We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Apex, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed here at the beginning of our Switzerland/Italy trip and loved it. As others have said, very convenient to train station, the lake and good restaurants. Breakfast in the hotel was outstanding. Also stayed in their sister Hotel Berna in Milan, and although not quite as nice, still a good experience with great staff. You will not regret staying in this hotel. We hope to come back one day!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,569
    312
    29
    5
    1
See reviews for
349
679
160
527
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiea, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
665 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was our best hotel experience of our 16 night journey in Europe. It WASN'T the best or biggest room. It WASN'T the best view. It WAS the most expensive. However, the first class service at all levels made it the best three and a half days of our journey. First, the location is beautifully central and convenient to the rail station. We learned the hard way about the 20 franc taxi ride vs. the 1.10 franc funicular ride. The funicular is so covenient. It's literally 25 feet left out of the front door and lands right in the train station. The shopping and dining areas around the hotel are great. It's a very short walk to the lakefront. The room was smallish but spotless and had the special touches everywhere. The bathroom shower is a wrap-around sliding shower door affair that does the job. One of the little touches is that non-alcoholic drinks are provided and replenished daily in your fridg. Customer contact ahead of your stay lets you select what you want in your refridgerator. Our room looked out over a garden-like area and toward a private villa of some sort. You had to be a little mindful of people in the villa when walking around your room half-dressed. Also, part of the hotel was being renovated, down to the skeleton. The noise was noticeable during the day, but they seemed to try to keep it down. Attention to detail was evident in the towels, toiletries, pillows, little chocolates, etc., in the room. The buffet breakfast included in the price of the room was really good from squeeze-it-yourself fresh orange juice (with an electric juicer) to many different breads, fruits and cereals to go with the eggs, bacon and sausage staples. It was by far the best of the breakfast offerings of all places we stayed. Finally, the front desk staff, and all of the staff for that matter, made you feel welcome like family. I've never seen front desk staff so willing to come out from behind the counter to help with directions, working the coffee machine, you name it. They stress service, and it shows in every hotel employee. I had to lobby my wife to splurge a little in choosing this hotel. Boy, am I glad I won that argument. We both look back on our stay and conclude that the expense (about 325 francs/night average) was worth every penny. Thanks, Dante Swiss.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaka_Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

one night in Lugano and this hotel was great. Well located. If you are arriving by train, don't panic. Walk out the station and in front of you is the funicular--it looks like a little subway car. For 1.10 francs, it will take you down the hill and stop right in front of the hotel. Do not take a cab like we did--20 francs to take us down the hill. Best breakfast we had in Europe, included in the price. Nice people, great service. There are lots of other places to stay in Lugano but this one is ideal--easy to walk around the city, close to the lake promenade and high end shopping, lots of restaurants and no need to drag bags around the city looking for your hotel. It is right there, at the bottom of the funicular.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realproperty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed here, with some colleagues, for two nights while visiting a client in Cadempino near Lugano. The Ticivo, with its wonderful Merlot red wines, has a reputation in Switzerland for warmth but the staff at the Dante outdo even this..smiling, professional, attentive without being intrusive, just a pleasure. The room was fine, the breakfast magnificent (truly) and the location ideal. I shall stay again...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We've spent 4 nights at this hotel during our Swiss-Italy vacation and have been very satisfied with it. First of all, location is great, right near the funicular stop that leads you to the railway station. The rooms are not that big, but cosy and well-equipped. Our room was on the first floor but it did not affect the sleeping quality. Breakfast was very good, as almost every other reviewers mentioned, and tea/coffee making facilities in the lobby was also a nice addition.
The hotel staff is do their best to show the personal attitude for each of the guests. That's what I think real Swiss quality is.
P.S. Of course the hotel is not cheap, but c'mon, you're in Switzerland :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmitry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I booked this hotel as our base for a long weekend to celebrate my husband's 30th birthday, along with his family.

We booked directly with the hotel, and promptly received email confirmation of our booking. We were able to log onto the hotel website and choose our preferences for all sorts of things from pillows, bedding, room temperature and even the contents of the mini bar.

On arrival, our car was parked in their automatic garage and the concierge staff were fantastic. They knew everything about us & our booking, and check in was very quick. Our rooms were also ready early (2 hours before check in) which was useful as we wanted to freshen up before exploring Lugano.

The room was fantastic and everything we had requested had been done. The rooms were clean, tidy and had everything we needed. There was some building work taking place to upgrade the rooms, but we had a note with some complimentary chocolate apologising in advance for any inconvenience. However, we barely noticed as they building was kept to a minimum and within daytime hours when we were out anyway.

The breakfast buffet was great - lots of choice from cereal, continental meats & cheeses, bread, eggs, sausages, tea, coffee & even toblerone hot chocolate. We managed to fill up enough that we didn't start getting hungry for lunch until at least 2pm.

I would highly recommend this hotel, and should we ever visit Lugano again we will definitely stay here - especially as we were issued with a voucher for discount on future stays!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the square as they have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leapea29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortenhoef, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I booked this hotel as a stay over surprise for my wife, but believe me when I say we would have loved to stay longer, so we left with pain in our hearts. The service, location, breakfast, room all was absolutely superb! Well done. Next time I will book again and stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.5 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#5 of 45 in Lugano
648 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#7 of 45 in Lugano
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing