but could have had a bigger range.
Would we stay here again? Yes

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.1 mi away
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
1.4 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.3 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Property: Hotel de la Paix
Address: viale Giuseppe Cattori 18, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Paix 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de la Paix is located close to Lake Lugano and at a walking distance from the city center, 5 km from the Lugano-Agno airport, 1 km from the train station and offers exclusively to its guests a large private parking. Its multilingual staff will be delighted to welcome you with warmth and cordiality. Each of our 131 rooms and suites is furnished in an elegant style and equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV, Minibar and Wireless Internet connection in order to meet the highest expectations both of our holiday and business guests. The garden-terrace with its heated swimming pool in the summer time and the portico are ideal places to spend relaxing moments and admire the magnificent amphitheatre formed by the surrounding mountains. There are two restaurants offering Italian and international cuisine. The NEPTUNE opens into the garden terrace and offers a refined and relaxing atmosphere. At the popular AL BARILOTTO, designed in the rustic and casual local style, you will enjoy our grill specialties and our pizzas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Lugano
De La Paix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing