We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, very friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great location, very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We found the Dante on Trip Advisor and decided to stay as the reviews overall were very good. We were not dissappointed. We stayed two nights at the hotel September 2012 at the end of the summer season 2012.

The Front Desk staff were very friendly, very helpful. The rooms are modern, well appointed, clean and comfortable and quiet. The breakfast, included in the rate was excellent. We upgraded to a better room at modest cost that was offered on check-in - great move as we had a corner room located just above the adjacent buildings overlooking Lugano and the mountains.

We highly recommend this hotel located right at the foot of the funiculaire from the Lugano railway station. All on Central Lugano sightseeing, restaurants are located within easy walking distance or are a short local bus ride from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JnJ_Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,406
    278
    24
    4
    1
See reviews for
312
606
147
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

On business trip I stayed one night. All the staff from bell-bboy to restaurant and reception was extremely friendly and helpfull. The possibility to configure your room when you have made your online booking is simply great and beat lot of other hotels offer. Room clean and bathroom renewed and on modern standings. Breakfast with large choice of pastry, fruits, hams, chese....nothing was missing !
Excellent quality price ration !

Room Tip: Use the new room configurator after having done booking on their home page !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WenskyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A great stay over Easter. The genuinely friendly staff made a real difference to the weekend. The room had everything you need from free wi fi to free soft drinks. The breakfast bar has a wide choice with fresh food and drinks . We had a small mechanical breakdown on a piece of our equipment and a staff member went off found nuts and bolts and screwdriver and sorted the problem without asking. It is these small touches which make the difference.
The hotel location is excellent being near the main shops and restaurants . Easy walk to lakeside .

We will visit again

Room Tip: Go for a suite if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I decided to extend a business trip in Lugano, and spent three nights at the Lugano Dante over Easter. I cannot speak highly enough of the staff. Everyone was efficient, friendly and attentive at all times. Families with young children, in particular, can be guaranteed the warmest of welcomes, right down to the pile of toys neatly stacked on a staircase off the reception area.

I thought the free nibbles in the bar at 6pm every evening were a really nice idea. There was chocolate (also free) everywhere - not sure if this was just because it was Easter. The breakfast was amazing - an infinite range to choose from. I would say one of the most photographed breakfast buffets I have ever seen. The hotel is also conveniently close to the best deli in the world - Gabbana.

The hotel was spotlessly clean in all areas, right down to a brand new loo brush in my immaculate bathroom. My bedroom was so quiet that it might have been hermetically sealed, and the curtains completely blocked out the light, ensuring a really good night's sleep in the very comfortable bed.

On the slighly negative side, my room was quite small and, the hotel being right in the centre of town, did not have much natural light. And personally I would have liked a gym in the hotel, rather than having access to one a short walk away. I really love small children, but if you don't you may not find this hotel ideal.

Room Tip: If you're thinking of eating at Soave 10, across the square, go to Ristorante Commercianti inste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c_swift1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
201 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Room was very clean and nicely appointed. Rooms vary in size based on the class of room but even the smaller ones are comfortable. The staff is very attentive to your needs and the hotel does an online pre-check-in where they ask what type of pillow and blankets you want. Location is right on a wonderful square that is at the base of the funicular. Exceptionally convenient for anyone arriving by train. There is also a free shuttle from the airport upon request. Email ahead to reserve. The free breakfast is spectacular (there were 23 types of breads and pastries alone) and included everything from fresh squeezed orange juice to fresh squeezed carrot juice. Quality was as good as it gets. There is also wine and free antipasto served at the bar in the lobby in the evening and free fresh coffee/tea and croissants in the lobby all day long. They treat you right.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTurtle66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I had my reservation prior to arriving at the hotel based on the dated looking photographs I saw on the web, however upon arrival the check in staff made everything so easy and welcoming and in real life the hotel looks better than jpegs.

I stayed on the 1st floor with a balcony over looking the front of the hotel, the room is quite small but well equipped. The free mini bar was a nice touch and little freebies dotted around the room and the hotel, including rubber ducks in the bathroom! It shows the attention of details the hotel put in.

Wifi is free, to me its paramount in this day and age - hotels shouldnt charge guest for wifi access.
I was also very impressed with the wide selection of food and beverage at breakfast. Airport to Hotel is only around 15 - 20 mins away.

Overall the whole experience exceed my expectations and I would definitely recommend and stay at this hotel again should I come back to enchanting Lugano!

Room Tip: I had the 1st floor room with balcony, makes a difference able to step outside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right in the front of the funicular that leads to the central station. The room was very Nice, with everything you needed. And the best quality: the personal staff, from the front desk to the waitress in the restaurant were very kind and gentle as you could expectat from a 4 star swiss hotel. Very well located in downtown Lugano! Worth it!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hector W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.6 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.9 mi away
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Travelocity so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing