We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel. Perfect location. Friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel has a fantastic location in the centre of the old town in Lugano, a short walk from the shops, restaurants and lake. The funicular down from the train station to the town stops very close to the hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and had a nice view of the square below and over the rooftops to the lake. Breakfast was excellent. The contents of the mini bar are complimentary (excluding alchohol). There were chocolates on the pillow. It was all lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamelaPlatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,025)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 2,025 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

A year on from the last visit, I was even more impressed by the staff and families are clearly made welcome. The location at the foot of the town funicular, down from the railway station, but also in the middle of the maze of the main shopping streets is superb. The lake is also just a few minutes walk away.
I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Overlook the square in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKTravellerSussexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I recently spent two nights in the Dante, and only wish we could have spent more time in Lugano. The hotel was terrific, the breakfast amazing and the location unbeatable. A funny thing about it...we arrived by train, walked outside the small station and found a cab waiting. A short ride to our hotel, and 15 Swiss Francs later, and we were there. After checking in, my wife went outside and noted a kiosk about 50 feet from the front door...it was for the funicular that ran to/from the train station for 1.20 SF. If you go, make certain you take a boat tour of Lake Lugano...the lake is only a block away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paladin1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We have three kids, and this was a perfect place for us. Wonderful restaurants, many thing to do, and in a nice walkable part of town. The staff was terrific, and watching your car be robotically parked is not to be missed.

Room Tip: The whole hotel is very well sound insulated. We are very light sleepers and didn't have any tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

At first glance, I did not know what to expect with the hotel. But, we were hailed into the lobby by an absolutely wonderful staff who was very kind and sweet. The lobby was very comfortably and warm (not temperature). The hotel provides free WiFi and is 100% smoke free, which is a plus, especially in Europe. Our room was absolutely wonderful. Most of the rooms have been newly renovated to be modern yet comfortable... which was exactly that! The carpet was very soft, the furniture clean and stylish, the bathroom was spacious, the beds were very very very comfortable (there's a pillow menu!) and the breakfast is amazing (fresh squeezed orange juice and homemade hot chocolate!). The location is also wonderful- it is ride next to the vunicular that will transport you to the train station and located in the heart of the city. I suggest you visit this wonderful establishment!

Room Tip: Ask for newly renovated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gryffindor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We so enjoyed our stay at Hotel Lugano. It was a very pleasant experience from the the moment we walked in the door to check in to the moment we checked out. The location, the breakfast, the staff, the room-everything and everyone was delightful!
The funicular from the train station is very close to the front door of this hotel....makes it so easy to get to and from the train.
A tip re: a good restaurant in a nearby piazza-Argentinos. The staff and food were great. We ate there twice and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great location with friendly staff and an excellent breakfast. Staff are very friendly and helpful and knowledgeable about the city and the surrounding area. Travelling to the hotel by train from other main stations are very easy with a short funicular ride down to and from the front of the hotel. A special treat is the 24h coffee in the foyer with pastries at certain times. The snacks at the bar with an accompanying drink is more than sufficient to end a business day. The hotel is overall an excellent and very comfortable stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: It seems the rooms overlooking the piazza are smaller than those on the opposite side. Most bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.3 mi away
International au Lac Historic Lakeside Hotel
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#3 of 45 in Lugano
614 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 45 in Lugano
543 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#6 of 45 in Lugano
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range: $206 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing