We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply THE BEST”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

One of the most beautiful and well-thought hotels I have ever been to. Hotel staff starts to care about you before your arrival and customize your stay. Customer centricity is outstanding. And the interior is so welcome and comfortable! Recommend to all my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 2,055 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

Always like going back to the Dante Hotel in Lugano. Location is great just 100 meters from the lake (morning runs at the lake are recommended). Rooms are stylish, yet simple with fast wifi. You can preorder many items such as special pillows in advance. A nice funny touch is the rubber duck floating in the wash basin as you arrive. Take it home to your kids. Win win for everybody. The bar downstairs has a nice basic evening menu with great Italian food. Breakfast is fantastic with too much to choose from. Only minus is the rather dry croissants. Lobby is old fashioned but stylish with childrens toys loosely stack in one corner. Would be out-of-place in another hotel but not here. I recommend. Will go back many times, I hope

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Ungi1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Always a great hotel, with friendly staff, comfortable rooms and a free rubber duck! Free minibar too! Location is perfect, right in the middle of the town, perfect for business or pleasure Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

There were six of us traveling together and we didn't have prior reservations for this hotel. They were able to accommodate us, and it turned out to be a wonderful experience! Beautiful hotel with gracious multi-lingual staff. The rooms were automatically upgraded at no extra charge, and they were so comfortable, clean and quiet. Really, really quiet, which was wonderful. Lugano is a gorgeous city and area, and anyone visiting here should really check out this centrally located hotel. No view of the lake, but also no street noise which comes with those views.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Hotel Lugano Dante Center was our ”home” for six days during our holiday in Switzerland. Every member of the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, making us feel very welcome. We had a large newly renovated room (306), which we can highly recommend. Comfortable bed and good sleep quality. Impressive selection at the breakfast buffet.

Despite its central location in Lugano, going by car is not a problem. An automatic underground garage is available and it only takes a few minutes to get the car when it is needed.

Room Tip: Choose one of the newly renovated rooms, eg. room 306
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FLK_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloFontana-GM, Direttore generale at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear FLK,

thank you very much for choosing Hotel Lugano Dante as your hotel in Lugano.
We are delighted to hear your nice words regarding the location, the comfort, the staff and the superb brakfast. I can reassure you that our team is putting all the best efforts in order to maintain this high standard and also trying to improve it.

We all hope to have the chance to welcome you again in Lugano

Our warmest regards.
Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Hotel arranges room to your wishes if you fill the form before arrival. They send an SMS when room is ready and you may then check-in (a good feeling to know)...
A very rich breakfast buffet I think starts at 6:30... (there are even different kind of olives)
When arriving town - with train - just take the funicular and it will take you down to the hotel door...this is also helpful on return.
The town has perhaps 3 lovely small squares hotel is just at one if them...
Lovely smiling receptionists offering chocolates and bottled water at check-out...

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Gokce O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The hotel is located right at the foot of funicular that connects the main railway station with the old town in Lugano. No need for a taxi. When you arrive at the train station, hop on the funicular at the station and you will see the hotel when you step off the funicular. Lots of restaurants, shopping, sights, and boat cruises nearby.
We had originally booked two separate rooms for our family of 4 adults. When we checked in, we were assigned two rooms on separate floors. However, with our request to be on the same floor, we were kindly assigned not only two rooms on the same floor but also two connecting rooms - that was a great arrangement for our family for our 4-night stay. Excellent free and fast wifi service in both rooms, which we could access with all our devices. The comfort room was reasonably sized. The superior living room was a bit larger, but we did not find the extra space to be useful as a living area; it would have been better to have no wall separating the extra living area from the main room, so that you have one big room. The bathrooms were great - modern, spacious - the only suggestion is that the hotel provide shower gel. A really nice touch for those who have kids (or are kids at heart) is the yellow rubber ducky you can take back with you. Room cleaning service was consistently good. The hotel breakfast buffet was the best we experienced during our 3-week trip to Switzerland - lots of breads, vegetables, scrambled eggs, pastries, chocolate milk - with good service from the restaurant staff.. Staff at the reception area were always efficient. All in all, the Dante is a hotel we would recommend for the quality of its rooms, service, breakfast, value, and location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DodoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.9 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 45 in Lugano
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#3 of 45 in Lugano
622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#5 of 45 in Lugano
236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range: $202 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing