We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Instant friendships” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Calfiornia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Instant friendships”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Great location in the center of Lugano, excellent shopping out the front door, short walk to the lake. I had a somewhat hard time finding the parking, but once I figured it out, it was easy. The staff was friendly, helpful. The breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, even a rich chocolate drink that I had to try-rich is the only way to describe it. We felt spoiled and didn't want to leave. On checkout, we were offered chocolate to take on the road, and even provided Dark chocolate bar that I am still savoring. Would return any time and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank protravler177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,379
    275
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
308
595
144
469
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Good hotel in a great location. No problems. Small rooms, so be sure to travel with your spouse or a very close friend. Extensive choice at breakfast. Friendly staff. The little old lady a breakfast was a gem.

Room Tip: Higher up = quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacD_of_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Conveniently located in Lugano downtown. I was impressed by the details: if you are there by car, the valet will offer bottles of water for the trip. The minibar is free. The Internet connection is perfect. And I found a small rubber duck waiting for me in the basin of the bathroom (and you can take it away). They even have a pillow menu: in case you are not happy with the three pillows in the room, you can ask them for different pillows. The breakfast is much better than a average coffee shop. Of course the rooms are clean and very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karlz977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Whenever I travel to Lugano,I stay at the Dante, just because it feels like coming home. All the staff is very kind and will always help you out, whatever problem there is. The hotel is situated in the center of Lugano, so it is easy to get around by foot. And you should never ever miss breakfast at the Dante - ever.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The staff are so helpful, welcoming and prepared to go the extra mile. It is the little touches that make the stay at this hotel memorable and worthwhile, from the friendliness of the staff to the extra snacks when you order wine, to the advice and guidance in planning your day. Everything about the hotel is a reflection of their attention to detail. Great central location and an enjoyable trip as a result.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heeswijk-Dinther, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Staying in many 4star hotels throughout Europe, I am not easily impressed. Lugano Dante managed to do just that!

They really make you feel welcome and have such an eye for detail, that you wonder why they have not 5 stars! Who else has a chocolate factory at the breakfast buffet and a daily changing carpet in the elevators? Not to mention the quality of the beds, the complimentary attentions and the red carpet at the valet parking...

I truly recommend to stay in this place, even if you have to drive a few hours extra to get there.
I will definitely go there again, and this time bring the family with me.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchâtel
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I already wrote a review about this hotel, but really it has been 9 years that we are going there at least once a year, and every single time we have a great experience.
The staff is friendly, helpful, and very professionnal .
Great buffet for the breakfast !!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRBP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.9 mi away
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing