We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,226)
Filter reviews
2,226 results
Traveler rating
1,844
343
32
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,844
343
32
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot chocolate train station rubber duck carrot juice great hotel breakfast buffet perfect location mini bar coffee and tea pedestrian zone little touches soft drinks funicular ride reception area restaurants and shops short walk to the lake would highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
437 - 442 of 2,226 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I recently spent two nights in the Dante, and only wish we could have spent more time in Lugano. The hotel was terrific, the breakfast amazing and the location unbeatable. A funny thing about it...we arrived by train, walked outside the small station and found a cab waiting. A short ride to our hotel, and 15 Swiss Francs later, and we were there. After checking in, my wife went outside and noted a kiosk about 50 feet from the front door...it was for the funicular that ran to/from the train station for 1.20 SF. If you go, make certain you take a boat tour of Lake Lugano...the lake is only a block away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paladin1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We have three kids, and this was a perfect place for us. Wonderful restaurants, many thing to do, and in a nice walkable part of town. The staff was terrific, and watching your car be robotically parked is not to be missed.

Room Tip: The whole hotel is very well sound insulated. We are very light sleepers and didn't have any trouble with road or city noise. A higher up room means you can open your windows to that wonderful tropical air.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

At first glance, I did not know what to expect with the hotel. But, we were hailed into the lobby by an absolutely wonderful staff who was very kind and sweet. The lobby was very comfortably and warm (not temperature). The hotel provides free WiFi and is 100% smoke free, which is a plus, especially in Europe. Our room was absolutely wonderful. Most of the rooms have been newly renovated to be modern yet comfortable... which was exactly that! The carpet was very soft, the furniture clean and stylish, the bathroom was spacious, the beds were very very very comfortable (there's a pillow menu!) and the breakfast is amazing (fresh squeezed orange juice and homemade hot chocolate!). The location is also wonderful- it is ride next to the vunicular that will transport you to the train station and located in the heart of the city. I suggest you visit this wonderful establishment!

Room Tip: Ask for newly renovated!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gryffindor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We so enjoyed our stay at Hotel Lugano. It was a very pleasant experience from the the moment we walked in the door to check in to the moment we checked out. The location, the breakfast, the staff, the room-everything and everyone was delightful!
The funicular from the train station is very close to the front door of this hotel....makes it so easy to get to and from the train.
A tip re: a good restaurant in a nearby piazza-Argentinos. The staff and food were great. We ate there twice and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great location with friendly staff and an excellent breakfast. Staff are very friendly and helpful and knowledgeable about the city and the surrounding area. Travelling to the hotel by train from other main stations are very easy with a short funicular ride down to and from the front of the hotel. A special treat is the 24h coffee in the foyer with pastries at certain times. The snacks at the bar with an accompanying drink is more than sufficient to end a business day. The hotel is overall an excellent and very comfortable stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: It seems the rooms overlooking the piazza are smaller than those on the opposite side. Most bathrooms were refurbished - excellent.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews